The Varangian: Book Three of Odd Tangle-Hair's Saga

The Varangian: Book Three of Odd Tangle-Hair's Saga

by Bruce Macbain
The Varangian: Book Three of Odd Tangle-Hair's Saga

The Varangian: Book Three of Odd Tangle-Hair's Saga

by Bruce Macbain


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The Varangian is the final entry in Bruce Macbain's Odd Tangle-Hair Saga and brings Odd's challenging adventures to a climactic and satisfying finish. On a secret diplomatic mission to the Emperor's court in Miklagard, the Viking's name for Constantinople, Odd meets the members of the fearsome Varangian Guard whose elite Viking members served as the Emperor's personal bodyguards. Harald, his former master and the man he's been sent to murder, now serves among the guards. Court intrigue and imperial dynastic disputes provide the backdrop for the conflict between Odd and Harald. Like Odin's Child and The Ice Queen before it,The Varangian is dictated by Odd to a young scribe whose own life is changed by the telling of the tale.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781943075249
Publisher: Amphorae Publishing Group, LLC
Publication date: 11/29/2016
Series: Odd Tangle-Hair's Saga , #3
Pages: 358
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Bruce Macbain was born in Chicago, Illinois. As a child, he squandered whole days reading science fiction and history. Greek and Roman history held a special fascination for him and this led eventually to acquiring a master's degree in Classical Studies and a doctorate in Ancient History. As an assistant professor of Classics, he taught courses in Late Antiquity and Roman religion—which is a particular interest of his—and published a few impenetrable scholarly monographs, which almost no one read. He eventually left academe and turned to teaching English as a second language, a field he was trained in while serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Borneo in the 60s.

Macbain has written a series of historical mysteries set in ancient Rome, (Roman Games, 2010,  and The Bull Slayer, 2013) featuring the senatorial letter-writer Pliny the Younger as his protagonist, assisted by other literary figures such as the poet Martial and the biographer Suetonius. He also does a bit of book reviewing for the Historical Novels Review and Foreword magazine. Odin's Child is the first in his Viking series, The Odd Tangle-Hair Saga.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews