The Wrong Man (Jason Kolarich Series #3)

The Wrong Man (Jason Kolarich Series #3)

4.0 10
by David Ellis
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Criminal defense attorney Jason Kolarich returns in this shocking new thriller by the Edgar® Award–winning author.

A young paralegal is brutally killed. A homeless Iraq war veteran has been caught with the murder weapon and the victim’s belongings—and he can’t remember what happened…

Overview

Criminal defense attorney Jason Kolarich returns in this shocking new thriller by the Edgar® Award–winning author.

A young paralegal is brutally killed. A homeless Iraq war veteran has been caught with the murder weapon and the victim’s belongings—and he can’t remember what happened…
     
Jason Kolarich has been asked by the young man’s aunt to defend him. It seems like a standard insanity defense based on Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder—until Kolarich realizes that his client is actually innocent. The victim had been working a case of her own, following a trail of paper and money that connected international terrorists to corporate America, where there are those who want to teach the U.S. government a lesson.
     
Kolarich knows finding the true murderer is the key to exposing the conspiracy. As time grows short for both his client and thousands of innocent Americans, he races to find a trained killer and uncover the details of the attack. But Kolarich soon discovers that the game has already been rigged—and that he himself is about to become the next target…

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
A wicked sense of humor and an appealing lead lift Ellis’s third legal thriller featuring Midwestern prosecutor-turned-defense lawyer Jason Kolarich (after 2011’s Breach of Trust), though Kolarich tends to act more like Jack Ryan than Perry Mason. When paralegal Kathy Rubinkowski is gunned down near her apartment, the case against Iraqi war veteran Tom Stoller is clear-cut. Stoller was apprehended with the murder weapon and the victim’s purse near the scene of the killing. Since his mental state is questionable, Stoller’s aunt prevails on Kolarich to represent him. The attorney comes to believe that Stoller’s apparent confession was actually referring to a horrific incident that happened during wartime, but as Kolarich is the second defense lawyer on the case, the judge allows him little time or leeway to gather supporting evidence. Toward the end, the plot veers into Tom Clancy territory with some sacrifice of plausibility. Given the heavy-handed telegraphing, few will be surprised by the revelation of the final secret. Agent: Susanna Einstein, LJK Literary Agency. (June)
From the Publisher
“David Ellis’s pages throb with action and suspense.” —James Patterson
“Ellis [writes] solid, entertaining, well-crafted novels about crime and passion and greed in the tradition of Scott Turow and John Grisham.” —Chicago Tribune
“Ellis has created an iron-willed, unbreakable character who can take the novelist’s best punch and come back for more.”—Chicago Sun-Times

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780399158285
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date:
06/14/2012
Series:
Jason Kolarich Series, #3
Pages:
400
Product dimensions:
6.34(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.29(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
“David Ellis’s pages throb with action and suspense.” —James Patterson
“Ellis [writes] solid, entertaining, well-crafted novels about crime and passion and greed in the tradition of Scott Turow and John Grisham.” —Chicago Tribune
“Ellis has created an iron-willed, unbreakable character who can take the novelist’s best punch and come back for more.”—Chicago Sun-Times

Meet the Author

David Ellis is the author of seven novels, including Line of Vision for which he won the Edgar Award. An attorney from Chicago, he currently serves as Counsel to the Speaker of the Illinois House of Representatives and was recently appointed the Impeachment Prosecutor in the Blagojevich trial. Ellis lives in Springfield with his family.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Wrong Man 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Solid book, fun with likable characters. Plot is interesting though not clever. Characters are a bit underdeveloped / two dimensional.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has mind-grabbing plot. Most of the situations and dialogue worked well for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
timetravel More than 1 year ago
How does a lawyer defend a man that can’t or won’t defend himself? When Tom Stoller, a homeless Iraqi war vet suffering from PTSD, is accused of murder, Jason Kolarich takes on his defense. His defense is complicated by the fact that his client won’t talk and statements at the time of arrest appear to be a confession. Jason is a bulldog of a lawyer that doesn’t rest until he finds the best way to defend his client, especially when he starts to believe that Tom may be innocent. Although The Wrong Man is book three of a series, it is very much a stand-alone story. I never felt I needed to know some back story to fully understand what was happening. It did have some problems that put me off a little. There were certain surprise twists in the story that were not much of a surprise for me. Also, the way he incorporated a girlfriend into his work life was odd. I did enjoy reading the book and I would still recommend it to those who like legal mystery/thrillers.
bmak More than 1 year ago
A great read...lots of twists and turns!