The Way of Light

The Way of Light

5.0 1
by Storm Constantine
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

They who walk the way of light cast a shadow...

In the Magravandian capital of Magrast, the emperor, Leonid, lies dying. His warring sons wait in the shadows to fight for the throne against the legitimate heir, Prince Gastern.

Valraven Palindrake, Dragon Lord of the imperial army, concerned only with keeping his family safe in these precarious times, has vowed to

…  See more details below

Overview

They who walk the way of light cast a shadow...

In the Magravandian capital of Magrast, the emperor, Leonid, lies dying. His warring sons wait in the shadows to fight for the throne against the legitimate heir, Prince Gastern.

Valraven Palindrake, Dragon Lord of the imperial army, concerned only with keeping his family safe in these precarious times, has vowed to support Gastern. But other people, in secret cabals across the world, have different ideas, and see Valraven as the obvious champion to overthrow the rule of the decadent Malagashes. He is the Sea Dragon Heir of mystical Caradore, the only man in power fit to wear the ancient Crown of Silence that embodies all the best qualities of a true king.

While Valraven devotes himself to keeping order in Magrast in the run-up to Gastern's coronation, his wife Varencienne and his daughter Ellony are kidnapped by the magus Taropat and his apprentice Shan, who are opposed to either Valraven or any of the Malagashes taking the throne.

As the new emperor goes slowly insane, tormented by horrific visions, Valraven is forced to face up to the dreams that others have invested in him. The elemental dragon spirits of old are waking from their timeless sleep, and the eternal conflict between them and Madragore, god of the Magravandians, will be played out through human avatars. While shadowy figures plot and scheme to secure the best result for themselves, Valraven and his family must face perils both physical and spiritual to reclaim their lost heritage and harness the power of Foy, the sea dragon queen, once more.

Published first in 2001, 'The Way of Light' concludes Storm Constantine's Magravandias trilogy, a gripping epic fantasy series of intrigue, forbidden desire and magic.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Full of vivid and complex storytelling, this richly imagined, humane novel concludes the saga of the Magravandian Empire that began with Sea Dragon Heir and The Crown of Silence. The old emperor's death gives shadowy religious and political cabals a chance to maneuver for power. At the same time, personal cravings and sexual desires agitate members of the empire's powerful families, while the rival dragon-gods who represent elements of nature contend through their human avatars. Valraven (aka Lord Palindrake), head of the family once allied with the sea dragons, must first decide whether he wants to become the True King; then he must prove that he is worthy. Valraven's wife, Varencienne, also finds her role changing in unpredictable ways. Readers uneasy about entering such an intricate tale so late, however, shouldn't hesitate. For one thing, the author has a gift for creating compelling characters, whose motives are far from straightforward. Situations that seem initially to be sword-and-sorcery cliches turn out to be anything but, as Valraven and company discover more layers of meaning in events and have to reinterpret their own actions. Magic here is neither simple nor safe but an effort to tinker with powers too big for human control. As Constantine makes abundantly clear, even people who wish to walk the path of light must wade through darkness, especially as they try to escape narrow preconceptions. For all its strife, this is an affirmative book. Agent, Robert Kirby. (Jan. 10) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Full of vivid and complex storytelling, this richly imagined, humane novel concludes the saga of the Magravandian Empire that began with Sea Dragon Heir and The Crown of Silence. The old emperor's death gives shadowy religious and political cabals a chance to maneuver for power. At the same time, personal cravings and sexual desires agitate members of the empire's powerful families, while the rival dragon-gods who represent elements of nature contend through their human avatars. Valraven (aka Lord Palindrake), head of the family once allied with the sea dragons, must first decide whether he wants to become the True King; then he must prove that he is worthy. Valraven's wife, Varencienne, also finds her role changing in unpredictable ways. Readers uneasy about entering such an intricate tale so late, however, shouldn't hesitate. For one thing, the author has a gift for creating compelling characters, whose motives are far from straightforward. Situations that seem initially to be sword-and-sorcery cliches turn out to be anything but, as Valraven and company discover more layers of meaning in events and have to reinterpret their own actions. Magic here is neither simple nor safe but an effort to tinker with powers too big for human control. As Constantine makes abundantly clear, even people who wish to walk the path of light must wade through darkness, especially as they try to escape narrow preconceptions. For all its strife, this is an affirmative book. Agent, Robert Kirby. (Jan. 10) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.
Library Journal
With the unexpected death of the Emperor Leonid, the Magravandian Empire descends into chaos and mayhem as warring factions seek control. Against this backdrop, the conquered heirs of Caradore struggle to survive and to wrest their ancient heritage from those who would lay claim to the power of the sea dragons. Constantine's conclusion to her trilogy (Sea Dragon Heir, The Crown of Silence) provides a satisfying wrap-up to a story of forbidden love, broken loyalties, and magic. Her sensual prose should appeal to fans of Tanith Lee and Terry Goodkind. A good addition, along with its series predecessors, to most fantasy collections. Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Solid end to Constantine's Chronicles of the Magravandian Empire. The British author's many iconic publicity photos on the Web show a leaning toward dreamladen Pre-Raphaelite costumery for her writing. In Sea Dragon Heir (2000), she told of the fall of Caradore, realm of the sea-dragon Foy, and the rise of the fire god Magradore. Centuries later, the ruling Palindrakes of Caradore, led by Valraven and his incestuous twin sister Pharinet, serve Leonid II. Pharinet, however, joins the Sisterhood of the Dragon and raises Foy from the ocean depths. The Crown of Silence (2001), the breadbasket of the trilogy, always a difficult area in which to maintain suspense before the wrap-up, brought onstage 14-year-old Shan, whose village is destroyed and he left beaten and a victim of homosexual rape. Shan is adopted by the ancient magus Taropat, also known as Khaster Leckery, the vengeful half-human brother-in-law of Valraven Palindrake. Taropat teaches Shan both magic and worldly cunning and shapes him for recovery of the Crown of Silence and then the overthrow the hated Magravand king. Now, in The Way of Light, the tormented Valraven grows ever more deeply complex, as do all characters, who seem to think and weigh matters on their own, below the flow of Constantine's rich dialogue. Recovery of the Crown of Silence remains the goal, with many on the quest, including Shan, and Khaster's brother Merlan, and Almorante, the mystically educated son of Tatrini of the Malagashes. Says Tatrini about this holy artifact recovered from Lake Pancanara: "[It] has remained inaccessible for centuries, [and,] recovered from the most mystical site in our country at this time of flux, will possess magicalproperties . . . We must have it . . . Our family is emperor. Our blood is empire." Even Valraven and Pharinet hope to save Caradore with the Crown, and it's the Dragon Daughters who at last fill Valraven with the brilliant green radiance of Foy. Trance-inducing.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781907737558
Publisher:
Immanion Press
Publication date:
07/04/2013
Pages:
428
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.95(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Storm Constantine has written over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction and well over fifty short stories. Her novels span several genres, from literary fantasy, to science fiction, to dark fantasy. She is most well known for her Wraeththu trilogy (omnibus edition published by Tor), and is currently at work on a new set of novels set in the world of Wraeththu, beginning with The Wraiths of Will and Pleasure (Tor, 2003). Wraeththu are magical and sensual hermaphroditic beings, who when their story first began, almost twenty years ago, broke startling new ground in the often staid fantasy/sf genres.

Her influences include myth, magic and ancient history and the foibles of human nature. She uses writing and fiction to bridge the gap between mundane reality and the unseen realms of imagination and magic. She strives to awaken perception of these inner realms and the unexplored territory of the human psyche.

Aside from writing, Storm runs the Lady of the Flame Iseum, a group affiliated to the Fellowship of Isis, and is known to conduct group members on tours of ancient sites in the English landscape, in her husband's beat up old army Land Rover. She is also a Reiki Master/Teacher, has recently set up her own publishing company, Immanion Press, to publish esoteric books, and teaches creative writing when she gets the time.

Neil Gaiman, author of the Sandman series, once said: 'Storm Constantine is a mythmaking, Gothic queen, whose lush tales are compulsive reading. Her stories are poetic, involving, delightful, and depraved. I wouldn't swap her for a dozen Anne Rices!'

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Way of Light (Magravandias Series #3) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Emperor Leonid's death causes a succession crisis that sends the Magravandias Empire on the verge of civil war as conflicting elements squabble over the throne. The Firemages have their own puppet they want to succeed Leonid. Others believe opening the WAY OF LIGHT will point to the truth. Desperate to avoid genocide, Dragon Lord Valraven Palindrake reluctantly supports Prince Gastern to ascend to the crown. His decision delays a war, but the rivalry remains hot and any stumble will turn the empire into a sea of red.

Valraven's sea-wife Varencienne, worrying about the future of her adopted people, begins an odyssey to confer with her mother, Empress Tatrini, but fails to reach her destination. Instead dark magus, enemies of her husband, take her prisoner. These malevolent beings¿ plans do not care about body counts only the success of their endeavor. Valraven must find a way to save his spouse and his world even if he must go through the dark to obtain THE WAY OF THE LIGHT.

The final novel in Storm Constantine¿s powerful Chronicles of Magravandias fantasy trilogy, THE WAY OF THE LIGHT, is a thrilling tale. The story line stays true to its predecessors (SEA DRAGON HEIR and THE CROWN OF SILENCE) while allowing the key cast to grow as major events have impacted them. The vividly described story line is loaded with action that enables the reader to feel the empire is genuine, but it is the strong personality-driven cast that makes this tale and the other two books worth reading by epic fantasy fans.

Harriet Klausner