The Three Ys Men

The Three Ys Men

by Joseph Pearce
     
 
This first novel from the author of the internationally best-selling biography ofChesterton, Wisdom and Innocence, is best described as a tale in the tradition of Chesterton or Belloc, or possibly as ATerry Pratchett meeting Umberto Eco in a journey through Sophie's World in the hunt for Thomas Aquinas. It charts a journey across Sussex in the company of three

Overview

This first novel from the author of the internationally best-selling biography ofChesterton, Wisdom and Innocence, is best described as a tale in the tradition of Chesterton or Belloc, or possibly as ATerry Pratchett meeting Umberto Eco in a journey through Sophie's World in the hunt for Thomas Aquinas. It charts a journey across Sussex in the company of three mysterious ghosts B Yore, the Ghost of Sussex Past (the thinly disguised ghost of Hilaire Belloc); Yo!, the Ghost of Sussex Present; and Yet, the Ghost of Sussex Future. En route, the three spirits have many misadventures and can seldom agree on anything, constantly arguing about the relative merits of tradition and modernity in relation to time and eternity. There is a surprise appearance by Tim, the Ghost of Time Uncompleted (the thinly disguised ghost of H.G. Wells) and the final chapter culminates in several twists of the tale. If you are adventurous enough to follow in the footsteps of the Three Ys Men, you are cordially invited to accompany them on their journey. It is quite possible that you will awake from the dream, step out from the night and disappear into the sunrise.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781901157024
Publisher:
Saint Austin Press
Publication date:
05/28/1998
Pages:
200
Product dimensions:
5.89(w) x 8.32(h) x 0.65(d)

Meet the Author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >