Those Were the Days

Those Were the Days

4.5 2
by Cream

View All Available Formats & Editions

Those Were the Days is an ambitious four-disc, 63-track box set that divides Cream's career into two halves. The first two discs feature every studio track the group ever released, plus a handful of unreleased cuts, alternate takes, and rarities. The other two discs are devoted to live material, which is segued together in an attempt to…  See more details below


Those Were the Days is an ambitious four-disc, 63-track box set that divides Cream's career into two halves. The first two discs feature every studio track the group ever released, plus a handful of unreleased cuts, alternate takes, and rarities. The other two discs are devoted to live material, which is segued together in an attempt to recreate the "ideal" Cream concert. It's a remarkably comprehensive collection, complete with an extensive booklet and remastered sound, yet it doesn't reveal any new insights about Cream, nor does it offer any invaluable rarities. Therefore, it's only for die-hard collectors or listeners wanting to acquire the entire Cream catalog at once; casual fans will be satisfied with individual albums or greatest-hits collections.

Product Details

Release Date:
Polydor / Umgd


Disc 1

  1. Wrapping Paper
  2. I Feel Free
  3. N.S.U.
  4. Sleepy Time Time
  5. Dreaming
  6. Sweet Wine
  7. Spoonful
  8. Cat's Squirrel
  9. Four Until Late
  10. Rollin' and Tumblin'
  11. I'm So Glad
  12. Toad
  13. Lawdy Mama
  14. Strange Brew
  15. Sunshine of Your Love
  16. World of Pain
  17. Dance the Night Away
  18. Blue Condition
  19. Tales of Brave Ulysses
  20. Swlabr
  21. We're Going Wrong
  22. Outside Woman Blues
  23. Take It Back
  24. Mother's Lament

Disc 2

  1. White Room
  2. Sitting on Top of the World
  3. Passing the Time
  4. As You Said
  5. Pressed Rat and Warthog
  6. Politician
  7. Those Were the Days
  8. Born Under a Bad Sign
  9. Deserted Cities of the Heart
  10. Anyone for Tennis
  11. Badge
  12. Doing That Scrapyard Thing
  13. What a Bringdown
  14. The Coffee Song
  15. Lawdy Mama
  16. You Make Me Feel
  17. We're Going Wrong
  18. Hey Now Princess
  19. Swlabr
  20. Weird of Hermiston
  21. The Clearout
  22. Falstaff Beer Commercial

Disc 3

  1. N.S.U.
  2. Sleepy Time Time
  3. Rollin' and Tumblin'
  4. Crossroads
  5. Spoonful
  6. Tales of Brave Ulysses
  7. Sunshine of Your Love
  8. Sweet Wine

Disc 4

  1. White Room
  2. Politician
  3. I'm So Glad
  4. Sitting on Top of the World
  5. Stepping Out
  6. Traintime
  7. Toad
  8. Deserted Cities of the Heart
  9. Sunshine of Your Love

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cream   Primary Artist
Ginger Baker   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Jack Bruce   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Cello,Bass Guitar,Vocals
George Harrison   Rhythm Guitar
Eric Clapton   Guitar,Vocals
Felix Pappalardi   Organ,Bass,Piano,Trumpet,Viola,Bells,Mellotron

Technical Credits

Ginger Baker   Composer,Contributor
William Bell   Composer
Jack Bruce   Composer,Contributor
Cream   Producer
Mick Abrahams   Composer
Walter Vinson   Composer
Adrian Barber   Engineer,Remixing
Pete Brown   Composer
Lonnie Chatmon   Composer
Eric Clapton   Composer,Contributor
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Ahmet Ertegun   Producer
Bill Halverson   Engineer
Booker T. Jones   Composer
Damon Lyon-Shaw   Engineer
Felix Pappalardi   Composer,Producer
Gene Paul   Remixing
Robert Stigwood   Producer
Mike Taylor   Composer
John Luard Timperley   Engineer
Gail Collins   Composer
Martin Sharp   Artwork
Kevin Brady   Remixing
Traditional   Composer
Janet Godfrey   Composer
John McDermott   Liner Notes
Arthur Reynolds   Composer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Those Were the Days 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are reading this review then we can probably assume a couple of facts: 1) you are a Cream fan or a Clapton fan 2) you are considering whether or not you want to buy this boxed set 3) you probably own at least one other Cream CD. That being the case I can tell you why you would want to buy this boxed set, and why you wouldn’t. If you are a Cream fan but only own a CD or two, or maybe just have the vinyl or something, then I would wholeheartedly suggest this boxed set to you. It contains all of the original Cream albums, plus both Live Cream albums and even throws in some outtakes, some demos, and a couple minutes of extra jams to the Live Cream material. In fact the only thing missing is the material from the BBC sessions which was released years after this set. In all this set paints the most complete picture available of this seminal band. You get to see every side of the band, from their original “Hit Machine” intentions (yes Cream wanted to be a big POP band at the beginning) to the later jam-heavy, “Musician” focus. Most interestingly you get to see the musical development of the three musicians in the band, Jack Bruce, Eric Clapton and Ginger Baker. We see the maturation of JB’s songwriting, singing and bass playing skills. We get to listen to Clapton become a singer, we also get to hear his growth from blues traditionalist to 60’s shred and then his return to roots on the Goodbye Cream studio tracks. We get to hear Ginger Baker keep the beat in inventive and creative was, all the while helping create the genre of metal drumming (most of the early metal drummers like John Bonham and Bill Ward, were big Baker fans.) Lastly we get to hear the supplemental musicianship and production of Felix Pappalardi, one of the unsung heroes of 60s and 70s rock. Pappalardi produced, helped arrange, and played various instruments on all but the first Cream album. Topping it all off is a very comprehensive booklet that contains a very good history of the band as well as some of the most intense live shots I've ever seen of the band. In fact, if you are a Cream fan, this is a mandatory purchase; unless you already own 3 or more Cream CD, in that case I would suggest you purchase the individual CDs to round out your collection.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Characteristically, the Cream boxed set is a worthy purchase only for definite fans and/or those who collect such musical articles. The quality of the set as a whole relies entirely on one's opinion of the style and validity of the band. As such, for myself, I rank the set highly, though cannot afford it a five-star ranking for its lack of "archived" studio and live bonus material that surely must have existed at the time of its production (give us more than we can acquire by album purchases!) An unusual plus: the studio portion of the set is ordered chronologically by album and release date. This helps to preserve a musical continuity that the band must have intended and allows the listener to follow the experimental development of the trio. The reading within the book insert is interesting, the pictures more so.