BN.com Gift Guide

Treating The New Anxiety

Hardcover (Print)
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $75.51
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 4%)
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (4) from $75.51   
  • New (4) from $75.51   

Overview

A new form of anxiety has emerged, stemming in part from our post-9/11 reality, but even more stemming from the influence of supermodernity. Whereas postmodernism theorizes an anxiety that results from the collapse or loss of meaning, through the lens of supermodernity it appears that the new anxiety is evoked more by an excess of meaning generated by the rapid acceleration of human life and the media's daily bombardment with serious global, national, and local concerns. This book explores the nature of the anxiety our supermodern condition provokes, and proposes that with the void left by the diminishment of religious involvement and practice the therapy session becomes the definitive place for meaning-making. Building on a cognitive therapy approach that emphasizes the client's belief system, Bingaman demonstrates that to treat this new anxiety most effectively, practitioners must help clients identify and explore their core theological beliefs and spiritual values.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Rev. Kevin Gillespie
In the tradition of Erich Fromm and Rollo May, Kirk Bingaman addresses the psychological and social implications of anxiety. But Bingaman adds a new twist, namely the relevance of theology to address the "new anxiety" of our post-9/11 era. This important book demonstrates that a formative and fruitful integration is possible between theology and therapy, and underscores the necessity, in a "supermodern," post-9/11 world, for such an integration in treating anxiety.
Rian E. McMullin
This is one of the few works on cognitive therapy that focuses on our deepest core belief—the cognitive foundation of our hopes and fears that provides purpose and meaning to our lives. Dr. Bingaman enters this realm where mental health practitioners have traditionally feared to tread. Therapists will gain important insight by reading this book.
Fall 2007 Journal Of Pastoral Theology
[Bingaman] paints a clear and recognizable portrait of the non-places we inhabit and our intense need to make meaning of the events that flood our lives. His argument and case studies are compelling....Bingaman builds a strong case.
Donald Capps
Kirk Bingaman provides compelling evidence that we confront a "new anxiety"—one in which many of our worries, anxieties, and fears are not disproportionate to the threats that confront us. He draws on cognitive behavioral therapy to address this new anxiety, but rather than the traditional emphasis on the client's irrational beliefs, he advocates an emphasis on the client's core beliefs—beliefs that heretofore have provided inadequate, even unsettling, answers to the fundamental question: Where is God? For those who seek expert guidance on how to assist clients in developing core beliefs that effectively address the new anxiety, this book is a godsend. It could not have come at a more opportune moment.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780765704627
  • Publisher: Aronson, Jason Inc.
  • Publication date: 9/16/2007
  • Pages: 160
  • Product dimensions: 6.28 (w) x 9.38 (h) x 0.65 (d)

Meet the Author

Kirk A. Bingaman, Ph.D. is assistant professor of pastoral counseling and director of the Pastoral Counseling Program in the Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education at Fordham University. He is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in New York and a Fellow with the American Association of Pastoral Counselors. His previous book, Freud and Faith: Living in the Tension, was published in 2003.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents


Acknowledgments     ix
What Is Prompting the New Anxiety?     1
The Nature of Supermodernity     17
Diagnosing the New Anxiety     35
The Importance of Assessing Core Theological Beliefs     63
Maintaining a Balanced Approach     101
A More Comprehensive Form of Care     123
References     137
Index     139
About the Author     143
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)