To Burgundy and Back Again: A Tale of Wine, France, and Brotherhood

( 4 )

Overview

"An engaging memoir."—Gerald Asher, author of Vineyard Tales and former wine columnist for Gourmet magazine How one man's wine-tasting tour of France became a story of discovery, adventure, and brotherhoodRoy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged trip to France to persuade small-scale winemaking farms that he should represent their interests ...
See more details below
Paperback
$15.25
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$16.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (28) from $1.99   
  • New (14) from $3.35   
  • Used (14) from $1.99   
To Burgundy and Back Again: A Tale of Wine, France, and Brotherhood

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
(Save 26%)$13.50 List Price

Overview

"An engaging memoir."—Gerald Asher, author of Vineyard Tales and former wine columnist for Gourmet magazine How one man's wine-tasting tour of France became a story of discovery, adventure, and brotherhoodRoy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged trip to France to persuade small-scale winemaking farms that he should represent their interests in the growing U.S. import market. While Roy's palate would be challenged in finding the hidden gems of the Loire Valley and Burgundy, his real dilemma was this: He didn't speak a word of French. Enter Joe, Roy's older brother. Different from Roy in every respect, Joe had studied in France and was fluent in the language—and, most importantly, he was free to join Roy in his search. It was simple: Roy would do the tasting, and Joe would do the talking. What could go wrong? In To Burgundy and Back Again, Roy presents a richly evocative account of their journey—one replete with discovery, adventure, and poignant surprises. Written in the tradition of A Year in Provence and Sideways, this elegantly penned book will delight wine lovers and armchair travelers alike.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Savvy oenophiles may recognize the author as the proprietor of Vintage '59, a local wine import shop specializing in the best of the French vignerons. This charming chronicle of his first foray to France as a buyer for a newly launched import business finds an eager and trepidatious Cloud with a few tricks up his sleeve: an excellent palate and sound connections, thanks to his time employed at MacArthur Liquors and his older brother, Joe, who was living in France. Did we mention that Roy didn't speak any French? That's just one of the challenges in store for those willing to follow the Cloud brothers around the French countryside over 12 days that would forever alter their lives." --Christoper Schoppa, The Washington Post "Geography, history and viticulture lessons abound in this buoyant tale of brotherhood and Bordeaux. With New World vigor, debut author Cloud invites the reader into the intimate spaces of wine importing with one of the oldest schools in the book—the vignerons of France. . . . The book is rich in detail, knowledge and even a bit of wisdom, which . . . leaves the reader . . . craving another taste, but thrilled at the fortune of experiencing such a wonderful ride."—Kirkus Reviews "Cloud's account clips along with ease, including passages of lush, expressive language that shapes the idyllic beauty of the French countryside as well as the unending potential of a fine wine. Readers will relish his experience, and those who love wine will ache to tour the country themselves or, at the least, wander down the French wine aisle to unearth a great bottle of their own."—Booklist "the antidote to Sideways . . . Roy Cloud's gentle, heart-warming account of his French wine initiation is deliciously readable and full of insights." --Andrew Jefford, author of The New France
Kirkus Reviews

Geography, history and viticulture lessons abound in this buoyant tale of brotherhood and Bordeaux.

With New World vigor, debut author Cloud invites the reader into the intimate spaces of wine importing with one of the oldest schools in the book—thevigneronsof France. Late in the fall of 1997, the inexperienced Cloud was entrusted with the task of generating a portfolio for a brand-new-wine importing company. With little more than a bad French accent, Cloud invited his brother along to act as translator, adventurer-in-arms and sometimes savior on his maiden voyage to Burgundy. What ensues is both heartfelt and passionate—"Wine is always life." Readers join the adventure in the brothers' shiny new Renault, barreling across the ancient French countryside that reveals "a rural way of life that had seemingly changed little since the days of Joan of Arc." With haunting clarity, readers are invited to taste the "pungent grapefruit" of Sauvignon Blanc in Sancerre and the "delicious silkiness...[that] lingered indelibly" from the Volnay Fremiets of Jean-Pierre Charlot. The book is rich in detail, knowledge and even a bit of wisdom, which, upon conclusion, leaves the reader with the same resignation they might have at the finish of an amazing 1982 Bordeaux—craving another taste, but thrilled at the fortune of experiencing such a wonderful ride.

A deliciously grand romp for any oenophile.

Christopher Schoppa
…[a] charming chronicle of [Cloud's] first foray to France as a buyer for a newly launched import business…
—The Washington Post
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780762764556
  • Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
  • Publication date: 6/1/2011
  • Pages: 224
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Roy Cloud runs Vintage '59, an import company based in Washington, D.C., that specializes in artisanal French wines. He holds an MA in writing from New York University.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Providence 1

Chapter 2 Sancerre 12

Chapter 3 Avallon 37

Chapter 4 Burgundy 47

Chapter 5 Fire Barrels 55

Chapter 6 Godspeed 71

Chapter 7 Volnay 96

Chapter 8 The Bear 119

Chapter 9 Leprechauns 151

Chapter 10 Chemical Changes 158

Chapter 11 Beaujolais 173

Chapter 12 Sublime Prospects 178

Chapter 13 Provence 185

Epilogue 211

Acknowledgments 216

About the Author 217

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Sweetkit

    Im on. Who are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Tigershawdow

    Oh. “Sweetkit” must not be on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Lostkit

    He is currently not on i guess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)