The Uruguay Amethyst (An Ainsley Walker Gemstone Travel Mystery) [NOOK Book]

Overview

For fans of Nora Roberts and Janet Evanovich….

Dumped by her husband just as he finishes law school, and disillusioned by her loss of another unsatisfying office job, Ainsley Walker is approaching thirty with nothing to show for it.

...
See more details below
The Uruguay Amethyst (An Ainsley Walker Gemstone Travel Mystery)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

For fans of Nora Roberts and Janet Evanovich….

Dumped by her husband just as he finishes law school, and disillusioned by her loss of another unsatisfying office job, Ainsley Walker is approaching thirty with nothing to show for it.

THEN

She accepts an offer from an elderly art dealer to travel to the country of Uruguay—the forgotten jewel of South America—to purchase a mysterious amethyst treasure, El Arbol Negro.

In a runaway adventure that propels her from historic auction houses to remote villages, from beef ranches to elite beach resorts, Ainsley finds joy, pain, friendship, duplicity, murder—-and, most importantly, a new purpose in life.

From an author who worked on the foreign desk of The Washington Post …

…who explored North and South America for nearly twelve months…

… who was a finalist in a prestigious short story contest sponsored by the estate of F. Scott Fitzgerald …

…comes a travel adventure that will change the way you see your life.

Length: Approximately 74,000 words.
Second in the series.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Uruguay Amethyst

    Ainsley Walker has been hired to travel to Uruguay and bid on, then find the stolen amethyst treasure. Ms. Walker didn't think her life was exciting enough until she traveled to Uruguay. This entertaining and fun read has a ridiculous but enjoyable plot and the character of Ainsley is so adorable to read. This is a quick and adorable mystery to cuddle up and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Fast-paced, culturally rich adventure

    This story is a brisk, entertaining romp in the vehicle of a stolen gemstone mystery. J.A. Jernay takes the reader on the adventurous journey through Uruguay as experienced by Ainsley Walker, a young and fashionable sleuth who stumbles into the detective business (see the teaser prelude "The American Turquoise"). The book is as much a tour of Uruguay as it is a mystery, and it succeeds at both. Jernay delivers an authentic-feeling rendering of the history, customs, geography, and language of that country that makes you want to go there. As a mystery, it may not be at the level of Raymond Chandler, but it definitely pulls you along and holds your interest.

    This book will appeal to anyone who wants a quick, fun escape to another place, particularly if they are into travel and learning about other cultures. The fashion and jewelry leitmotifs seem geared towards a female readership, but otherwise, the story is likely to be enjoyed by men as well.

    Sketching a country with historical and cultural strokes, and tying this in with a fast storyline is something Jernay does well, and I look forward to other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Excellent Book - :oved it

    I read the book and loved every minute of it. The author did an excellent job with this book and has a wonderful storyline. His words used to describe the main character, Ainsley Walker are brilliant. You get an immediate sense of Ainsley's emotions through his description of her body language and the scenery around her. It makes you want to keep reading this book. I highly recommend purchasing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)