BN.com Gift Guide

Trashed

( 5 )

Overview

Getting trashed can make or break you.

Scandal-sheet cub reporter Simone Glass has posed as a cater-waiter at a gala benefit, eavesdropped from a Dumpster, and sneaked onto the set of the hottest new TV series. But how many lies and betrayals can Simone live with?especially if they lead to murder?

When a soap opera star commits suicide and a stripper with sordid celebrity connections is found dead, Simone's most reliable sources begin acting ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (40) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $1.99   
  • Used (39) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$1.99
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(5899)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
New

Ships from: Miamisburg, OH

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Trashed

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Getting trashed can make or break you.

Scandal-sheet cub reporter Simone Glass has posed as a cater-waiter at a gala benefit, eavesdropped from a Dumpster, and sneaked onto the set of the hottest new TV series. But how many lies and betrayals can Simone live with—especially if they lead to murder?

When a soap opera star commits suicide and a stripper with sordid celebrity connections is found dead, Simone's most reliable sources begin acting paranoid. There's a remorseless killer ripping Tinseltown apart. Can Simone expose the murderer or will she become just the latest casualty of Hollywood's brutal deceptions?

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Gaylin's giddy hardcover debut follows young reporter Simone Glass on her short but shocking infiltration of Hollywood's sleazy side. Simone, a recent Columbia journalism grad, heads for L.A. to work for a slick weekly that goes out of business almost immediately. She grabs a position at the L.A. bureau of the trashy tabloid Asteroidand plunges into the world of celebrity gossip. Reluctantly rummaging through TV superstar Emerald Deegan's garbage, Simone discovers a shoe belonging to the recently murdered comeback kid Nia Lawson. Then Emerald becomes the next victim, and one of her bracelets is found in another future victim's trash. When Simone carelessly wears the bracelet to a party, she catches the killer's eye as a potential target. Gaylin (You Kill Me) has tremendous fun with stereotypical tabloid fodder, from a closeted gay superstar and a desperate, underage stripper to wild Hollywood parties and car chases. The hectic pace and huge cast of extras keep the reader guessing right to the end. (Sept.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Library Journal

On the first night of her job as a reporter for a gossip tabloid, Simone Glass is sent to pick the trash of a female star. What she discovers is the work of a serial killer preying on the young and beautiful in Hollywood. Tapping into her own experiences as a journalist for In Touchmagazine, Gaylin (Hide Your Eyes; You Kill Me) has written an action-packed tale of suspense that will appeal to fans of Mary Jane Clark and Lisa Gardner. Gaylin's hardcover debut is the first title in NAL's new Obsidian Mysteries imprint.


—Jo Ann Vicarel
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780451221131
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 9/4/2007
  • Pages: 336
  • Product dimensions: 6.20 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Alison Gaylin, a journalist who covers arts and entertainment, is the author of Hide Your Eyes and You Kill Me. She lives in upstate New York with her husband, daughter, and dog. Author websites: alisongaylin.com; firstoffenders.typepad.com.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Trashed Alison Gaylin NAL, Sep 2007, $21.95 ISBN: 9780451221131 At one time Nia Lawson was going to be the next Marilyn Monroe, but told her stylist about her affair with Congressman Mack Calloway. The stylist sold the story to the tabloids destroying two careers. Ten years later Nia thinks Mr. Big Shot will energize her career. Instead he kills her making it look like a Monroe suicide. Simone Glass leaves New York for Los Angeles to work as a reporter on the Edge. After being unemployed for a month, she applies for a job at the Asteroid tabloid. Bureau chief Nigel Bloom asks her why she wants to work for his dump she says she is desperate. Her first assignment is to sift through the garbage of soap opera star Emerald Deegan. They find four dead exotic parakeets and a shoe that Simone thinks belongs to Nia. Nigel blackmails Emerald into an interview or he will reveal that a PETA spokesperson killed four birds. --- Simone and Asteroid reporter Kathy get inside Emerald¿s trailer, but before they learn much security Neil Walker tosses them off the set. She learns that Emerald¿s boyfriend Keith Furlong also hangs with Destiny a hooker. Destiny hopes the VIP she is seeing, can make her the next Nia. When he hurt her she flees as the next Nia means death. Meanwhile Emerald commits suicide, but Simone has doubts and wonders about Nia¿s death too. Although she sees no connection, she seeks the links between Nia, Emerald and Destiny. --- The heroine is delightful lead character who readers will appreciate her asides especially her conscience fits as she struggles with not being a reporter but as an infiltrator. The look at the tabloid sleaziness is amusing as nothing is sacred including garbage investigations. The support cast especially the reporters are a delight as their antics is humorous albeit unethical. Although why the killer targets trios of women is not lucid, fans will enjoy this Hollywood serial killer whodunit. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)