Those in Peril by Fay Sampson, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Those in Peril

Those in Peril

by Fay Sampson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A Suzie Fewings genealogical mystery - Nick Fewings, the husband of keen family history researcher Suzie, inherits a portrait of his great-grandfather, a famous lifeboatman in St Furseys. Nick and Suzie are keen to find out more, so they decide to take their two teenage children, Tom and Millie, on holiday there. The family stay with Nick’s brother Leon and

Overview

A Suzie Fewings genealogical mystery - Nick Fewings, the husband of keen family history researcher Suzie, inherits a portrait of his great-grandfather, a famous lifeboatman in St Furseys. Nick and Suzie are keen to find out more, so they decide to take their two teenage children, Tom and Millie, on holiday there. The family stay with Nick’s brother Leon and his daughter Anna, and the teen girls’ imaginations are soon fired by tales of smugglers on the coast. They are delighted when Nick discovers that his ancestors once owned the Noah’s Ark Inn, an old smuggling haunt, but when he and the girls visit they are chased off by its seemingly unbalanced owner.  Then one afternoon the girls go missing. Tom thinks they’ve gone to search for smugglers, but the others aren’t so sure. Could the girls have returned to the inn and run into trouble? Or does an offshore archaeological-survey vessel hold the answers? Either way, night is falling and the clock is ticking . . .

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
When Nick Fewings inherits a portrait of his great-grandfather Solomon Margerson in British author Sampson’s engaging third genealogical mystery (after February 2010’s A Malignant House), his wife, Suzie, unearths information on Margerson and sparks the family’s interest in vacationing in St. Furseys, the seaside village where Margerson had lived, and learning more about his past. Odd activity in the waters beyond the harbor persuades Millie, the Fewings’ 14-year-old daughter, and Anna, her cousin, that drug trafficking or other smuggling is occurring, despite her parents’ and brother’s skepticism. However, when Millie and Anna fail to return home, the Fewings are forced to consider that Millie may have been right as they search frantically for the girls and uncover more than they bargained for. The loyal teamwork of the extended Fewings family, brisk pace, tense climax, and distinctive characters combine into an entertaining read for those looking for a mystery in the Mary Stewart tradition. (Oct.)
Booklist
After inheriting a portrait of his great-grandfather, who was lost at sea, Nick Fewings; his genealogist wife, Suzie; and their children travel to St. Furseys on the east coast of England to research his family�s history. While there, his 14-year-old daughter, Millie, becomes fascinated by stories of smugglers, both past and present. When Millie and her cousin Anna don�t return from a walk, their frantic parents organize a search. The girls return the next day, unharmed, but refuse to tell their parents (or the police) where they have been. Eventually, they reveal their story, confirming Nick�s fears that his family is in danger. Sampson salts her suspenseful tale with plenty of background on genealogical research, smuggling, and the seafaring life, and she conveys a strong sense of the wide-open coastal region of England�s east coast.(September 2010)
Library Journal
In this third entry of Sampson's thought-provoking genealogical series (after In the Blood and A Malignant House), the Fewings spend a week in St. Furseys to uncover more information about Nick's family. Interrupting this quiet family time is the disappearance of his daughter and niece; when they are found, they're reluctant to explain what happened to them. VERDICT Using the dramatic English coast as the prime mover of the story, Sampson weaves smuggling, drug running, and family troubles into an engrossing mystery. For readers of Jo Bannister and Amy Myers.
Kirkus Reviews

Tracing the history of their paternal forebears turns deadly for the Fewings family (In the Blood, 2009, etc.).

Suzie Fewings has done a bang-up job of tracing her West Country ancestry. When her husband Nick inherits a portrait of his great-grandfather Sollie Margerson, a lifeboatman who saved passengers from wrecks in the North Sea, the genealogy bug bites him, too. So he and Suzie decide to vacation in the Fen Country town of St. Furseys with Nick's recently divorced brother Leon. They can check the local historical society for any traces of the Margersons, and their adolescent children Millie and Tom can get to know their cousin, Leon's daughter Anna. The teenagers are skeptical. How much fun can a holiday be in this poky little village with its shale-covered beaches and barren salt marshes? But tales of smugglers spark Millie's interest. Soon, the Fewings offspring are looking for a cave reputedly hidden in the cliffs of Brandon Head, where last century's bootleggers stashed their boats. A trip to the Noah's Ark, the smugglers' supposed headquarters, brings only a tongue-lashing from Ed Harries, the current owner of the defunct tavern. But when Millie and Anna disappear, their parents realize that smuggling—and danger—may not be a thing of the past.

Sampson carefully balances descriptions of genealogical research methods, insights into family relations and clues to the briskly paced puzzle.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781847512550
Publisher:
Severn House Publishers
Publication date:
08/31/2011
Series:
Suzie Fewings Series
Pages:
208
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author

Fay Sampson, three-time nominee for "The Guardian" Children's Fiction Prize, is the author of many books, including the Pangur Ban Celtic Fantasies "Shape-Shifter," "Pangur Ban the White Cat," "Finnglas of the Horses," and "Finnglas and the Stones of Choosing,"

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >