The Vanishing Nordic Chorale

( 1 )
$16.14 price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $8.83   
  • Used (1) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/29/2011
  • Label: Sono Luminus
  • UPC: 053479212825
  • Catalog Number: 92128
  • Sales rank: 236,717


Disc 1
  1. 1 Fried- und Freudenreiche Hinfahrt, cantata in 2 sections for SB voices, instruments & continuo, BuxWV 76: Klag-Lied (Lament) - Dietrich Buxtehude & Adolph Tidemand (2:31)
  2. 2 Chorale prelude for organ in C major, BuxWV 184, "Ein' Feste Burg Ist Unser Gott" - Dietrich Buxtehude & Adolph Tidemand (3:50)
  3. 3 Hertzlich lieb hab ich dich - Hans Leo Hassler & Aaron Cain (2:52)
  4. 4 Cantata No. 93, "Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten," BWV 93 (BC A104): Min själ, låt Gud i allt få råda (Wer nur den lieb - Johann Sebastian Bach & Georg Neumark (4:05)
  5. 5 Verleih' uns Frieden, prayer for chorus & orchestra in E flat major - Felix Mendelssohn & Martin Luther (3:58)
  6. 6 O Jesulein süss, sacred song for voice & continuo (Schemelli Gesangbuch No. 203), BWV 493 (BC F234) - Johann Sebastian Bach & Adolph Tidemand (2:43)
  7. 7 Den store, hvide flok (The Great, White Host), folk song for baritone & male chorus, Op. 30/10 - Edvard Grieg & Hans Adolf Brorson (3:56)
  8. 8 Cantata No. 137, "Lobe den Herren, den mächtigen König der Ehren," BWV 137 (BC A124): Lover den Herre (Lobe den Herren) - Johann Sebastian Bach & Stanley Ritchie (3:05)
  9. 9 Psallite unigenito, motet - Michael Praetorius & Gabriel Crouch (1:18)
  10. 10 Wie Soll Ich Dich Empfangen - Johannes Crüger & Hans Adolf Brorson (2:19)
  11. 11 Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan, sacred concerto for 4-part chorus, 2 violins, 2 violas, bassoon & continuo, T. 381: Du er, opstandne sejershelt (Was Gott tut) - Johann Sebastian Bach & Johann Pachelbel (4:33)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Musik Ekklesia Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    The Resiliant Chorale

    The Vanishing Nordic Chorale is a fascinating and instructive compilation imaginatively assembled and beautifully realized. Musik Ekklesia is a Baroque period informed ensemble of approximately 21 players based in Indianapolis. For this project they are joined by a complement of about 15 singers. The program, devised by music director and executive producer, Philip Spray is a unique snapshot of the Lutheran chorale, its preeminence in northern European music history as well as its ubiquity as thematic grist for composers as far afield as Bach and Nielsen. If you think such a concentrated dose of strophic tethered writing may sound monotonous, think again. This collection is anything but. All manner of vocal and instrumental permutations are employed to great effect, insuring sustained interest throughout the duration of this 61 minute program. The stylish performances are of the highest order. The end result is stirring. The recorded sound is first rate as are the extensive annotations. A topnotch production in all respects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews