The Waffler [NOOK Book]

Overview

When one boy waffles back and forth, it’s going to take a few little kids–and one pet rat–to get him to finally make a decision.

Monty is a waffler–he can never make up his mind, which always gets him in trouble. But when each student in his fourth-grade class is assigned a kindergarten buddy, Monty takes some left-out kindergarteners under his wing, even though it’s against the rules to have more than one buddy. When his blended family and his teachers find out, they give him ...

See more details below
The Waffler

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$13.99
BN.com price

Overview

When one boy waffles back and forth, it’s going to take a few little kids–and one pet rat–to get him to finally make a decision.

Monty is a waffler–he can never make up his mind, which always gets him in trouble. But when each student in his fourth-grade class is assigned a kindergarten buddy, Monty takes some left-out kindergarteners under his wing, even though it’s against the rules to have more than one buddy. When his blended family and his teachers find out, they give him an ultimatum: choose just one buddy, or have none at all. That stinks! On top of that, his beloved pet rat escapes, and his twin sister stops speaking to him! Monty doesn’t want to cast away his new friends, but he needs to come to a decision before everything spins out of control. With laugh-out-loud humor reminiscent of Andrew Clements, Donovan gets the agony–and the tremendous fun–of elementary school perfectly.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A solid middle-grade choice—no waffling necessary." - Kirkus Reviews

"A solidly realistic school and family story for fans of Louis Sachar and Claudia Mills." - The Horn Book

"The everyday-life plots, following Monty’s relationship with his family and his accidental adoption of not one but four kindergarten buddies, are comedic and enjoyable." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Readers will identify with Monty’s issues and root for him...this novel has an enjoyable plot and likeable characters and is therefore a definite selection for any elementary library." - Library Media Connection

School Library Journal
10/01/2013
Gr 3–5—Decision-making is an agonizing ordeal for Monty Greene, but it does not become the bane of his existence until his new fourth-grade teacher, Mrs. Tuttle, decides to accelerate the process for him by branding him with three "decision-aids" (Band-Aids). These are applied to his arm every day for the entire class to see, earning him the derisive nickname, "Waffles." Monty steels himself for the worst school year ever. Reprieve comes in the unexpected form of four kindergarteners-his official Reading Buddy, Leo Schwarz III, and three unofficial reading buddies who missed out on the assignments. Monty empathizes with the three who were left out and spends his recesses reading to them. When Leo moves, Mrs. Tuttle's final, piercing injustice is the announcement that Monty can only pick one of his remaining buddies to join him at the grand "Culminating Event." Monty's resentment finally blossoms into open rebellion when he boldly invites all three to join him. This is decision-making at its finest, and the youngster suddenly finds himself in the role of hero with Mrs. Tuttle cast as the villain. Monty's world is populated with very real, well-developed characters, and his own evolution is almost imperceptible, which makes it all the more enjoyable.—Kathy Cherniavsky, Ridgefield Library, CT
Kirkus Reviews
Making up his mind has always been hard for Monty to do, but when the principal tags him with the label "waffler," it becomes a nickname the fourth grader desperately wants to lose. Monty's unwillingness to call attention to himself will resonate with readers. He knows that objecting to the hated nickname will make it stick, and he fears that if his mother calls the teacher about the Band-Aid "decision-aids" he has to wear, the teacher will be angry. The adults in Monty's school seem competent but insensitive. When the fourth graders are assigned kindergarten Reading Buddies, three kindergartners are left out, and suddenly, Monty is reading to four of them at recess. Monty's family life is as complicated as his school life: two parents, two stepparents, two half sisters and two houses. He and his decisive twin sister move back and forth week by week. Because he takes so long to make them, many of Monty's choices seem desperate, but at least one works out: A pet rat's long name, a combination of all the names he had been considering, gives him an idea for solving his Reading Buddy problem. Donovan's third-person narration convincingly captures the interior monologue of a boy who likes to consider the alternatives, and her school and home settings ring true. A solid middle-grade choice--no waffling necessary. (Fiction. 7-10)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101612675
  • Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
  • Publication date: 8/15/2013
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 208
  • Sales rank: 1,046,190
  • Age range: 7 - 9 Years
  • Lexile: 640L (what's this?)
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Gail Donovan lives with her family in Portland, Maine, where she works in a school library. Like Monty, Gail is a twin, and her twin sister currently lives on a boat as she sails around the world. Gail’s previous books include In Memory of Gorfman T. Frog, which was named a "New York Public Library Best Books for Children," and What’s Bugging Bailey Blecker?, a "Horn Book back-to-school recommended title."

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Amazing

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)