Tsura: A World War II Romance

Tsura: A World War II Romance

3.5 4
by heatheranastasiu
     
 

An epic WWII saga, for fans of The Bronze Horseman and Outlander. Outcast and despised as a Roma (gypsy) in World War II Romania, all Tsura longs for is a sense of safety and a place to belong. Just when she believes she’s found home in the arms of her lover, for both their safety, she’s forced to leave him and marry another.

Against the sweeping

Overview

An epic WWII saga, for fans of The Bronze Horseman and Outlander. Outcast and despised as a Roma (gypsy) in World War II Romania, all Tsura longs for is a sense of safety and a place to belong. Just when she believes she’s found home in the arms of her lover, for both their safety, she’s forced to leave him and marry another.

Against the sweeping backdrop of war-torn Romania, Tsura fights one day at a time to survive the fall of fascism, the unrest of civil war, and the rise of Communism. Yet in spite of all she’s forced to endure, the biggest surprise of all? Home might be found in the last place she ever expected it—with her own husband.

Excerpt:

“It won’t be a real marriage.” Tsura put her hands to Andrei’s shirt and pulled him in close. “I’ll never share a bed with him. I love you. I only do what I must to keep us all safe. Once the war ends, it’ll be as if it never was.” She caught his face in her hands. “I am only yours, Andrei.”

“Yes, you’re only mine,” Andrei bent over and growled in her ear. “When you put on that dress for him and walk down the aisle in that ugly goy church,” he kissed her hard before putting a strong hand to the back of her neck, pulling her forehead to his, “you think of me, here. When you say your vows to that man, you remember that it’s me who has owned your body tonight.” He again pressed his lips to hers. It was a claiming.

Book I of II.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940153025766
Publisher:
heatheranastasiu
Publication date:
05/16/2016
Sold by:
Smashwords
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,934
File size:
441 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Heather Anastasiu is the author of the young adult GLITCH TRILOGY (St. Martin's Press) the YA mystery, GIRL LAST SEEN (Albert Whitman & Co) and the adult historical duology, TSURA and HOUSE OF STONE. She recently moved from her native Texas to Minneapolis with her family, and when she's not busy getting lost exploring the new city, she spends most days writing, reading, or daydreaming about getting a new tattoo. Praise for GLITCH: "A taut and twisty novel" --Publishers Weekly "An instantly involving page-turner" --Booklist "A taut, irresistible novel, Glitch delivers a pitch-perfect blend of action, romance, and twists that take your breath away." --Andrea Cremer, New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade series

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Tsura: A World War II Romance 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
SeaWolf 12 days ago
A tad slow, but a good book with well developed characters and a good story line. However... and it's a very BIG however... the book doesn't have an ending... it just stops. I have no issue with 'enticing' the reader to buy the next book in the series, but trying force the purchase... not so much... and THAT is why I gave the book a 2
Anonymous 20 days ago
It's well written, slow-paced but detailed and deeply researched & leaves the reader in need of part 2.
Anonymous 5 months ago
A slow moving story but not bad... I skimmed some of the tedious parts. Not particularly a romance. I thought the characters were pretty well done. A lot of emotional baggage.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Romance novels are not normally on my reading list, but this book promised more. It promised and it delivered. In addition to being a twist on the star crossed lovers premise, the book is a fine WW2 historical novel. The plight of Romanian Jews and Gypsies (Roma) is brought home to the reader with realism and historical accuracy. Romanian politics, relations with Hitler and Germany, the Iron Guard, the progress of the war, and the strange and sometimes contradictory policies of the Antonescu regime are dealt with as a natural, flowing part of the story. Both the sympathetic and villainous characters are interesting and well developed. The author does a good job of portraying Tsura's confusion when she finds herself simultaneously liking individuals but hating their pro-Nazi beliefs and actions. The novel ends with hope for Tsura and concern for the future with the inevitable approach of the Communist Russian armies. There is a sequel which I plan to read.