True Blue: Strange Tales from a Tory Nation

True Blue: Strange Tales from a Tory Nation

by Chris Horrie, David Matthews
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Whatever happened to middle England? Two of our funniest writers set out on a journey through conservative country – with hilarious results.The Women's Institute. Polo matches. The Duke of Edinburgh. Nimbys, shooting and game fairs. Pall Mall clubs, the Countryside Alliance and Boris Johnson. Hampshire Police’s brass band, the rubber chicken circuit - and…  See more details below

Overview

Whatever happened to middle England? Two of our funniest writers set out on a journey through conservative country – with hilarious results.The Women's Institute. Polo matches. The Duke of Edinburgh. Nimbys, shooting and game fairs. Pall Mall clubs, the Countryside Alliance and Boris Johnson. Hampshire Police’s brass band, the rubber chicken circuit - and of course the Conservative party itself.Middle England, with all the social rituals, institutions and traditions that hold it together, has lasted for a long time. And Chris Horrie and David Matthews, two left-leaning journalists - Chris is from Manchester and David's parents are from Guyana - are fascinated by it.So off they go, armed with two ballpoints and a sharp sense of humour, to see what they can see. Sometimes, it’s as simple as hanging out at the proms, munching scones with the vicar at a village cricket match, or chatting with Michael Howard. And other times, a bit more guile is needed - so Chris and David baffle Conservative party members by helping out with their campaigns.With backgrounds as investigative reporters, the authors infiltrate Middle England and capture its denizens at their least guarded. What they find is at times cheering, and sometimes a bit worrying - but it is always very entertaining.True Blue is Bill Bryson meets Spitting Image - and a must-read for fans of John O’Farrell, Private Eye and Jon Ronson.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780007390540
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/30/2014
Sold by:
HarperCollins Publishers
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
File size:
271 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Chris Horrie is a journalist and author who writes regularly for the Guardian and the Observer. He is from Bolton.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >