The Whole World's Crazy (Amelia Rules! Series)

The Whole World's Crazy (Amelia Rules! Series)

3.0 2
by Jimmy Gownley
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Meet Amelia Louise McBride.

She's nine years old, a former New Yorker who's now living in a small town after her parents decided to get divorced, and dealing with everything from being the new kid in school to getting her first kiss. But you know what? She's got her mom and her aunt Tanner (who happens to be an ex-rock star) and her friends

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview


Meet Amelia Louise McBride.

She's nine years old, a former New Yorker who's now living in a small town after her parents decided to get divorced, and dealing with everything from being the new kid in school to getting her first kiss. But you know what? She's got her mom and her aunt Tanner (who happens to be an ex-rock star) and her friends Reggie, Rhonda, and Pajamaman, and everything's going to be okay. Except, of course, when it isn't.

In this first book of Amelia's adventures, Amelia and her friends take on bullies (and Santa!), barely survive gym class, and receive a disgustingly detailed explanation of the infamous Sneeze Barf.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A Peanuts for the twenty-first century." — Comics Buyer's Guide

"Side-splittingly hilarious." — Library Journal

"Amelia is the most lovable smart-aleck since Peanuts' Lucy...sure to put you in a tickle-your-funnybone mood!" — Megan McDonald, author of the Judy Moody series

"Amelia's family and friends will take up permanent residence in your heart." — Bob Schooley and Mark McCorkle, creators of Kim Possible

Children's Literature - Michael Jung
Nine-year-old spitfire Amelia Louise McBride makes her graphic novel debut in this award-winning comic that has been described by Comics Buyer's Guide as "a Peanuts for the twenty-first century." After her parents' divorce, Amelia moves with her mom from New York to a small town where she must adjust to her dad's absence, a gym class that has much in common with boot camp, and the revelation that her weird new friends are (gasp!) nerds. Still, it is not all bad as Amelia gets to hang out with her Aunt Tanner (a former rock star!), take out some bullies with the aid of a sneeze-barf (do not ask!), and even discover the meaning of Christmas by becoming Santa Claus (really!). In this hilarious series of comic book vignettes, cartoonist Jimmy Gownley shows he is at the top of his game in creating not only comics but also great children's literature. He introduces readers to an engaging cast of characters—from superhero-obsessed Reggie to silent Pajamaman to cranky Rhonda—whose great chemistry with Amelia leads to stories that are simultaneously silly and poignant. An excellent pick for fans of Beverly Cleary and Charles Schulz. Book three of the "Amelia Rules!" series. Reviewer: Michael Jung
Library Journal
Nine-year-old Amelia McBride's parents have just divorced, and she and her mom now live in a new town with her Aunt Tanner, a Bob Dylan-quoting rock musician. Amelia makes some new friends-nutty superhero-in-training Reggie, loudmouth Rhonda, and the totally silent Pajamaman-only to discover on the first day of school that they're the school's geeks and, by association, so is she. This book, previously published by Renaissance Press as Amelia Rules: In with the Out Crowd, is side-splittingly hilarious while also dealing sensitively with the problems that children of divorce face. With a Peanuts-like look and Charles Schulz's impeccable comic timing, a Calvin and Hobbes sort of attitude, and even a Yellow Kid homage (in Pajamaman's ever-changing chest emblems), this will appeal to the broader audience of comic strip readers as well as to comic book fans. (Only one small complaint: someone should check the spelling.) Throw in a wonderful Christmas story, which should be turned into an animated special immediately, and an Eisner Award nomination for best title for a younger audience, and the result is a book highly recommended for all ages and all libraries. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781416986041
Publisher:
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication date:
05/05/2009
Series:
Amelia Rules! Series
Edition description:
Repackage
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
297,158
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
7 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >