To Love and to Cherish (Bliss Creek Amish Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of To Love and to Cherish (Bliss Creek Amish Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of To Love and to Cherish (Bliss Creek Amish Series #1)

To Love and to Cherish (Bliss Creek Amish Series #1)

4.6 9
by Kelly Irvin

See All Formats & Editions

In author Kelly Irvin's first installment in the Bliss Creek Amish series, readers will find a charming, romantic story of how God works even in the darkest moments.
It's been four years since Carl left. Four years since he left the safety of the small Amish community for the Englisch world. And in four years, Emma's heart has only begun to heal.
Now, with the


In author Kelly Irvin's first installment in the Bliss Creek Amish series, readers will find a charming, romantic story of how God works even in the darkest moments.
It's been four years since Carl left. Four years since he left the safety of the small Amish community for the Englisch world. And in four years, Emma's heart has only begun to heal.
Now, with the unexpected death of her parents, Emma is plunged back into a world of despair and confusion. It's a confusion only compounded by Carl's return. She's supposed to be in love with why can't she keep her mind off Thomas, the strong, quiet widower who always seems to be underfoot? Could the man she only knew as a friend be the one to help her to heal?
In a world that seems to be changing no matter how tightly she clings to the past, this one woman must see beyond her pain and open her heart to trust once again.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
It has been a difficult four years for Emma Shirack since Carl, the man she thought she would marry, left his Amish faith. Having just begun to heal, Emma is further shaken when her parents are killed in a tragic accident. Although her older brother offers to care for their younger twin siblings, Emma doesn't see eye-to-eye with her sister-in-law over their rearing. Enter Thomas, a widower with two small children. Emma begins to develop romantic feelings for Thomas that become even more complicated when Carl returns home. VERDICT Irvin succcessfully moves from romantic Christian suspense (A Deadly Wilderness; No Child of Mine) to Amish romance with this series debut. Her sympathetically drawn, three-dimensional characters struggle with real-life dilemmas and are certain to appeal to fans of Wanda E. Brunstetter and Marta Perry.

Product Details

Harvest House Publishers
Publication date:
Bliss Creek Amish Series , #1
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)


Meet the Author

Kelly Irvin is a Kansas native and has been writing professionally for 30 years. She and her husband, Tim, make their home in Texas. They have two children, three cats, and a tankful of fish. A public relations professional, Kelly is also the author of two romantic suspense novels and writes short stories in her spare time. To learn more about her work, visit

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Love and to Cherish 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
LovenGod More than 1 year ago
Wow!! I have never read a book that has so much happening in it. Buggy accident, tornado, barn raising, rebellious son coming home, and leaving,a nervous breakdown, a missing child in a snowstorm and that is not even a drop in the bucket. This book has lots of action. An Amish Action Adventure book, truly at time it was a bit overwhelming however, Kelly Irvin does an awesome job of keeping everything straight and tying the story together. This was a great story of learning that just as everyone does, the main female character in this story (Emma) struggles with forgiving and has for years. It began with her intended, leaving the faith, he had already been baptised, so he was not in rumspringa, but left to see what was out in the world. Emma struggles for four years to forgive Carl, but it is harder than she thought, and friends marrying and having babies makes the wound open up over and over. The death of her parents, even adds to the burden of forgiveness. How will she forgive the driver of the truck that struck their buggy, and how will she forgive God for taking her parents away? A great story that you have to read!! I loved the book and look forward to reading more books from Kelly Irvin. A 4 star rating is what I give this book! This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Kept my interest. Hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't think I have ever read a book that got me caught up in the story line on the third paragraph. I had a hard time putting it down. Jean
Iris2 More than 1 year ago
“To Love and to Cherish” by Kelly Irvin is so well written that when you start to read you just can’t put it down. How the family finds the strength and faith to survive the tragedy of their parents being killed. . The love and struggle they face to keep the dynamic of the family together. She brings all her characters to life, you feel their pain, love and faith through out thestory..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GingerS219 More than 1 year ago
Kelly Irvin transports us to Amish country to take a peek into the lives of one family whose world is rocked by tragedy. We see Emma as she struggles to do what's right, and discovers that she has feelings for two men. We see her discover just who she is and who she is meant to be. I enjoyed To Love and to Cherish. What I learned: sometimes what seems obvious and natural is not always the best way; and love is expressed in many different forms.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When the mudder and daed died i cryed and i loved it how te big brother luke was there , oh and how thomas loved emma it was a woder full book she did a awsome job there was so much action u never ot bored, when i even read the sample i was hoked but i gues thats what there apost to do - and poor emma she thought she couldnt get hurt eny worse am glad she ended up with thomas!
weatherlover1 More than 1 year ago
Emma’s life is changed forever that day as she was walking with her younger sisters to the produce stand. Her parents where killed in a buggy accident. Her brother forgave the driver at the scene but Emma could not in her heart say it as well. Now her older brother Luke is the head of the family and he and his wife Leah who Emma does not get along with the best move into the family home so they can keep the farm running. To top it off they are worried about there younger brother who does not want to be Amish. While Emma is dealing with her parents funeral her old boyfriend who left the church returns and wants a second chance and she also finds out that the family’s neighbor and good friend Thomas has been secretly wanting to court her. Emma must deal with all of this while she struggles to understand why God took her parents. Will Emma be able to forgive like God asks her to do or will it be to much? Can she find true love and a family that she wants so much? I admit when I saw what this book was about I was afraid I might not like it but I was wrong I LOVED it. What I liked: This book was so well written. Yes the baseline of this story is heartbreaking with the opening few pages dealing with the sudden and very tragic death of Emma’s parents. But this story is about forgiveness and family. Emma came across so real to me. She struggles with forgiving the man who kills her parents as well as Carl her old boyfriend who returns to try and win her back. I was cheering for Emma to make the right choices. The author did a wonderful job of expressing the characters feelings in this book even Emma’s sisters and brothers. The romance part of the story was really good as well. I really liked Thomas but with Carl in the picture I found myself biting my nails hoping Emma would chose the right man. What I did not like: I wished we could have had a chapter or two from Emma’s brother’s point of view. I could almost feel the weight of his responsibilities that he was caring as he worried about his family. Leah was another one who comes across so mean but really she has her own story to tell and I would have liked to know her a little better. Other then that this book was such a great story. I am very excited that this book is the first in a new series I can’t wait to read more about this family. It’s not often I read two 5 star books in a row but what a treat! I HIGHLY recommend this book! A must read in my option if you love Amish Fiction.