Too Big to Ignore: The Business Case for Big Data

Overview

Praise for Too Big to Ignore

"As more and more entrepreneurs, investors, and customers talk about Big Data, it gets harder and harder to understand what the phrase actually means. Phil Simon does a great job defining it and making a clear business case for the ideas that are typically incorporated into the phrase 'Big Data.' Ignore this book at your own peril."
Brad Feld, Managing Director, Foundry Group; author of Startup Communities: Building an Entrepreneurial Ecosystem in ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$34.43
BN.com price
(Save 31%)$50.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (16) from $28.23   
  • New (13) from $28.23   
  • Used (3) from $34.27   

Overview

Praise for Too Big to Ignore

"As more and more entrepreneurs, investors, and customers talk about Big Data, it gets harder and harder to understand what the phrase actually means. Phil Simon does a great job defining it and making a clear business case for the ideas that are typically incorporated into the phrase 'Big Data.' Ignore this book at your own peril."
Brad Feld, Managing Director, Foundry Group; author of Startup Communities: Building an Entrepreneurial Ecosystem in Your City

"Simon's book provides a very valuable primer to the increasingly important world of Big Data—what it is, what it isn't, and how it is being used and potentially abused. Anyone wishing to get up to speed quickly on the big ideas and big players behind Big Data will benefit greatly from reading this practical, down-to-earth book."
Robert Charette, President, ITABHI Corporation

"In Too Big to Ignore, Phil Simon takes the mystique out of Big Data. He weaves the human, technical, and organizational requirements for success into an accessible book for all of us."
Professor Terri L. Griffith, PhD, author of The Plugged-In Manager

"In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Chris Anderson, Simon takes a complex topic and makes you think about it differently through real-world storytelling that resonates."
Jay Baer, coauthor of The Now Revolution: 7 Shifts to Make Your Business Faster, Smarter, and More Social

"Phil Simon gets that business executives are no longer content with roll-up reports and summarized spreadsheets—they want detailed, consumable information in order to make fact-based decisions about their companies and customers. Too Big to Ignore provides a comprehensive overview of the Big Data trend, detailing the new components of Big Data."
Jill Dyché, Vice President of SAS Best Practices, author of The CRM Handbook

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781118638170
  • Publisher: Wiley
  • Publication date: 3/18/2013
  • Series: Wiley and SAS Business Series , #72
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 698,677
  • Product dimensions: 6.20 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Phil Simon

PHIL SIMON is a sought-after keynote speaker and the author of five management books, including the award-winning The Age of the Platform. A recognized technology expert, he consults with companies on how to optimize their use of technology. His contributions have been featured on NBC, CNBC, ABC News, Inc. magazine, BusinessWeek, the Huffington Post, the Globe and Mail, Fast Company, Forbes, the New York Times, ReadWriteWeb, and many other sites. He holds degrees from Carnegie Mellon University and Cornell University. His website is www.philsimon.com and his Twitter handle is @philsimon.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

List of Tables and Figures xv

Preface xvii

Acknowledgments xxiii

Introduction This Ain't Your Father's Data 1

Better Car Insurance through Data 2

Potholes and General Road Hazards 5

Recruiting and Retention 8

How Big is Big? The Size of Big Data 10

Why Now? Explaining the Big Data Revolution 12

Central Thesis of Book 22

Plan of Attack 24

Who Should Read This Book? 25

Summary 25

Notes 26

Chapter 1 Data 101 and the Data Deluge 29

The Beginnings: Structured Data 30

Structure This! Web 2.0 and the Arrival of Big Data 33

The Composition of Data: Then and Now 39

The Current State of the Data Union 41

The Enterprise and the Brave New Big Data World 43

Summary 46

Notes 47

Chapter 2 Demystifying Big Data 49

Characteristics of Big Data 50

The Anti-Definition: What Big Data Is Not 71

Summary 72

Notes 72

Chapter 3 The Elements of Persuasion: Big Data Techniques 77

The Big Overview 79

Statistical Techniques and Methods 80

Data Visualization 84

Automation 88

Semantics 93

Big Data and the Gang of Four 98

Predictive Analytics 100

Limitations of Big Data 105

Summary 106

Notes 107

Chapter 4 Big Data Solutions 111

Projects, Applications, and Platforms 114

Other Data Storage Solutions 121

Websites, Start-ups, and Web Services 128

Hardware Considerations 133

The Art and Science of Predictive Analytics 136

Summary 137

Notes 137

Chapter 5 Case Studies: The Big Rewards of Big Data 141

Quantcast: A Small Big Data Company 141

Explorys: The Human Case for Big Data 147

NASA: How Contests, Gamification, and Open Innovation

Enable Big Data 152

Summary 158

Notes 158

Chapter 6 Taking the Big Plunge 161

Before Starting 161

Starting the Journey 165

Avoiding the Big Pitfalls 174

Summary 181

Notes 181

Chapter 7 Big Data: Big Issues and Big Problems 183

Privacy: Big Data = Big Brother? 184

Big Security Concerns 188

Big, Pragmatic Issues 189

Summary 195

Notes 196

Chapter 8 Looking Forward: The Future of Big Data 197

Predicting Pregnancy 198

Big Data Is Here to Stay 200

Big Data Will Evolve 201

Projects and Movements 203

Big Data Will Only Get Bigger…and Smarter 205

The Internet of Things: The Move from Active to Passive Data

Generation 206

Big Data: No Longer a Big Luxury 211

Stasis Is Not an Option 212

Summary 213

Notes 214

Final Thoughts 217

Spreading the Big Data Gospel 219

Notes 220

Selected Bibliography 221

About the Author 223

Index 225

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)