Thou Shalt Kill

Thou Shalt Kill

3.9 8
by Daniel Blake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For fans of Greg Iles, Jeffery Deaver, and Lee Child comes a new suspense author featuring intrepid Detective Franco Patrese.

Pittsburgh homicide detective Franco Patrese is a man who has given up a lot to succeed in his career. After years on the force, he’s jaded, and the latest serial killer’s mission to kill according to the Bible andSee more details below

Overview

For fans of Greg Iles, Jeffery Deaver, and Lee Child comes a new suspense author featuring intrepid Detective Franco Patrese.

Pittsburgh homicide detective Franco Patrese is a man who has given up a lot to succeed in his career. After years on the force, he’s jaded, and the latest serial killer’s mission to kill according to the Bible and punish the sinful isn’t quite restoring his faith in humanity. Patrese knows that this kind of vigilante justice is the most dangerous kind—but he is prepared to face his darkest fears to stop the violence. Partnered with seasoned detective Mark Beradino, they discover the charred body of Michael Redwine, a renowned brain surgeon, found in one of the city’s most luxurious apartment blocks. Then Father Kohler, a Catholic bishop, is set alight in the confessional at his Cathedral. But this is only the beginning of a series of increasingly shocking murders. Patrese’s investigation exposes a string of scandals—high-class prostitution, medical scams, and religious obsession—but what Patrese doesn’t realize is how close to the case he really is…and how it will take a terrible betrayal to uncover the truth.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
This sprawling, overlong first in a new suspense series from the pseudonymous Blake introduces Pittsburgh, Pa., homicide detective Franco Patrese and his partner, Mark Beradino. A series of what initially appear to be unrelated killings points initially to a young man of Arab descent, Mustafa Bayoumi, an undergrad at Pitt who's studying chemistry, though the possible perp list grows to include Beradino's wife and Franco himself. Dubbed the Human Torch by the press, the killer pours gasoline over his victims, then burns them alive. Like many a thriller villain these days, he's prone to quoting biblical scripture and sententious religious philosophizing. The plot wanders in too many directions, and when the surprise twist finally occurs, most readers will have already guessed the fiend's identity. (Apr.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781439197646
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
04/26/2011
Sold by:
SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
1,117,550
File size:
7 MB

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >