The Thousand Emperors

The Thousand Emperors

by Gary Gibson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

MUST HE DIE TO KNOW THE TRUTH?

Archivist Luc Gabion is dying, slowly, victim of a forced technology implant while on assignment. He brought down a powerful terrorist, but at great cost, and this new tech brings unexpected dangers.

Luc must investigate the Thousand Emperors, rulers of the Tian Di’s stellar empire. One of their number has been

Overview

MUST HE DIE TO KNOW THE TRUTH?

Archivist Luc Gabion is dying, slowly, victim of a forced technology implant while on assignment. He brought down a powerful terrorist, but at great cost, and this new tech brings unexpected dangers.

Luc must investigate the Thousand Emperors, rulers of the Tian Di’s stellar empire. One of their number has been murdered and he needs to find the killer. But the technology he now carries supersedes anything he's encountered, and Luc sees things he knows are forbidden. As the truth emerges, he’s in trouble. Any of these leaders could be guilty – and could execute him on a whim. Worse, the murder victim was brokering the coming Reunification. Two great warring civilisations, separated for centuries, due to unite in a new age of peace.

But it becomes clear that someone will do anything to ensure that day never comes.


Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 11/03/2014
This dark and cautionary stand-alone sequel to Final Days careens through a future world that has survived one apocalypse, but seems to be heading toward another. The intricately crafted plot is centered on the Tian Di, a collection of worlds that represents half of a human race fractured after a disastrous run-in with alien technology. While the other human collective, called the Coalition, thrives and evolves, the Tian Di suffers under the stagnant and benighted leadership of the Temur Council, which rules through fear while aggregating unto itself all privilege and power, including the ability to live nearly forever. When a Council member is murdered, the Council turns to Archivist Luc Gabion for help. Gabion is soon overwhelmed, enmeshed in intrigue after intrigue, not knowing whom to trust. Eventually, he is led to re-evaluate his own understanding of history as well as his political allegiances as he slowly grasps the enormity of the danger facing both the Tian Di and the Coalition. The sweep of this book is impressive, and Gibson deftly keeps the action going and the reader enthralled right through the unexpected but thoroughly satisfying ending. (Jan.)
From the Publisher

"[The book] feels a bit like the complex plotting of Peter F. Hamilton mixed with some ideas from Freederik Pohl's Heechee saga, and it's darn fun." —SFSignal.com

“The sweep of this book is impressive, and Gibson deftly keeps the action going and the reader enthralled right through the unexpected but thoroughly satisfying ending.” —Publishers Weekly starred review

Library Journal
01/01/2015
The Lian Ti empire is ruled by a council of 85 men and women, made near-immortal through technology and unwilling to share power. When one of the members is murdered, archivist Luc Gabion is called to the White Palace, a place that's forbidden to outsiders. Asked to investigate and solve the crime, Luc is hemmed in on every side by the secretive ministers. The politics and rivalries of the Lian Ti rulers would be tricky enough to negotiate, but this death comes on the eve of the empire's reunification with the Coalition, from which it had split centuries before. Deep waters for the archivist to navigate, and he struggles to identify who can be trusted. VERDICT This loose sequel to Gibson's Final Days is an exciting, well-paced space opera that should appeal to fans of Peter F. Hamilton or Iain M. Banks, as it shares some of the expansive scope of the works by those great authors.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780230765382
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan
Publication date:
06/07/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,187,599
File size:
606 KB
Age Range:
16 Years

Meet the Author

Gary Gibson, who has worked as a graphic designer and magazine editor in his home town of Glasgow, began writing at the age of fourteen. He lives in Glasgow. His previous novels include the Shoal series (Stealing Light, Nova War, Empire of Light) plus the stand-alone books Angel Stations, Against Gravity and Final Days.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >