The Thunder Keeper (Wind River Reservation Series #7)

( 14 )

Overview

The apparent suicide of a young Arapaho on sacred ground shocks the populace of the Wind River Reservation. But strange events following the death lead Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley to suspect foul play.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback (Mass Market Paperback)
$7.19
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$7.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (59) from $1.99   
  • New (5) from $4.28   
  • Used (54) from $1.99   
The Thunder Keeper (Wind River Reservation Series #7)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

The apparent suicide of a young Arapaho on sacred ground shocks the populace of the Wind River Reservation. But strange events following the death lead Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley to suspect foul play.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
Convinced that a young Arapaho's suicide and a fatal hit-and-run accident are really murders, attorney Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley put their heads together to find out what's on the reservation that someone is willing to kill for...
Publishers Weekly
In her seventh mystery set among the Arapahos of Wyoming's Wind River Reservation featuring her twin sleuths, Father John O'Malley (on the rez) and Arapaho lawyer Vicky Holden (temporarily transplanted to Denver), Coel gets the atmosphere just right. Every physical detail of the "vision quest" that a desperate young man named Duncan Grover undertakes on a cliff above Bear Lake seems perfect, while the challenges of Vicky's new life as a high-profile attorney are equally sharp. But the actual story here is the problem: it seems to be made up of recycled plot elements from several other recent Western mysteries. Grover's murder, made to look like a suicide, and only uncovered when Father John hears the details in a confession; the heavy-breathing corporate villains seeking to exploit the Native Americans and plunder their riches (not oil or gold this time, but diamonds); the insensitive white cops who just don't get it surely we've covered this ground before. Too bad, because when Coel writes about Father John's tricky relationship with Vicky (echoed in a lawsuit filed by a frustrated woman against his new assistant), or Vicky's edgy moments with the husband and children she left behind, she is on original and interesting ground. The author's previous books have been justly praised by the likes of Tony Hillerman, but an overly familiar plot this time out could lead to bad word-of-mouth and a falling off in sales. (Sept. 4) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780425185780
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 8/28/2002
  • Series: Wind River Reservation Series , #7
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 191,090
  • Product dimensions: 4.34 (w) x 6.78 (h) x 0.69 (d)

Meet the Author

Margaret Coel

Margaret Coel is the New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of The Thunder Keeper, The Spirit Woman, The Lost Bird, The Story Teller, The Dream Stalker, The Ghost Walker, The Eagle Catcher, and several works of nonfiction. She has also authored many articles on the people and places of the American West. Her work has won national and regional awards. Her first John O'Malley mystery, The Eagle Catcher, was a national bestseller, garnering excellent reviews from the Denver Post, Tony Hillerman, Jean Hager, Loren D. Estleman, Stephen White, Earlene Fowler, Ann Ripley and other top writers in the field. A native of Colorado, she resides in Boulder.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fast paced keeper

    Vicky Holden loves the land of the Arapahos, the Wind River Reservation in central Wyoming, but she still leaves her home to take a job in Denver. The attorney needs to get away from the Jesuit priest Father O¿Malley because they both have feelings for one other that are inappropriate. She also has to get away from her ex-husband, who wants to reconcile, but he keeps falling off the wagon and he is a mean drunk. In Denver, Vicky currently works on a mineral rights case on behalf of the Navaho Nation. However, she receives a call from Vince Lewis, a vice president of Balder Industries, famous for their diamond minding operations. He tells her that he has information she needs to know involving the Wind River Reservation, but before they meet a hit and run driver kills Vince. <P>Back on the reservation, Father John hears the confession of a man who says his partner killed a man in a place sacred to the Arapaho. The police rule the man¿s death a suicide but Father John knows somebody killed him and there will be more deaths if the person isn¿t stopped. Vicky and Father John are coming at the same problem from different angles, both of them putting their lives in jeopardy. <P> Fans of Aimee and David Thurlo and Tony Hillerman will definitely enjoy this fast paced mystery starring two likable, believable and colorful protagonists. The heroine is a role model for women everywhere and the hero not only understands the underlying concepts of justice, he abides by them in his life. THE THUNDER KEEPER by Margaret Coel is a definite keeper. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    ThunderClan Territory

    ThunderClan territory only. No cat from Wind, River, and ShadowClan can cross or else they will be tresspassing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Tealkit

    Whisperes the words and i heal instantly. Tealkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Sienna

    I gtg glare luv u bye!!! Sienna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Tae

    I am a zon of zeus and i will litterally electrihute you with 8,000,000 volts of electricity glare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Mistyclaw

    Im in camp. READ MY POST THERE...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Sunnystrike To to wc

    Nobodys teeth are sharper than mine because Im a vampire

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Blaze

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Night

    Raveneing. Nite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Tornadoclaw

    "Who needs to be healed?!" He says, a little louer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Lightningpaw

    Who wants to fight? #L

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Mistystar

    I have to go now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Excellent

    Another excellent read about Wind River. Fast paced and keeps you guessig.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)