Troublemaker, Book 1 (Alex Barnaby Series)
  • Troublemaker, Book 1 (Alex Barnaby Series)
  • Troublemaker, Book 1 (Alex Barnaby Series)

Troublemaker, Book 1 (Alex Barnaby Series)

2.3 136
by Janet Evanovich, Joelle Jones, Alex Evanovich
     
 

Janet Evanovich, the New York Times #1 best-selling author of Finger Lickin' Fifteen, brings Alexandra Barnaby and Sam Hooker, from the hit Barnaby novels Metro Girl and Motor Mouth, to Dark Horse Comics with her debut graphic novel — Troublemaker!

Alex Barnaby and Sam Hooker are back together and fighting crime the only way they know how — by leaving

See more details below

Overview

Janet Evanovich, the New York Times #1 best-selling author of Finger Lickin' Fifteen, brings Alexandra Barnaby and Sam Hooker, from the hit Barnaby novels Metro Girl and Motor Mouth, to Dark Horse Comics with her debut graphic novel — Troublemaker!

Alex Barnaby and Sam Hooker are back together and fighting crime the only way they know how — by leaving a trail of chaos, panic, and disorder. Alex, an auto mechanic and spotter for racecar driver Sam Hooker, is drawn to trouble like a giant palmetto bug to a day-old taco. Unfortunately, she's also drawn to Hooker in the same fashion. There's no steering clear of trouble or Hooker when friends Rosa and Felicia call for help. A man has gone missing, and in order to find him Barnaby and Hooker will have to go deep into the underbelly of Miami and south Florida, surviving Petro Voodoo, explosions, gift- wrapped body parts, a deadly swamp chase, and Hooker's mom.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Bestselling author Evanovich continues her Barnaby series (Metro Girl, Motor Mouth) in graphic novel form with the help of her co-writer daughter and artist Jones (You Have Killed Me). No need to know about the previous adventures of Alex Barnaby and NASCAR driver Sam Hooker, since everyone is clearly introduced for new readers. Old friend Felicia has summoned Alex to Florida because their mutual friend Rosa has been kidnapped by someone practicing voodoo. The art is direct and simply laid out, with no more than four panels to a page and the pictures supporting dialogue and caption exposition. That makes for an easy-to-read starting point for those unfamiliar with comics. The attractive figures and detailed settings also help, and Dan Jackson’s bright colors capture the sun-soaked feel of Miami. Jones gives Barnaby wide-open eyes and an adorable pug nose that makes her appear young and approachable. She’s cute, and that plays well in the action-packed romantic comedy/thriller that follows (including outdated cougar jokes). Jones is also good with the dog, Beans, a slobbery St. Bernard, providing comic relief. For those not already Evanovich fans, it’s rather like a grown-up Scooby Doo; the story’s conclusion is due in Book Two in November. (July)
VOYA - Jennifer Rummel
The Troublemaker stories feature Barnaby and Hooker from Evanovich's previous books, Metro Girl (HarperTorch, 2004) and Motor Mouth (HarperCollins, 2006). Alex Barnaby, a mechanic for NASCAR driver, Sam Hooker, discovers a ransom note for her friend, Felicia, along with a voodoo doll. Barnaby immediately wants to call the police. Instead, she is manipulated into looking for Felicia with Hooker. Trouble follows them as they are chased by people in boats and cars, while also escaping bombings and deadly snakes. Amidst the danger, they uncover clues to Felicia's whereabouts. The first book ends on a cliff-hanger but the second installment picks up the story immediately. Set in New Orleans, the setting of Troublemaker Book 1 rings true through swamp exploits, voodoo experts, and the city's well known nightlife. Troublemaker Book 2 takes place in Florida and New Orleans. The colorful, engaging art compliments the text and adds depth and humor to the story. The panels are easy to follow, making it accessible for adults unaccustomed to reading graphic novels. For teens not familiar with Evanovich's work, these will be a great introduction to her novels. As with Evanovich's novels, action and danger fuel the story, with humor and a touch of romance thrown in for good measure. Reviewer: Jennifer Rummel
Library Journal
Fans of Metro Girl and Motor Mouth can enjoy this shorter romp with mechanic Alexandra Barnaby ("Barney") and NASCAR racer Sam Hooker. This time, the disaster-prone duo scurries off to rescue friend Rosa from a voodoo cult, and we're in for a swamp chase, breaking and entering, a wooden body they need to hide, a sack of snakes, and a ticked-off chicken. Jones's art gets the goofball frenetics just right, even if there's not as much story or hormonal zing as in the novels. Older teens and up.

(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781595824882
Publisher:
Dark Horse Comics
Publication date:
07/20/2010
Series:
Alex Barnaby Series
Edition description:
Graphic Novel
Pages:
112
Sales rank:
558,215
Product dimensions:
6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
16 - 18 Years

Videos

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >