×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Threads of Silk
     

Threads of Silk

5.0 1
by Amanda Roberts
 
When I was a child, I thought my destiny was to live and die on the banks of the Xiangjiang River as my family had done for generations. I never imagined that my life would lead me to the Forbidden City and the court of China's last Empress.

Born in the middle of nowhere, Yaqian, a little embroidery girl from Hunan Province, finds her way to the imperial

Overview

When I was a child, I thought my destiny was to live and die on the banks of the Xiangjiang River as my family had done for generations. I never imagined that my life would lead me to the Forbidden City and the court of China's last Empress.

Born in the middle of nowhere, Yaqian, a little embroidery girl from Hunan Province, finds her way to the imperial court, a place of intrigue, desire, and treachery. From the bed of an Emperor, the heart of a Prince, and the right side of an Empress, Yaqian weaves her way through the most turbulent decades of China's history and witnesses the fall of the Qing Dynasty.

Fans of Amy Tan, Lisa See, Anchee Min, and Pearl S. Buck are sure to love this debut novel by Amanda Roberts. This richly descriptive and painstakingly researched novel brings the opulence of the Qing Court to life as Yaqian and Empress Cixi's lives intertwine over six decades.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940157151393
Publisher:
Red Empress Publishing
Publication date:
09/20/2016
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
316,301
File size:
307 KB

Meet the Author

AMANDA ROBERTS is a writer, editor, and teacher who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. While in college she also studied Chinese language and history. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. She is the author of the Crazy Dumplings series of cookbooks and is a well-known blogger in China. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Threads of Silk 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
From it's beautiful cover and compelling title, this is a lovey book. It's a biographical historical about China's Empress Cixi. It was a time of immense change and cultural divisions as the Western world with its new world ways was creeping into China's culture. The tale is not directly about Empress Cixi; rather, it is told through the point of view of a very poor, but talented child whose embroidery skills drew the attention of the Emperor. Thus the child was brought to the Forbidden City where she grew to womanhood. Fraught with intrigue, espionage, and politics, Yaqian must maneuver through the danger to survive. And survive she does. Through wit and wisdom, honesty and loyalty, she earns the trust of the Empress. A lovely, well researched story regarding China's political history and the beautiful skill of making silk and the lush silk embroidery. Love, relationships, perseverence, and courage are all themes woven into a fabulous tale.