The Thirteenth Skull (Alfred Kropp Series #3) by Rick Yancey, NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Alfred Kropp: The Thirteenth Skull

Alfred Kropp: The Thirteenth Skull

4.7 18
by Rick Yancey
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Before The 5th Wave, there was Alfred Kropp. This third book in Rick Yancey's lauded series was called "perfect" by Rick Riordan, and James Patterson said that the "action is fast, furious, and nonstop--and so is the fun." Now the books feature a bold and exciting new look for the next generation of readers to fall in love with.

Alfred Kropp thought he

Overview

Before The 5th Wave, there was Alfred Kropp. This third book in Rick Yancey's lauded series was called "perfect" by Rick Riordan, and James Patterson said that the "action is fast, furious, and nonstop--and so is the fun." Now the books feature a bold and exciting new look for the next generation of readers to fall in love with.

Alfred Kropp thought he was finally safe, but he was wrong. Not only is someone out to kill Alfred, but the very people sworn to protect him now want to use him and his abilities for deadly means. And if Alfred isn't careful, he may not be getting out of this adventure alive . . .

Just right for fans of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz, the third book in this acclaimed series from New York Times bestselling author Rick Yancey brings all the thrills, action, and humor to a rewarding close.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Shirley Nelson
Sixteen-year-old Alfred Kropp leads an exciting and dangerous life. As an agent of OIPEP, he drives fancy sports cars, carries a gun, and is regularly in danger of being blown up. The novel begins with an explosion and car chase comparable to the opening scene of a James Bond movie, and the action never really stops. Alfred is the last living direct descendant of Sir Lancelot. Alfred's father and the descendants of the eleven other Knights of the Round Table have all been killed, and it appears that Alfred may be the thirteenth to die. Alfred's blood has special healing powers, so operatives of the opposing forces plan to use it to create an immortal army. The final confrontation occurs in Tintagel, Cornwall, in the ruins of Camelot. This action-packed fantasy will appeal to male teens who enjoy action-adventure stories. Alfred's powers are somewhat confusing, as is his connection to the Archangel Michael who intervenes on his behalf. Since this is the third in the "Alfred Kropp" series, reading the others should fill in the gaps. The novel contains quite a bit of violence, making it inappropriate for younger children or classroom use. Reviewer: Shirley Nelson
School Library Journal

Gr 7-10

The teenage descendant of Sir Lancelot featured in The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp (2005) and Alfred Kropp: The Seal of Solomon (2007, both Bloomsbury) returns for another adventure. Alfred has died and been restored to life, is looked after by Archangel Michael, and can heal others with his blood. He is trying to live a normal life with his legal guardian, the former Operative Nine (top agent) of OIPEP (Office of Inter-dimensional Paradoxes and Extraordinary Phenomenon). When Samuel is shot in a surprise attack, Alfred pursues the perpetrator and an intense chase leads to the death of several police officers. The teen is arrested and placed in a psych ward. He is soon offered a deal by OIPEP's new Op-Nine, Nueve: they will help him escape if he gives them the Seal of Solomon. Can Alfred trust OIPEP? Who is trying to kill him? And what is the thirteenth skull? Fast paced from start to finish, with numerous chase scenes (by car, horse, and other means), flying bullets, betrayals, and more, this is a great book for action fans and reluctant readers. However, though Alfred briefly summarizes previous events, kids will want to read the other titles first to best follow the plot.-Samantha Larsen Hastings, West Jordan Public Library, UT

Kirkus Reviews
Alfred Kropp, the intrepid descendent of Lancelot, is caught up in his third mission to save the world. Alfred's magical blood can heal victims' wounds, a talent targeting him for abduction and use as a government experiment. Yancey (Alfred Kropp: The Seal of Solomon, 2007, etc.) crowds his story with over-the-top chase scenes. He puts his hero on a galloping horse pursued by roaring motorcycles, dangles him by a cable under a soaring helicopter and pushes him down a mountain on an inverted garbage-can lid. The work is soaked with action but characters are cutouts: Jourdain Garmot seeks revenge because Alfred killed his father; Nueve, the new Op Nine (the Office of Interdimensional Paradoxes and Extraordinary Phenomena's top agent), is suspiciously creepy; blue-eyed Ashley seems too good to be true. Surviving back-to-back-to-back escapes, Alfred realizes he can trust nobody while racing against time to locate Merlin's 13th crystal skull, an item with the power to destroy the universe. This action novel delivers its advertised thrills, but familiarity with prior titles in the series is helpful. (Fiction. YA)
From the Publisher

“This action novel delivers its advertised thrills.” —Kirkus Reviews

“With nonstop action, wry humor and enough plot 'zigs' instead of 'zags', this rollicking page-turner is just plain fun.” —VOYA

“A great book for boys, as well as reluctant readers . . . teens will love and won't be able to put down.” —School Library Journal on ALFRED KROPP AND THE SEAL OF SOLOMON

“Like J. K Rowling, first time YA novelist Yancey deftly leavens the heavier plot elements with humor; this story of a big-headed loser is as funny as it is scary.” —Publishers Weekly on THE EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES OF ALFRED KROPP

“Yancey has hit one out of the park with this original, engaging, sequel-worthy read.” —Kirkus Reviews on THE EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES OF ALFRED KROPP

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781599906850
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
12/01/2010
Series:
Alfred Kropp Series , #3
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
99,783
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Rick Yancey is the author of The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea, the first two books in this series. His debut young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel The Monstrumologist received the Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. When he isn't writing or thinking about writing or traveling the country talking about writing, Rick is hanging out with his family.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >