The Truth-Teller's Lie (Zailer & Waterhouse Series #2)

The Truth-Teller's Lie (Zailer & Waterhouse Series #2)

3.8 19
by Sophie Hannah
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"A superbly creepy, twisty thriller” (The Times (London)) by the internationally best-selling author of The Other Woman’s House and The Wrong Mother

Naomi Jenkins knows all about secrets: three years ago something so terrible happened to her that she's never told anyone about it. Now, Naomi has another

Overview

"A superbly creepy, twisty thriller” (The Times (London)) by the internationally best-selling author of The Other Woman’s House and The Wrong Mother

Naomi Jenkins knows all about secrets: three years ago something so terrible happened to her that she's never told anyone about it. Now, Naomi has another secret: her relationship with the unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without explanation, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi decides that if she can't persuade the detectives that Robert is in danger, she'll convince them that he is a danger to others. Naomi knows how to describe the actions of a psychopath; all she needs to do is dig up her own traumatic past.

The second book in Sophie Hannah’s beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Truth-Teller’s Lie is a chillingly smart suspense novel sure to appeal to fans of Tess Gerritsen and Gillian Flynn.

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

Professional and personal relationships collide with the energy of supernovas.

When Naomi Jenkins's married lover Robert fails to show up at Traveltel's Room 11 for their regular three-hour tryst, she scurries to his house, glances in his living room window and promptly falls down in shock. His wife Juliet appears, taunts Naomi, and then says she's done her a good turn, convincing Naomi that something dire has happened. The police, however, merely think she's been dumped. So DS Charlie Zailer heads for a Spanish holiday with her sister, while DC Simon Waterhouse looks the other way until Naomi reappears and tells a whopper to keep him interested: that Robert raped her three years ago. In response, he agrees to visit Juliet and finds Robert in a coma, the victim of a monster thwack to his head. Meanwhile, Charlie and her sister, disgruntled, leave Spain for a Scottish B & B owned by Graham Angilley, where the plot twists and jerks into a tangle of coincidental meetings, duped women, rapes enacted for paying viewers, a plethora of lies and half-truths and, even worse, stifling silences and a discretion so traumatic that it forces Charlie into seclusion, Simon into despair, Juliet into confession and Naomi into the role of avenger.

Hannah (The Dead Lie Down, 2009, etc.), who understands psychological mayhem as well as Ruth Rendell and maybe even Sigmund Freud, is best read with a crisis counselor on speed-dial. The tight plotting and excruciatingly precise clues make for a superlatively uneasy read.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780143115854
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/28/2010
Series:
Zailer & Waterhouse Series, #2
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
287,044
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Sophie Hannah is the bestselling author of nine novels and is also an award-winning poet. Her Hercule Poirot mystery, the first to be sanctioned by the Agatha Christie estate, was published in 2014. She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and two children, and is a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Truth-Teller's Lie 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love these books but this one was the most interesting. All the characters were affected so dramatically in this novel. It was an enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It kept me interested and I wanted to find out how it ended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
chillier-1_ More than 1 year ago
Overall it enjoyed it, but didn't love it. It was a slow start before I got into it, had an interesting middle - somewhat disappointing ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rtpana More than 1 year ago
Sophie Hanna's books never follow a straight line and that is what makes them so unique and delightful. The Truth Teller's Lie tells of several characters with a truly chilling connection. The guilt of the orginal victim remains in doubt until the last part of the book and Charlie continues to cross the line (although here she is undoubtedly innocent of the implications) to severe consequences. I look forward to the next book of the Charlie mysteries
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
Sophie is a brilliant author who never ceases to amaze me. The Truth-Tellers Lie is a like a roller-coaster ride. The climb is high and the loops can make your stomach turn. This book really makes you think and I think that's why her books are always so good. You can't read one and not absorb the emotions of the characters. It's great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago