Thou Shalt Kill
  • Alternative view 1 of Thou Shalt Kill
  • Alternative view 2 of Thou Shalt Kill

Thou Shalt Kill

3.9 8
by Daniel Blake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Now available in mass market, a new suspense novel featuring intrepid Detective Franco Patrese—ideal for fans of Greg Iles, Jeffery Deaver, and Lee Child.

Hardened Pittsburgh homicide detective, Franco Patrese, is a man who has lost his belief in humanity, and the latest serial killer stalking his town on a mission to kill according to the ten

Overview

Now available in mass market, a new suspense novel featuring intrepid Detective Franco Patrese—ideal for fans of Greg Iles, Jeffery Deaver, and Lee Child.

Hardened Pittsburgh homicide detective, Franco Patrese, is a man who has lost his belief in humanity, and the latest serial killer stalking his town on a mission to kill according to the ten commandments isn’t quite restoring his faith. Patrese knows that this kind of vigilante justice is the most dangerous kind, and he's prepared to go into some dark places mentally and physically to catch his killer. Partnered with old timer but experienced detective Mark Beradino, they discover the charred body of the first victime, Michael Redwine, a renowned brain surgeon, found in one of the city's most luxurious apartment blocks. Then Father Kohler, a Catholic bishop, is set alight in the confessional at his Cathedral. But they soon discover that these murders are just the first in a series of increasingly shocking and seemingly unconnected murders. Patrese's investigation uncovers high-class prostitution, medical scams and religious obsession, but what Patrese doesn't realize is how close to the case he really is, how connected they all are, and how it will take a terrible personal betrayal to uncover the truth.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
This sprawling, overlong first in a new suspense series from the pseudonymous Blake introduces Pittsburgh, Pa., homicide detective Franco Patrese and his partner, Mark Beradino. A series of what initially appear to be unrelated killings points initially to a young man of Arab descent, Mustafa Bayoumi, an undergrad at Pitt who's studying chemistry, though the possible perp list grows to include Beradino's wife and Franco himself. Dubbed the Human Torch by the press, the killer pours gasoline over his victims, then burns them alive. Like many a thriller villain these days, he's prone to quoting biblical scripture and sententious religious philosophizing. The plot wanders in too many directions, and when the surprise twist finally occurs, most readers will have already guessed the fiend's identity. (Apr.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781439197486
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
04/26/2011
Pages:
448
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Daniel Blake is the pseudonym of an acclaimed bestselling author. He was a reporter for England’s The Sun and The Daily Telegraph. He lives in London.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Thou Shalt Kill 3.9 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ladywolf425 More than 1 year ago
I can't wait for the next one! I'm not going to share the plot, only to say it was a wonderful, intoxicating read.
BookCore More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read in a long time. As with all detective stories, I was trying to figure out whodunit, and the author had me totally fooled. The biggest thing that kept me guessing was trying to figure out the motive for some of the murders. Turns out the perp is mentally ill. That's sort of a cop-out - mentally ill people will have motives that make no sense to anyone else. But wait! There's more! The perp was somebody who I thought it couldn't possibly be. I didn't really believe it was either of the red herrings, but I still didn't guess at the real identity of the perp. Good job, Daniel Blake.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The first homicide leaves noted brain surgeon Dr. Michael Redwine burned to a crisp. Pittsburgh Police Department homicide detectives Franco Patrese and Mark Beradino investigate the inferno murder by someone they assume is filled with rage against the renowned doctor. The next victim is Bishop Kohler in in the confessional at the Cathedral. Once again fire is the choice of the killer as the culprit pours gasoline on their living target and then ignites it. More killings occur that seem unrelated yet Patrese believes the same psychopath is on an avenging vendetta. The predator appears to Arab-American Mustafa Bayoumi, a Pittsburgh University student majoring in chemistry. The media calls this predator the Human Torch who refers to the Bible especially the Ten Commandments as the higher law of the land. While the two cops look into compulsive religious disorders and medical malpractices, both remain blind to the fact that those who must die include Patrese for interfering with the Lord's cleansing of the human soul. This entertaining serial killer police procedural is an enjoyable whodunit due more to jaded Patrese who scorns humanity as worthless and has doubts a God would create such a soulless loser of a species. The villain comes out of serial killer handbook 101 with taunting biblical references even with a neat late twist. Still fans will enjoy this solid murder mystery as Patrese struggles with a case that affirms his belief in mankind not deserving life. Harriet Klausner