This Side of Jealousy (Innocents Series #2)

This Side of Jealousy (Innocents Series #2)

5.0 2
by Lili Peloquin

View All Available Formats & Editions

It’s Gossip Girl for Connecticut’s Gold Coast.” –Publishers Weekly

When jealousies run rampant and dark secrets are uncovered, the sisters realize that there is a dark side to paradise in this breathless romance perfect for fans of ABC's REVENGE.

Alice and Charlie haven’t stopped fighting since…  See more details below


It’s Gossip Girl for Connecticut’s Gold Coast.” –Publishers Weekly

When jealousies run rampant and dark secrets are uncovered, the sisters realize that there is a dark side to paradise in this breathless romance perfect for fans of ABC's REVENGE.

Alice and Charlie haven’t stopped fighting since they arrived in Serenity Point two weeks ago. Those two weeks changed their lives. And Serenity Point has changed them.

Charlie has a new group of friends and a new life. Jude and Cybill are beautiful, exciting, and dangerously seductive. And though Sasha is proving to be a friend and confidante to Alice, Alice can’t get away from the people, places, and events that mire her in the past.

Alice loves Tommy, but the memory of Camilla, dead and gone, is driving a wedge between them. And Alice’s ex-boyfriend Patrick won’t give up on her, no matter what she says to keep him away. Jude is slowly giving up his bad boy ways for Charlie—but Cybill continues to come between them. And then Nick arrives: Dr. Van Stratten’s former intern seems to know things about last summer— things that Jude and Tommy would rather not be revealed. Alice is determined to find out what.

While the sisters grapple with the terrible truth about their family, the one-year memorial of Camilla’s death looms. The tension mounts and sparks fly as bright as July Fourth fireworks. Alice and Charlie are desperate to find out the truth that everyone seems to be hiding.

Is Camilla their enemy and rival—even six feet under? Or is she their sister, whose memory they have to protect? And what really happened to her that night on the bridge? In a town built on secrets and lies, can the truth stay buried for long?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

VOYA - Laura Woodruff
Teen sisters Alice and Charlie, who moved to wealthy Serenity Point, Connecticut, when their recently divorced mother married their stepfather Richard Flood III, continue adventures begun in the first novel of the series, The Innocents (Penguin, 2012). Alice, who strongly resembles her stepfather's deceased daughter Camilla, falls for troubled Tommy, Camilla's grieving boyfriend and son of a prominent doctor who treated the first Mrs. Flood in her final illness. Charlie is attracted to handsome Jude, romantically linked to his cousin Cybill and a heavy drug user. Somewhat separated by their new relationships, the sisters find their bond strained when Alice learns that she is Richard's biological daughter, news she cannot bring herself to share with Charlie. What is more, Alice begins to suspect foul play when Tommy reveals that Camilla's death was not a suicide. Alice decides that she and Charlie must investigate the first Mrs. Flood's death and take a closer look at the adults in their lives, especially Richard and Tommy's father. The second novel continues the exciting blend of mystery and romance found in the first of the series, adding additional complications as sisters Alice and Charlie become part of the social scene. Both girls lose virginity and join in the heavy drinking of their selfish, privileged friends, but retain their basic moral focus and love for each other. This fast-paced read is heavily laden with teen angst and will likely appeal to girl readers, especially soap opera aficionados. Reviewer: Laura Woodruff
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—Fans of Peloquin's The Innocents (Penguin, 2012) will pick right up on the melodramatic soap-opera life of 17-year-old Alice and her crazy 16-year-old sister, Charlie, residents on the Connecticut gold coast, courtesy of a wealthy new stepfather. Alice was devastated to learn that Richard is actually her biological father, and she suspects that he murdered his first wife and their mysterious daughter, Camilla. She's also furious with her mother for keeping this life-changing secret from her. Charlie is running wild with easy access to alcohol and pot and a handsome young man. With the parents gone on their honeymoon, the sisters act like typical, unsupervised hormonal teens and they have sex (not explicitly described but no mention of protection either) and get into nonstop petty fights. Everything is intense and full of intrigue; the plot is fairly convoluted. While the dialogue is occasionally unrealistic, the setting, romance, and over-the-top suspicions, secrets, and lies will keep teens riveted. Best for fans of "Gossip Girls" and "Pretty Little Liars."—Susan Riley, Mamaroneck Public Library, NY
Kirkus Reviews
One and a half volumes into her series, Peloquin's central mystery plot finally begins to come together. A few weeks after having moved to a superrich swath of the Connecticut shore (The Innocents, 2012), sisters Charlie and Alice are beginning to settle in--kind of. Charlie and Jude are a confirmed couple, and shockingly, Jude's cousin and sometime lover, Cybill, seems to welcome this development. Alice and Tommy, her dead stepsister Camilla's former boyfriend, are also romantically paired, though Tommy insists on keeping the relationship secret. Alice's mother has confirmed her longtime affair with her new, moneybags second husband--actually Alice's father, making the girl's relationship to Camilla an uncomfortably close one. On the periphery are two poorer characters: Stan, the handsome waiter Charlie discusses Fitzgerald with, and Nick, newly returned from Dartmouth for the summer; he's Tommy's disgraced ex-doctor father's former intern. Viewed from above, it's a Busby Berkeley ballet, country-club style: Characters couple; they part; they rearrange and couple again according to some unheard, rich-people gavotte. At the dismal center is Camilla's suicide, which Alice thinks was foul play. Peloquin can write, there's no question, and the dialectic she sets up between rich and poor is an interesting one, when her characters aren't bitching at each other. No one will read these books for the mystery, which is so glacially developed it's easy to forget, what with all the sex, drugs and misery. (Chick-lit/mystery. 14 & up)

Read More

Product Details

Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
Innocents Series , #2
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Sales rank:
File size:
848 KB
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

This Side of Jealousy (Innocents Series #2) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Add me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago