The Whole World's Crazy (Amelia Rules! Series)

( 1 )

Overview


Meet Amelia Louise McBride.

She's nine years old, a former New Yorker who's now living in a small town after her parents decided to get divorced, and dealing with everything from being the new kid in school to getting her first kiss. But you know what? She's got her mom and her aunt Tanner (who happens to be an ex-rock star) and her friends Reggie, Rhonda, and Pajamaman, ...
See more details below
Paperback (Original)
$8.96
BN.com price
(Save 18%)$10.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (13) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $8.40   
  • Used (10) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview


Meet Amelia Louise McBride.

She's nine years old, a former New Yorker who's now living in a small town after her parents decided to get divorced, and dealing with everything from being the new kid in school to getting her first kiss. But you know what? She's got her mom and her aunt Tanner (who happens to be an ex-rock star) and her friends Reggie, Rhonda, and Pajamaman, and everything's going to be okay. Except, of course, when it isn't.

In this first book of Amelia's adventures, Amelia and her friends take on bullies (and Santa!), barely survive gym class, and receive a disgustingly detailed explanation of the infamous Sneeze Barf.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A Peanuts for the twenty-first century." -- Comics Buyer's Guide

"Side-splittingly hilarious." -- Library Journal

"Amelia is the most lovable smart-aleck since Peanuts' Lucy...sure to put you in a tickle-your-funnybone mood!" -- Megan McDonald, author of the Judy Moody series

"Amelia's family and friends will take up permanent residence in your heart." -- Bob Schooley and Mark McCorkle, creators of Kim Possible

Children's Literature - Michael Jung
Nine-year-old spitfire Amelia Louise McBride makes her graphic novel debut in this award-winning comic that has been described by Comics Buyer's Guide as "a Peanuts for the twenty-first century." After her parents' divorce, Amelia moves with her mom from New York to a small town where she must adjust to her dad's absence, a gym class that has much in common with boot camp, and the revelation that her weird new friends are (gasp!) nerds. Still, it is not all bad as Amelia gets to hang out with her Aunt Tanner (a former rock star!), take out some bullies with the aid of a sneeze-barf (do not ask!), and even discover the meaning of Christmas by becoming Santa Claus (really!). In this hilarious series of comic book vignettes, cartoonist Jimmy Gownley shows he is at the top of his game in creating not only comics but also great children's literature. He introduces readers to an engaging cast of characters—from superhero-obsessed Reggie to silent Pajamaman to cranky Rhonda—whose great chemistry with Amelia leads to stories that are simultaneously silly and poignant. An excellent pick for fans of Beverly Cleary and Charles Schulz. Book three of the "Amelia Rules!" series. Reviewer: Michael Jung
Library Journal
Nine-year-old Amelia McBride's parents have just divorced, and she and her mom now live in a new town with her Aunt Tanner, a Bob Dylan-quoting rock musician. Amelia makes some new friends-nutty superhero-in-training Reggie, loudmouth Rhonda, and the totally silent Pajamaman-only to discover on the first day of school that they're the school's geeks and, by association, so is she. This book, previously published by Renaissance Press as Amelia Rules: In with the Out Crowd, is side-splittingly hilarious while also dealing sensitively with the problems that children of divorce face. With a Peanuts-like look and Charles Schulz's impeccable comic timing, a Calvin and Hobbes sort of attitude, and even a Yellow Kid homage (in Pajamaman's ever-changing chest emblems), this will appeal to the broader audience of comic strip readers as well as to comic book fans. (Only one small complaint: someone should check the spelling.) Throw in a wonderful Christmas story, which should be turned into an animated special immediately, and an Eisner Award nomination for best title for a younger audience, and the result is a book highly recommended for all ages and all libraries. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781416986041
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Publication date: 5/5/2009
  • Series: Amelia Rules! Series
  • Edition description: Original
  • Pages: 176
  • Sales rank: 542,370
  • Age range: 7 - 12 Years
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

Jimmy Gownley began writing and drawing comics at the age of fifteen. He is an advocate for kids’ comics, having co-founded the organization Kids Love Comics, which works to promote comic books and graphic novels as a valuable tool for literacy and education in schools, libraries, and at home. He lives with his wife Karen and their twin daughters, Stella and Anna, in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Jimmy Gownley began writing and drawing comics at the age of fifteen. He is an advocate for kids’ comics, having co-founded the organization Kids Love Comics, which works to promote comic books and graphic novels as a valuable tool for literacy and education in schools, libraries, and at home. He lives with his wife Karen and their twin daughters, Stella and Anna, in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    Amelia rules the whole worlds crazy is super funny!! It's so real. Amelia talks about things that we kids have always been thinking. For nine year olds they are are pretty mature for thier age. But does that stop them from acting crazy! Nope. If you love 'truthful' humor then I highly recommed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)