Trupp: A Fuzzhead Tale

Overview

Trupp is a Fuzzhead, though most humans have never seen or heard of these catlike creatures. That's why Trupp must wear a disguise when he decides to venture out into the world....

Disguised to protect his identity, Trupp the fuzzhead encounters the world of humans.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (42) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $19.95   
  • Used (40) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$19.95
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(181)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
San Diego, CA 1995 Hard cover New in new dust jacket. Sewn binding. Cloth over boards. Picture book. 48 p. Contains: Illustrations. Audience: Children/juvenile.

Ships from: Camden, DE

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$65.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(181)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Trupp is a Fuzzhead, though most humans have never seen or heard of these catlike creatures. That's why Trupp must wear a disguise when he decides to venture out into the world....

Disguised to protect his identity, Trupp the fuzzhead encounters the world of humans.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Cahners\\Publishers_Weekly
Fans of Stellaluna, Cannon's exceptional debut book, will approach her second with high expectations-and those will be met. Carefully crafted prose and stunning art shape a story that delicately spans the fictional and real, at the same time delivering a message worthy of reflection. Curious about what lies beyond his Family Cave, Trupp, a cat-like creature with snow-white fur and ice-blue eyes, walks for days until he approaches 'people-dwellings.' The peace-loving Fuzzhead borrows clothing from a scarecrow so humans won't notice his odd appearance and, accompanied by a raven, heads for a city. No one on the bustling streets pays any attention to Trupp until he meets a homeless woman named Bernice, who removes a piece of broken glass from his foot and takes him to a safer part of town. Equally affecting as her text, Cannon's poignantly detailed acrylic and pencil art underscores the contrasts between Trupp's primitive homeland and the gritty, graffiti-scarred city; and between his ethereal presence and the eccentric, gaudy appearance of Bernice, who keeps half a dozen toothbrushes tucked into her woolen cap. As the new friends settle down to sleep in the park, Bernice's wise words expose the heart of the story: 'Funny, isn't it? I wear all this bright stuff to keep from feeling invisible. When people stare at me, it helps me know I'm here. But Trupp puts on clothes so he will disappear.' Cannon says so much so simply.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Trupp, a cat-like creature with opposable thumbs, ventures into human territory and befriends a homeless woman. "Carefully crafted prose and stunning art shape a story that delicately spans the fictional and the real," said PW in a starred review of this book by the author of Stellaluna. Ages 4-8. Apr.
Carolyn Phelan
From the author of "Stellaluna" 1993 comes the tale of Trupp, a young fuzzhead, a white-furred creature resembling a cat. Determined to see the world, he leaves his family's cave in the cliffs and makes his way to the city. There he befriends Bernice, a homeless woman who understands him, helps him, and sends him on his way home. Young children may be disturbed by the scene in which Bernice and Trupp are attacked by a man who then flees when Trupp reveals himself as a talking animal and threatens the man with his claws. Deft and accomplished, the artwork includes soft-edge acrylic-and-pencil paintings in full color that fill the pages as well as small black-and-white drawings that decorate the text. The story, though, rambles rather aimlessly and mixes fantasy and realism in a vaguely disquieting way. One picture of Trupp wearing clothing and walking along a city street echoes a Garth Williams illustration in Margaret Wise Brown's "Three Little Animals", a more satisfying picture book in which wild things come to the city. Readers who adore Cannon's first book may want to see this one, but "Trupp" is no "Stellaluna".
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780152001308
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Publication date: 4/28/1995
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 48
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • Product dimensions: 10.40 (w) x 10.31 (h) x 0.49 (d)

Meet the Author

Janell Cannon's picture books have won many awards and are beloved around the world. Before she became a full-time creator of books for children, she designed and produced summer reading programs at her local public library. Born and raised in Minnesota, Ms. Cannon now lives in Southern California.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Great book!

    Amazing illustrations and writing. Can be used in a classroom to teach kids about the homeless and the differences of others. Fun to read for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)