TimeRiders: The Doomsday Code

( 9 )

Overview

When a British computer hacker finds his name coded into a centuries-old manuscript, TimeRider Maddy recognizes it as the same message she had also been sent. Sure it must be communication from other TimeRiders agents, she sends Liam and the two support units back to Robin Hood’s time to search for the fabled document—which might be the Holy Grail. But as a war begins to brew between King Richard and his brother John, Liam unwittingly takes on the role of the Sheriff of Nottingham and discovers that the mythical ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$12.67
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (14) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $9.54   
  • Used (7) from $1.99   
TimeRiders: The Doomsday Code

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$13.99 List Price
Note: Visit our Teens Store.

Overview

When a British computer hacker finds his name coded into a centuries-old manuscript, TimeRider Maddy recognizes it as the same message she had also been sent. Sure it must be communication from other TimeRiders agents, she sends Liam and the two support units back to Robin Hood’s time to search for the fabled document—which might be the Holy Grail. But as a war begins to brew between King Richard and his brother John, Liam unwittingly takes on the role of the Sheriff of Nottingham and discovers that the mythical Robin Hood may have been another support unit all along. This action-packed reimagining of the Robin Hood legend weaves elements of religion, alternative history, and time-travel ethics perfect for fans of The DaVinci Code, into a page-turner old and new fans alike won’t want to miss.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Magi Evans
In England in 1994, Adam Lewis translates and publishes one line of a previously undecipherable document. In 2001 New York, a time wave occurs, and Maddy, Liam, and Sal must take action to correct the change in history caused by Adam's translation. The three young people are Time Riders, monitoring history and going back in time to fix whatever changed it. In this third volume of the "Time Riders" series, Liam takes their two biosupport units, Bob and Becks, to England in the time of the Crusades. The document Adam translated has ties to the Holy Grail, a parchment supposedly discovered by Richard the Lionheart during the Crusades, and subsequently brought to England. Liam, Bob and Becks arrive in Nottingham just after the Grail was stolen by a seemingly indestructible man known as The Hood, a member of a band of bandits led by James Locke. Nottingham is in turmoil, and it appears that a peasant revolt is what will cause the change in the historical timeline. Liam takes over as sheriff in order to prevent the rebellion, while searching for the Grail in order to save the life of King Richard's brother, John, who is destined to become King after Richard's death. Liam discovers that Locke and the Hood are also time travelers, who want to use the Grail to change their own timeline, when Earth will be ruined by climate change. Kidnappings, swashbuckling sword fights, and castle sieges entertain, but readers also get an interesting history lesson. The Time Riders display just the right amount of bravery and insecurity over the awesome responsibility of determining which actions will fix the timeline or make it worse, a conundrum that fans of time travel stories have enjoyed since H. G. Wells. This is a worthy addition to the genre. Reviewer: Magi Evans
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780802733849
  • Publisher: Walker & Company
  • Publication date: 10/16/2012
  • Series: TimeRiders Series
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 432
  • Sales rank: 319,058
  • Age range: 12 - 17 Years
  • Lexile: 800L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 1.40 (d)

Meet the Author

ALEX SCARROW has been a rock guitarist, a graphic artist, and a computer games designer. He is the author of several adult thrillers, including Last Light and A Thousand Suns. The TimeRiders series is his first for young adults. He lives in England with his wife and son. www.timeridersbooks.com

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good read

    Historically accurate, but the author still keeps it interesting, fresh and you on the edge of your seat until the end and leaves you craving more. Thought provoking and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    Wow. The first two books were awesome, but this third book is th

    Wow. The first two books were awesome, but this third book is the best so far. I have tremendous respect for any author who can continue to build and define a series in such a way that every "next" book is worth the wait. Not only do I enjoy this series, but both of my sons--one 11 and one 16--love it as well. Again, kudos to Alex Scarrow who crosses target audiences with ease. Excellent series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Great book!!!

    Alex scarrow keeps writing great. Hope the series continues!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Agreed

    That is weird

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)