To Burgundy and Back Again: A Tale of Wine, France, and Brotherhood

To Burgundy and Back Again: A Tale of Wine, France, and Brotherhood

3.0 4
by Roy Cloud
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Roy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged trip to France to persuade small-scale winemakers that he should represent their interests in the growing U.S. import

Overview

Roy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged trip to France to persuade small-scale winemakers that he should represent their interests in the growing U.S. import market. While Roy’s palate would be challenged in finding the hidden gems of the Loire and Burgundy, his real dilemma was this: He didn’t speak a word of French. Enter Joe, Roy’s older brother. Different from Roy in every respect, Joe had studied in France and was fluent in the language—and, most importantly, he was free to join Roy in his search. It was simple: Roy would do the tasting, and Joe would do the talking. What could go wrong? In To Burgundy and Back Again, Roy presents a richly evocative account of their journey—one replete with discovery, adventure, and poignant surprises. Written in the tradition of A Year in Provence and Sideways, this elegantly penned book will delight wine lovers and armchair travelers alike.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Savvy oenophiles may recognize the author as the proprietor of Vintage '59, a local wine import shop specializing in the best of the French vignerons. This charming chronicle of his first foray to France as a buyer for a newly launched import business finds an eager and trepidatious Cloud with a few tricks up his sleeve: an excellent palate and sound connections, thanks to his time employed at MacArthur Liquors and his older brother, Joe, who was living in France. Did we mention that Roy didn't speak any French? That's just one of the challenges in store for those willing to follow the Cloud brothers around the French countryside over 12 days that would forever alter their lives." —Christoper Schoppa, The Washington Post "Geography, history and viticulture lessons abound in this buoyant tale of brotherhood and Bordeaux. With New World vigor, debut author Cloud invites the reader into the intimate spaces of wine importing with one of the oldest schools in the book—the vignerons of France. . . . The book is rich in detail, knowledge and even a bit of wisdom, which . . . leaves the reader . . . craving another taste, but thrilled at the fortune of experiencing such a wonderful ride."—Kirkus Reviews "Cloud's account clips along with ease, including passages of lush, expressive language that shapes the idyllic beauty of the French countryside as well as the unending potential of a fine wine. Readers will relish his experience, and those who love wine will ache to tour the country themselves or, at the least, wander down the French wine aisle to unearth a great bottle of their own."—Booklist "the antidote to Sideways . . . Roy Cloud's gentle, heart-warming account of his French wine initiation is deliciously readable and full of insights." —Andrew Jefford, author of The New France
Kirkus Reviews

Geography, history and viticulture lessons abound in this buoyant tale of brotherhood and Bordeaux.

With New World vigor, debut author Cloud invites the reader into the intimate spaces of wine importing with one of the oldest schools in the book—thevigneronsof France. Late in the fall of 1997, the inexperienced Cloud was entrusted with the task of generating a portfolio for a brand-new-wine importing company. With little more than a bad French accent, Cloud invited his brother along to act as translator, adventurer-in-arms and sometimes savior on his maiden voyage to Burgundy. What ensues is both heartfelt and passionate—"Wine is always life." Readers join the adventure in the brothers' shiny new Renault, barreling across the ancient French countryside that reveals "a rural way of life that had seemingly changed little since the days of Joan of Arc." With haunting clarity, readers are invited to taste the "pungent grapefruit" of Sauvignon Blanc in Sancerre and the "delicious silkiness...[that] lingered indelibly" from the Volnay Fremiets of Jean-Pierre Charlot. The book is rich in detail, knowledge and even a bit of wisdom, which, upon conclusion, leaves the reader with the same resignation they might have at the finish of an amazing 1982 Bordeaux—craving another taste, but thrilled at the fortune of experiencing such a wonderful ride.

A deliciously grand romp for any oenophile.

Christopher Schoppa
…[a] charming chronicle of [Cloud's] first foray to France as a buyer for a newly launched import business…
—The Washington Post

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780762764556
Publisher:
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date:
06/01/2011
Pages:
224
Sales rank:
912,478
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author

Roy Cloud runs Vintage '59, an import company based in Washington, D.C., that specializes in artisanal French wines. He holds an MA in writing from New York University.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

To Burgundy and Back Again: A Tale of Wine, France, and Brotherhood 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh. “Sweetkit” must not be on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He is currently not on i guess
Anonymous More than 1 year ago