TimeRiders: The Doomsday Code

TimeRiders: The Doomsday Code

4.3 9
by Alex Scarrow
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

When a British computer hacker finds his name coded into a centuries-old manuscript, TimeRider Maddy recognizes it as the same message she had also been sent. Sure it must be communication from other TimeRiders agents, she sends Liam and the two support units back to Robin Hood’s time to search for the fabled document—which might be the Holy Grail. But

See more details below

Overview

When a British computer hacker finds his name coded into a centuries-old manuscript, TimeRider Maddy recognizes it as the same message she had also been sent. Sure it must be communication from other TimeRiders agents, she sends Liam and the two support units back to Robin Hood’s time to search for the fabled document—which might be the Holy Grail. But as a war begins to brew between King Richard and his brother John, Liam unwittingly takes on the role of the Sheriff of Nottingham and discovers that the mythical Robin Hood may have been another support unit all along. This action-packed reimagining of the Robin Hood legend weaves elements of religion, alternative history, and time-travel ethics perfect for fans of The DaVinci Code, into a page-turner old and new fans alike won’t want to miss.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Magi Evans
In England in 1994, Adam Lewis translates and publishes one line of a previously undecipherable document. In 2001 New York, a time wave occurs, and Maddy, Liam, and Sal must take action to correct the change in history caused by Adam's translation. The three young people are Time Riders, monitoring history and going back in time to fix whatever changed it. In this third volume of the "Time Riders" series, Liam takes their two biosupport units, Bob and Becks, to England in the time of the Crusades. The document Adam translated has ties to the Holy Grail, a parchment supposedly discovered by Richard the Lionheart during the Crusades, and subsequently brought to England. Liam, Bob and Becks arrive in Nottingham just after the Grail was stolen by a seemingly indestructible man known as The Hood, a member of a band of bandits led by James Locke. Nottingham is in turmoil, and it appears that a peasant revolt is what will cause the change in the historical timeline. Liam takes over as sheriff in order to prevent the rebellion, while searching for the Grail in order to save the life of King Richard's brother, John, who is destined to become King after Richard's death. Liam discovers that Locke and the Hood are also time travelers, who want to use the Grail to change their own timeline, when Earth will be ruined by climate change. Kidnappings, swashbuckling sword fights, and castle sieges entertain, but readers also get an interesting history lesson. The Time Riders display just the right amount of bravery and insecurity over the awesome responsibility of determining which actions will fix the timeline or make it worse, a conundrum that fans of time travel stories have enjoyed since H. G. Wells. This is a worthy addition to the genre. Reviewer: Magi Evans
BCCB on TimeRiders

This is a brilliantly paced, fascinating look at the ways in which one seemingly small change can ripple out to-literally-the end of the world.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780802733849
Publisher:
Walker & Company
Publication date:
10/16/2012
Series:
TimeRiders Series
Pages:
432
Sales rank:
458,395
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.40(d)
Lexile:
800L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

ALEX SCARROW has been a rock guitarist, a graphic artist, and a computer games designer. He is the author of several adult thrillers, including Last Light and A Thousand Suns. The TimeRiders series is his first for young adults. He lives in England with his wife and son. www.timeridersbooks.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >