The Warrior Laird

The Warrior Laird

4.4 9
by Margo Maguire
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“Margo Maguire is a masterful storyteller.”
—Lorraine Heath

Margo Maguire has a true talent for writing scintillating, powerfully emotional historical romance novels. She works her enthralling magic once more with a wildly passionate series about siblings who have survived a brutal past and will stop at nothing to claim their birthright.

Overview

“Margo Maguire is a masterful storyteller.”
—Lorraine Heath

Margo Maguire has a true talent for writing scintillating, powerfully emotional historical romance novels. She works her enthralling magic once more with a wildly passionate series about siblings who have survived a brutal past and will stop at nothing to claim their birthright. Of course, breathtaking passion and undeniable love are almost certain to come their way. It happens in the first book, The Warrior Laird. Fans of Karen Hawkins, Julianne MacLean, Liz Carlyle, Julia London—and anyone else who loves to be transported by historical romance to the breathtaking Scottish Highlands—will adore this tantalizing tale of a warrior Scotsman on a treasure hunt and the runaway bride who sets out to steal his fortune…only to become his captive prize.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Maguire’s trilogy launch highlights clan warfare in 18th-century Scotland. Dugan MacMillan, the MacMillan laird, needs a way to pay the rents on his land before the duke of Argyll evicts him and the members of his clan. Gold from a failed uprising is rumored to be hidden in the highlands, and Dugan goes in search of it. Along the way he meets Maura Duncanson, whose father is forcing her to marry the aging Baron Kildary. Dugan decides to hold Maura for ransom from Kildary and promptly becomes enamored of her beauty and immeasurable resolve in the face of adversity. He must decide whether love is worth the risk of letting Maura accompany him on his treasure hunt. Maguire (Seducing the Governess) makes smooth, fast-paced writing look effortless, and the story is peppered with satisfying romantic interludes but somewhat marred by a lack of character depth and development. Agent: Paige Wheeler, Folio Literary Management. (Aug.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062122896
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/31/2012
Series:
Highland Brothers , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
57,482
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Margo Maguire is the author of twenty-one historical romance novels. Formerly a critical care nurse, she worked for many years in a large Detroit trauma center. Margo writes full time and loves to hear from readers. Keep up with news on Margo's latest books by signing up for her newsletter on her website, www.margomaguire.com, and looking her up on Facebook and Twitter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Warrior Laird 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mirabelle8 More than 1 year ago
I read THE WARRIOR LAIRD by Margo Maguire and found it an exciting Scottish Medieval historical romance. It's fast-paced and filled with action, romance and intrigue. It is well written and fun to read. The story-line was well developed and nicely blended with her characters. I recommend this Scottish romance! You won't be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KahlanMercy More than 1 year ago
Book One of the Highlander Brothers series. Both Maura and Dugan have a desperate need of money to help with their dire circumstances. Maura wants to save her sister, and Dugan needs to save his clan. Each come across pieces of a treasure map that has been torn into four sections, and the hunt is on! This is a fresh take on the Highland romance. It is a treasure hunt across the Highlands. Plus, it is set later than a lot of them - guns are a weapon being used. If you're looking for a Highlander willing to risk it all, this is the book for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dugan and Maura's story was an exciting adventure through and through. Maura runs away from the old man her father has intened her to marry. She discovers part of a treasure map and by accident over hears some Highlanders talking about their part of the same map. Stealing their part of the map and takes off on her own. Soon she finds trouble from both rough rogues and the Highlanders who come searching for the map. The whole story is amazing . With of course romance definately included.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
smartypants54 More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable and loved it, its for adults. I loved that she writes about Scotland, can never get enough. I will keep reading her books.