True Things (Adults Don't Want Kids to Know)

Overview

Meet Amelia Louise McBride. She was forced to move out of Manhattan after her parents decided to get divorced, and is now living in a small town. She’s survived being the new kid, multiple trips to the principal’s office, and even her first kiss. But it remains to be seen if she’ll survive turning eleven!

The sixth volume starts with a bang: a huge birthday party featuring surprise guests and a special song from Aunt Tanner! It all seems too good to be true, until it turns out ....

See more details below
Paperback (Repackage)
$9.79
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$10.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (23) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $5.22   
  • Used (11) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Meet Amelia Louise McBride. She was forced to move out of Manhattan after her parents decided to get divorced, and is now living in a small town. She’s survived being the new kid, multiple trips to the principal’s office, and even her first kiss. But it remains to be seen if she’ll survive turning eleven!

The sixth volume starts with a bang: a huge birthday party featuring surprise guests and a special song from Aunt Tanner! It all seems too good to be true, until it turns out . . . it is. Suddenly, Amelia’s friends are fighting all the time. She gets the worst report card of her life. And when she finally musters the guts to tell a certain boy how she feels about him, she brutally learns why it’s called a “crush.” Aunt Tanner would know just what to do—if she were around. But with her new album and maybe a new boyfriend, she doesn’t seem to have time for Amelia anymore.

There are some tough lessons to learn when you’re eleven, and things may not always turn out as planned. But who says that has to be a bad thing?

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Amelia is turning 11 years old and is in for a big surprise at her birthday party, which she is dreading. Famous singer/songwriter Aunt Tanner, who hasn’t written a song in over a year, writes and sings a song for Amelia at the party. But later, Tanner fills in for Amelia’s mom as a school speaker and creates a buzz among classmates--and she even asks a teacher out on a date, which causes a huge row between Tanner and Amelia’s mother. The fight takes Amelia back to when her parents were divorcing and sets off some bad behavior by Amelia, including an embarrassing scene at the mall. Amelia finds a way to express herself in a positive manner through her journal writing assignment for English class, shown through prose. Gownley’s clear line drawings have plenty of character expression and humor in this seventh series installment--the fight scenes jump off the page with bold lettering and facial expressions. Readers will easily identify with Amelia and her growing pains. Ages 7-12. (Oct.)
Children's Literature - Michael Jung PhD
Ever since her parents divorced, Amelia Louise McBride has always been able to turn to her cool ex-rock star Aunt Tanner for advice and comfort during the tough times. But ever since Amelia turned eleven, things may have become too crazy for even a rocker aunt and an irrepressible preteen to handle. It begins when Tanner starts dating Amelia's teacher—a relationship that makes Amelia's mom go ballistic. Then Amelia's own relationship with her friends hits a sour note when she can't admit how she feels about her crush Kyle. But when Tanner tries to re-start her old rock 'n roll career, Amelia starts to really worry. Can she let go of her aunt and face the challenges of growing up all on her own? Fans of Jimmy Gownley's scrappy preteen will love this latest "Amelia Rules!" graphic novel that shows how even eternally youthful comic book characters can mature. Gownley continues to display his usual great mix of creative visual storytelling and sight gags (often seen in offbeat dream sequences where Amelia imagines herself arguing with her younger self or being carted off to Neverland by Peter Pan-versions of her friends). But the real-life scenes in which Amelia tries to work through her problems with her friends and family give this story its heart, and make long-time fans of the "Amelia Rules!" graphic novels appreciate how much the characters have developed over the years. An excellent book for fans of Jeff Smith's Bone or Kean Soo's Jellaby graphic novels. Reviewer: Michael Jung, PhD
School Library Journal
Gr 4–6—Amelia McBride has to face some sad goodbyes, some difficult decisions, and her 11th birthday. Luckily she has an amazing cast of friends and family by her side through all the hilarious and heartwarming trials of life. One of the situations in this volume is the budding romance between her beloved teacher and her Aunt Tanner, causing her aunt to be a bit absent just when Amelia needs her help in dealing with her own painful and sometime embarrassing first real crush. Amelia really is growing up, so while she maintains a charming childlike personality, she is also becoming more self-aware and more responsible. Even her playtime is changing, with fewer caped crusades and clubhouses, and more Truth or Dare and trips to the mall. Gownley gets this transition just right. The art maintains the simple bright charm of the previous volumes of the graphic-novel series, and the cartoon-style drawings with strong child appeal are a perfect match for the humor and emotion of the story lines. With some parts laugh-out-loud funny and some heart-wrenching, this book has something for everyone.—Sharon Senser McKellar, Oakland Public Library, CA
From the Publisher
"Gownley’s clear line drawings have plenty of character expression and humor in this seventh series installment—the fight scenes jump off the page with bold lettering and facial expressions. Readers will easily identify with Amelia and her growing pains." —Publishers Weekly
Kirkus Reviews

The irresistibly plucky Amelia Louise McBride is back for her sixth adventure, dealing with more of preteendom's tricky trials and tribulations as she celebrates her 11th birthday. Her party is a smashing success and includes a special performance from Aunt Tanner and a book from her crush, Kyle. With everything going so right, things are bound to take a turn, and, predictably, they do: Kyle brings another girl to Aunt Tanner's concert, Aunt Tanner and Amelia's mom get into a huge fight and, in trying to help Aunt Tanner find what she's looking for, Amelia may have inadvertently lost her. Sassy, spunky Amelia handles these situations the way most 11-year-old girls would, with a lot of heart and a few rib-tickling diatribes sprinkled on top. Gownley is a master at tackling serious issues with a confident, accurate pen, making endearing and engaging what could easily slip into saccharine didacticism. An utterly charming addition to this wonderfully fizzy series, this installment proves that Amelia truly does rule! (Graphic fiction. 9-12)

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781416986096
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Publication date: 10/19/2010
  • Series: Amelia Rules! Series
  • Edition description: Repackage
  • Pages: 163
  • Sales rank: 710,972
  • Age range: 7 - 12 Years
  • Lexile: GN420L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

Jimmy Gownley began writing and drawing comics at the age of fifteen. He is an advocate for kids’ comics, having co-founded the organization Kids Love Comics, which works to promote comic books and graphic novels as a valuable tool for literacy and education in schools, libraries, and at home. He lives with his wife Karen and their twin daughters, Stella and Anna, in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Jimmy Gownley began writing and drawing comics at the age of fifteen. He is an advocate for kids’ comics, having co-founded the organization Kids Love Comics, which works to promote comic books and graphic novels as a valuable tool for literacy and education in schools, libraries, and at home. He lives with his wife Karen and their twin daughters, Stella and Anna, in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)