Title Wave (Booktown Series #10)

Title Wave (Booktown Series #10)

4.4 7
by Lorna Barrett
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Tricia and Angelica leave Booktown behind for a pleasure cruise, but they’re going to need their life jackets because a murderer has also booked passage—in Lorna Barrett’s New York Times bestselling series.
 
While her bookstore, Haven’t Got a Clue, is rebuilt following a devastating fire, Tricia Miles and

Overview

Tricia and Angelica leave Booktown behind for a pleasure cruise, but they’re going to need their life jackets because a murderer has also booked passage—in Lorna Barrett’s New York Times bestselling series.
 
While her bookstore, Haven’t Got a Clue, is rebuilt following a devastating fire, Tricia Miles and her sister, Angelica, decide to book a cruise for some much needed R&R. Naturally they choose a Mystery Lovers cruise, where they can ponder whodunnit in deck chairs while sipping colorful drinks and soaking up some rays.
 
But the fun is cut short when a fellow passenger is murdered for real. Is the killer a famous mystery author, one of his fans, or a member of the ship’s crew? As Tricia tries to find the killer before they reach port, she may be cruising for a bruising...

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
08/29/2016
In Barrett's diverting 10th Booktown mystery (after 2015's A Fatal Chapter), bookstore owner Tricia Miles and her sister, Angelica, a cafe owner, treat themselves to an authors' cruise on an Irish ocean liner. Tricia is known in her hometown of Stoneham, N.H., as the village jinx because she stumbles across bodies with alarming regularity, and she can't escape her reputation when she finds famous author E.M. Barstow dead in her stateroom. The ship's security officer seems more interested in protecting the cruise line's reputation than investigating Barstow's suspicious death. Barstow has made enemies of almost everyone in the publishing world over the years, and Tricia fears that she and Angelica are traveling with a boatload of potential murderers. Barrett is more concerned with creating relatable characters and realistic interactions among Tricia and her family and friends than in plotting a credible murder, but series fans will enjoy how Tricia and Angelica's relationship has grown and deepened. Those who enjoy the mysteries of Carolyn Hart will find a lot to like. Agent: Jessica Faust, BookEnds. (June)
From the Publisher
Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries

"Diverting entertainment…an engaging story line, an intrepid heroine…good for lovers of intrigue."-Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Entertaining, highly enjoyable…Lorna Barrett never fails to offer a suspenseful cozy mystery." -Cozy Mystery Book Review

"Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!...This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler."
Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days

"A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine...delightful...everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!"-Leann Sweeney, national bestselling author of The Cat, the Vagabond, and the Victim

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425282700
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/14/2016
Series:
Booktown Series , #10
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
24,529
Product dimensions:
6.40(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)

Meet the Author

LORNA BARRETT is the New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries, including A Fatal Chapter and Book Clubbed.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Title Wave 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
BookloverUT 4 months ago
While her bookstore, Haven’t Got a Clue, is rebuilt following a devastating fire, Tricia Miles and her sister, Angelica, take a Mystery Lovers cruise. All Tricia wants to do is read whodunits and spend some quality time with her sister. But the fun ends when Tricia finds an author dead. Who is the killer? Can Tricia find out before they reach port? This story was a welcome departure from the usual books in this series. Lorna Barrett took the most endearing characters from the series and placed them on a ship where no one and nothing is as it seems. It reminded me of a locked room mystery where you have a set number of characters that can’t escape, and a detective/sleuth trying to figure out who the culprit is before the door is opened. The best part of this story was when Angelica and Tricia went to meet with their parents. Even though it was a tough encounter, it was a healing moment for Tricia. I learned more about Tricia’s character in that moment than the entire book as a whole. What bothered me about this story was the indifference of the security officer. I hope cruise lines are not that scared to identify a crime correctly. I would recommend this story to anyone who is interested in cozy mysteries.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Linda-D 8 months ago
It's winter and Tricia and Angelica are on a cruise sponsored by the town's Chamber of Commerce. It is an important get-away for Tricia, who has had a lot on her mind with her ex-husband murdered and the fire at her store. I really liked how Lorna Barrett still kept enough ties for fans of the Booktown Mysteries. I think the cruise was a nice change of pace for the series. Even though the location was different, you had plenty of the same characters and a few new ones. And of course, someone is murdered! Tricia may be considered the village jinx but she's an excellent sleuth. I felt that this book also gave an interesting angle into Tricia's personality. This book gives us a little more insight to her character. The character murdered was a famous mystery writer. She was a rather unlikable character, with many people that would have reason to kill her. I felt that there were lots of twists that kept me guessing. This book is a great addition to the series and I really enjoyed the read!
LisaKsBooksReviews 9 months ago
Another wonderful installment to the bestselling Booktown Mysteries! I was a bit hesitant when I first started reading TITLE WAVE. I don’t normally care for books that take the main character away from their hometown. I needn’t have worried. Author Lorna Barrett transitioned her protagonist and friends perfectly. The cruise ship themed story made for a marvelous whodunit! A tale of murder on the high seas, TITLE WAVE was a fast moving thrill ride. Chapter after chapter this story was filled with enough twists and turns to capsize a ship. With more suspects then a few, I kept second guessing myself on the killer’s identity. When the reveal came, I was taken by surprise, and even more so at how that scene ended! Booktown Mystery fans, and new readers alike are going to be thrilled with TITLE WAVE! Make sure not to miss the tasty recipes at the back of the book!
Kuzlin 9 months ago
Tricia and her sister, Angelica, are off on a much needed vacation, courtesy of a Mystery Cruise sponsored through their town's Chamber of Commerce. Several other town members have also joined them on the cruise, including Antonio and his new family, and Mr. Everett and Grace. It has been a tough year for Tricia but she is looking forward to this cruise. Unfortunately, she once again stumbles over the dead body of one of the mystery authors, and while the authorities seem to be leaning toward suicide, Tricia is not so sure. I enjoy this series and the developing relationship between Tricia and her family and friends. In this story, the mystery takes a slight back step to Tricia's own journey of self-discovery as she thinks more about what her sister means to her, how she relates to her friends, her mother and father, and more importantly, takes a good look at her own internal struggles with relationships, food and family. The final resolution for the murder was just icing on the cake in this story. I look forward to the next book in this series. Disclosure: I received an advance copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Kuzlin 9 months ago
Tricia and her sister, Angelica, are off on a much needed vacation, courtesy of a Mystery Cruise sponsored through their town's Chamber of Commerce. Several other town members have also joined them on the cruise, including Antonio and his new family, and Mr. Everett and Grace. It has been a tough year for Tricia but she is looking forward to this cruise. Unfortunately, she once again stumbles over the dead body of one of the mystery authors, and while the authorities seem to be leaning toward suicide, Tricia is not so sure. I enjoy this series and the developing relationship between Tricia and her family and friends. In this story, the mystery takes a slight back step to Tricia's own journey of self-discovery as she thinks more about what her sister means to her, how she relates to her friends, her mother and father, and more importantly, takes a good look at her own internal struggles with relationships, food and family. The final resolution for the murder was just icing on the cake in this story. I look forward to the next book in this series. Disclosure: I received an advance copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
CozyMysteryLover1 9 months ago
I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my fair and honest review. All thoughts are my own. I really love this series. I have read all of the books over and over again and always anxiously await the next in the series. Tricia and Angelica are great characters and the author has brought them to life with her incredible style of writing. In this particular story, the sisters are on a Mystery Lovers cruise with their extended family and friends. While Angelica is busy looking for ideas for her next cook book, Tricia is looking forward to catching up on some reading while enjoying the peace and quiet. Anyone who is familiar with this series knows that peace and quiet just won't happen. I cannot wait to read more in this wonderful cozy mystery series! I will be recommending this book to other cozy mystery lovers!