The Way of Kings: Ancient Wisdom for the Modern Man

The Way of Kings: Ancient Wisdom for the Modern Man

by Nathan Clarkson
The Way of Kings: Ancient Wisdom for the Modern Man

The Way of Kings: Ancient Wisdom for the Modern Man

by Nathan Clarkson


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 28
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Today's man is in an identity crisis. With a never-ending barrage of confusing, condescending, and condemning voices telling him who he is and who he isn't, it can feel impossible to discover who he was made to be. Men were made to be kings, to protect the light, fight the darkness, and rule well the domain God has given them. But to be a good king, men must act in the likeness of the King.

Drawing on the ancient tradition of an older and wiser ruler passing on his wisdom, like Solomon in the book of Proverbs, Nathan Clarkson offers young men 40 short and to-the-point letters for the journey. Packed with practical, biblically based advice on real-life issues, this book helps men base their identity not in who the world says they should be but in who their King says they can be.

For the modern man looking to live out a greater story, The Way of Kings offers ancient wisdom rooted in sacred Scripture to help him discover who he was created to be.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781540900241
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/26/2022
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 526,501
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Nathan Clarkson is an award-winning actor, a bestselling author, an indie filmmaker, and a podcast philosopher. He is the author of Good Man and coauthor of the Publishers Weekly bestselling book Different. He lives between the city of New York and the wilds of Colorado.

Table of Contents

Introduction: Created to Be Kings 7

How to Read This Book 9

1 A Man after God's Own Heart 11

2 Royal Blood 16

3 The Crown and the Cross 20

4 There Be Dragons 24

5 Damsels in Distress 29

6 The Royal Council 34

7 The Round Table 38

8 "Warrior Training 42

9 The Quest 46

10 The King's Confession 50

11 A Jester of Joy 55

12 The Humble Lord 59

13 Self-Sacrifice to Live 64

14 Abdicating and Reclaiming 69

15 War and Peace 74

16 Standing Up Alone 79

17 The Castle 83

18 Rest 87

19 Important People 92

20 The Age and Reign of Men 97

21 Body of a God 102

22 The Crying King 107

23 Kingdom Treasures 112

24 Playing Pretend 117

25 In the Secret Place 121

26 More Than We Can Handle 126

27 A King in Waiting 131

28 Queens 136

29 The Wise King 141

30 New Name 145

31 Put On the Armor 150

32 Cracks in the Armor 154

33 The Value of Silence 158

34 Living Free 162

35 Smashing Idols 166

36 Who's to Blame? 170

37 Process and Patience 175

38 Fear Not 180

39 Follow Your Skills, Not Your Dreams 184

40 King of Your Heart 188

Afterword: Continuing the Journey 193

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews