Tremor

Overview

The setting is an elegant resort hotel on the coast of the sophisticated, sun-drenched port of Agadir, Morocco. The guest list includes a thief on the lam, a young novelist on the make, a glamorous movie actress on a shoot, several prostitutes on the run, and others, each with a secret agenda. But all personal plans will be disrupted, because Agadir is soon to be the site of a devastating earthquake, and the Hotel Saada will be its epicenter.

In the tradition of ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (16) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $59.45   
  • Used (15) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$59.45
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(280)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand New Item.

Ships from: Chatham, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

The setting is an elegant resort hotel on the coast of the sophisticated, sun-drenched port of Agadir, Morocco. The guest list includes a thief on the lam, a young novelist on the make, a glamorous movie actress on a shoot, several prostitutes on the run, and others, each with a secret agenda. But all personal plans will be disrupted, because Agadir is soon to be the site of a devastating earthquake, and the Hotel Saada will be its epicenter.

In the tradition of Grand Hotel, The Poseidon Adventure and Towering Inferno, Tremor brings a lively cast of characters to the sophisticated port of Agadir, Morocco, and the elegant Hotel Saada. But Agadir is soon to be the spot of a major earthquake with the hotel at its epicenter. The results will be nothing short of earth-shattering.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Though the publisher touts this latest from Graham, author of the Poldark series, as a disaster thriller ``in the tradition of Grand Hotel, The Poseidon Adventure, and Towering Inferno,'' it offers more subtle pleasures than those potboilers. In re-creating the real-life destruction, in February 1960, of the Moroccan seaside resort of Agadir by an earthquake that took 12,000 lives, Graham has produced a compelling drama of sacrifice, loss and redemption. Agadir's majestic Hotel Saada is ground zero for this story and its collection of intriguingly oddball characters. These include a trio of boisterous French prostitutes celebrating a windfall; a young English writer fleeing his embittered wife; a pompous French banker fumbling to hide an indelicate secret; a beautiful French actress disillusioned by her career; an American lawyer recovering from his greatest personal trial; and an English bank robber hiding from the police and his own gang. The mingling of their lives and secrets begins casually enough as relationships develop, some with fresh promise, others with brittle coolness. Then the earthquake strikes. Out of the rubble emerge several new lives full of change, hope and love. Emotionally resonant narration, snappy dialogue and clever plotting make this a captivating tale not only of natural havoc and human tragedy, but of the uncertainty and misdirection of life. (Feb.)
Library Journal
What awaits six disparate people on holiday in Agadir, Morocco? Graham (author of the Poldark series) skillfully unfolds the story of each: the bank robber on the lam, having double-crossed his cohorts; the ne'er-do-well English writer, escaping a failed marriage; three French prostitutes celebrating recent good fortune; and an aging American lawyer getting a new start on his life after his wife's desertion. Their paths barely cross in Agadir when an earthquake levels the resort city and changes their lives in ways they never imagined. Graham builds each character in deftly painted scenes and conversations. Minor players-the Moroccan doctor, the bickering French banker and his wife, and the two thugs sent to ferret out the traitorous thief-are also brought to life. Recommended for public libraries.-M. J. Simmons, Duluth P.L., Minn.
Kathleen Hughes
In this natural-disaster thriller, a group of people on vacation at the exclusive Hotel Saada in Agadir, Morocco, are thrown together when a devastating earthquake strikes. Graham deftly interweaves the stories of the assembled characters, including a bank robber trying to make a getaway; a young, recently divorced novelist; a movie star shooting a film; three prostitutes celebrating a recent good fortune; a famous French politician and his wife; and a quiet American couple on vacation. With the earthquake's violence and the resulting death and injury, the plot's twists and turns reveal the fate of the various characters. Graham captures the exotic ambience of Agadir, Morocco, with ease; and the unique characters, the sheer number of story threads, and the many plot surprises will keep readers turning pages.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780333648353
  • Publisher: McClelland & Stewart Ltd.
  • Publication date: 12/1/1995

Meet the Author

Winston Mawdsley Graham OBE was an English novelist, best known for the series of historical novels about the Poldarks. Graham was born in Manchester in 1908, but moved to Perranporth, Cornwall when he was seventeen. His first novel, The House with the Stained Glass Windows was published in 1933. His first 'Poldark' novel, Ross Poldark, was published in 1945, and was followed by eleven further titles, the last of which, Bella Poldark, came out in 2002. The novels were set in Cornwall, especially in and around Perranporth, where Graham spent much of his life, and were made into a BBC television series in the 1970s. It was so successful that vicars moved or cancelled church services rather than try to hold them when Poldark was showing.

Aside from the Poldark series, Graham's most successful work was Marnie, a thriller which was filmed by Alfred Hitchcock in 1964. Hitchcock had originally hoped that Grace Kelly would return to films to play the lead and she had agreed in principle, but the plan failed when the principality of Monaco realised that the heroine was a thief and sexually repressed. The leads were eventually taken by Tippi Hedren and Sean Connery. Five of Graham's other books were filmed, including The Walking Stick, Night Without Stars and Take My Life. Graham wrote a history of the Spanish Armadas and an historical novel, The Grove of Eagles, based in that period. He was also an accomplished writer of suspense novels. His autobiography, Memoirs of a Private Man, was published by Macmillan in 2003. He had completed work on it just weeks before he died. Graham was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and in 1983 was honoured with the OBE.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)