The Volga Germans (for fans of Kate Morton, Hilary Mantel, and Barbara Erskine) [NOOK Book]

Overview

The Meiningers had set out for Russia seeking to improve their lives, to escape the political and religious turmoil often surrounding their otherwise picturesque German homes and villages. They dreamed of the faraway place awaiting them. They colored the soil beneath the vast steppe rich and black in their minds ready to be tilled. And there would be a neat little house ready to receive them. In their wildest dreams, they could not have imagined what actually awaited their arrival. There were no houses, no fields...
See more details below
The Volga Germans (for fans of Kate Morton, Hilary Mantel, and Barbara Erskine)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price

Overview

The Meiningers had set out for Russia seeking to improve their lives, to escape the political and religious turmoil often surrounding their otherwise picturesque German homes and villages. They dreamed of the faraway place awaiting them. They colored the soil beneath the vast steppe rich and black in their minds ready to be tilled. And there would be a neat little house ready to receive them. In their wildest dreams, they could not have imagined what actually awaited their arrival. There were no houses, no fields nothing but grass as far as the eye could see. It was almost evening; they were hungry, wet and cold and felt like orphaned children.

These German immigrants and their descendants civilized this bleak Russian frontier, converted the harsh steppe into fields of waving grain dotted with wind-driven flour mills, and in this isolated place, developed a culture that was uniquely their own. They survived savage attacks of marauding tribes, the unpredictable often harsh climate, and the vagaries of tsarist edicts. Sigrid tells the fascinating story of these remarkable people in The Volga Germans.

The Volga Germans is the second volume in Sigrid Weidenweber's trilogy The Volga Flows Forever. Catherine, the first volume, brings to life the fascinating historical character of Catherine the Great who invited her native countrymen to settle the Russian frontier. In the final volume, From Gulag to Freedom, she follows the Volga Germans through the hardships of collectivization and deportation during the Soviet years to finally immigrate to the San Joaquin Valley of Central California.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Vladimir Bukovsky
The admirers of literature and history will welcome this trilogy as a ray of light suddenly invading our age of darkness. Well researched and well written, it gives a unique insight into the tragic and fascinating story of Volga Germans over three centuries. Parts of it can and should be turned into an excellent movie. A reader who prides himself in his knowledge of history will still learn much from this book. A reader of most refined literary taste will still find it difficult to put down.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940013367814
  • Publisher: GreeneBooks
  • Publication date: 9/12/2011
  • Series: The Volga Flows Forever , #2
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 177,674
  • File size: 4 MB

Meet the Author

Born in Germany in 1941, Sigrid Weidenweber remembers the closing days of World War II. She grew up under communism in East Germany and escaped from East Berlin with the help of a French pasport shortly after the Wall was erected.

Sigrid has a degree in medical technology from Wuerzburg as well as a degree in psychology from Portland State University. It was in Wuerzburg that she met Donald, her husband of 38 years. During her time at PSU, she fell in love with anthropology, a subject she still pursues with coursework, as well as on her own time.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Great historical fiction

    From the,"hardships of collectivization and deportation during the Soviet years to finally immigrate to the San Joaquin Valley of Central California,",The Volga Germans by Sigrid Weidenweber, is a rich filled story about the lives of the Volga Germans, under the rising rule of Stalin.

    Filled with a trademark eye for historical research and depiction, everyday characters that capture the environment and setting of their story, and peppered with the customs, food and language of the people, readers who enjoy historical fiction, will be captivated by the little told story of the Volga Germans who, in the process of trying to build a richer life, found themselves, discovering survival, faith and persistence in trying times.

    With the ability to show different eyes, and centering on the rich history of Russia, Sigrid Weidenweber, captures the time, the ambiance and feel of the era, that is being written on and for people who may enjoy historical fictions that blend history with a rich story or know of friends and family who enjoy reading such books, "The Volga Germans" is one of Sigrid Weidenweber, best books of the series.

    I found, "The Volga Germans" interesting and for those who are looking for light reading, be prepared that all of the "Volga" series are very in depth that I would suggest if you have an e-reader, it would be best to get the books in that format, but you'll find yourself, unable to put the book down, particularly if you are a big fan of books that are filled with obviously time spent on research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)