Tulip Loves Rex

Tulip Loves Rex

by Alyssa Satin Capucilli, Sarah Massini
     
 

Alyssa Satin Capucilli, beloved author of the bestselling Biscuit books, has written another charming story about a little girl and her dog. With illustrator Sarah Massini's whimsical artwork, Tulip Loves Rex is perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl by David Soman and Jacky Davis and A Pet for Petunia by Paul Schmid.

Tulip Loves Rex is a

Overview

Alyssa Satin Capucilli, beloved author of the bestselling Biscuit books, has written another charming story about a little girl and her dog. With illustrator Sarah Massini's whimsical artwork, Tulip Loves Rex is perfect for fans of Ladybug Girl by David Soman and Jacky Davis and A Pet for Petunia by Paul Schmid.

Tulip Loves Rex is a sweet story about Tulip, who loves to dance, and her new friend Rex, a fluffy dog who also loves to dance. The lyrical text touches on themes of friendship, acceptance, and, most important, finding out what makes you who you are—and sharing that with someone you love.

This lively but gentle story is perfect for bedtime and for any child who dances through life or dreams of having a pet as a best friend.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
11/04/2013
Little Tulip loves to dance. “While the other babies were learning to crawl,” writes Capucilli (the Biscuit series), “Tulip was ready to spin.” At the park with her parents, Tulip finds a big, yellow dog with a tag that reads, “My name is REX I am not quite like other dogs.” Instead of playing fetch or obeying commands, Rex loves to dance, too. It’s a perfect match, and Tulip’s parents don’t put up one iota of resistance: “A rather large dog named Rex who loved to dance? They didn’t mind a bit!” This slip of a story, with its unnecessary lapses into lesson-imparting (“We all have something we love to do,” Tulip tells Rex. “We just have to discover what it is”) is greatly invigorated by Massini’s (Trixie Ten) buoyant portrayal of her irrepressibly terpsichorean heroine. Whether Tulip is dancing on her bed (her legs just so, her arms arched gracefully in the air) or twirling through a tulip-studded park with Rex (who has some impressive Baryshnikov-like moves himself), she is the very picture of unadulterated joy. Ages 4–8. (Jan.)
ALA Booklist
Praise for Oh, Harry!, illustrated by Sarah Massini: “Using a mix of bright, delightful full-page pictures, illustrations cut in half horizontally, or divided into boxes, this breezy tale has immediate appeal.”
Children's Literature - Ken Marantz and Sylvia Marantz
Tulip has loved to dance since she was born. "...Not quite like other children," she whirls and twirls as she grows. And at night, she sends a wish-upon-the-stars. One day Tulip encounters a dog. A sign around his neck says that he is Rex; "...not quite like other dogs." He does not chase sticks or balls. But when Tulip begins to dance, Rex joins her. When it is time to go home, Tulip reads the back of Rex's sign: "Will you take me home?" Her parents agree. That night, Tulip thanks the stars for granting her wish. She feels there is nothing like sharing love. As for Rex, "He loved to dance. He loved Tulip. He loved being loved most of all." The happy story is told digitally using mixed traditional media, bright colors, and Photoshop. Many double-page scenes show Tulip in action, with multiple pictures connected by twirling brushstrokes. The illustrations suggest rather than detail objects and characters, with Tulip and Rex in motion. Reviewer: Ken Marantz and Sylvia Marantz
School Library Journal
12/01/2013
PreS—Tulip loves to dance. Her parents are proud of their daughter, who is not like other girls. Instead of saying "Mama," "Dada," or "goo," the first words Tulip uttered were "whirl," "twirl," and "leap." One day in the city park, Tulip encounters a big, hairy dog with a tag on his collar that states, "My name is REX. I am not quite like other dogs." Tulip discovers Rex doesn't like to fetch or catch, so she tries to help him: "We all have something we love to do. We just have to discover what it is." When Rex begins to spin with Tulip, the reverse side of his tag reveals his adoptability and the child knows she has found her soul mate. The illustrations, done in mixed traditional media and Photoshop, reveal a small blond child who is happy, carefree, and constantly in motion. Though the text verges on the saccharine ("'It seems wishes come in all shapes and sizes,' said Tulip, 'quite like love'"), young girls who love to dance will enjoy reading and seeing how Tulip's talents lead her to a kindred spirit.—Maryann H. Owen, Children's Literature Specialist, Mt. Pleasant, WI
Kirkus Reviews
2013-10-20
Wince-inducing platitudes lace this saccharine story of loving and being loved. Tulip loves to dance. All the time. Her parents think she's wonderful, and everyone smiles vacuously. All the time. Tulip's smiling parents bring her to the park, where she befriends a large, unaccompanied dog with a note on his rope collar that says his name is Rex and that he is "not quite like other dogs." After ordering him to fetch, sit and catch, none of which he does, she tells him that she doesn't "mind a bit. We all have something we love to do. We just have to discover what it is." It appears he loves romping with Tulip. When it's time to go home, Tulip cavorts some more and discovers that on the back of Rex's note is a plea: "Will you take me home?" Tulip's doting parents allow this. By the end of the book, Tulip proclaims that "there's nothing quite like sharing love…." Tulip may resolutely dip, twirl, gallop and pirouette through each earnest, well-meaning page, but the story itself putters flatly along until, with a tired sigh, it ends. The illustrations, while colorful, add no other layers, simply mirroring what the text relates. A self-consciously didactic story that deals blandly with its theme. (Picture book. 3-5)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062094131
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
12/23/2013
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
9.50(w) x 10.30(h) x 0.50(d)
Lexile:
AD430L (what's this?)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Alyssa Satin Capucilli is the author of the first story about Tulip and Rex, Tulip Loves Rex, as well as the bestselling Biscuit books and many other beloved children's books. She lives in a book-filled home in Hastings-on-Hudson, New York.

Sarah Massini is the illustrator of more than a dozen children's books, including Tulip Loves Rex, Books Always Everywhere, Love Always Everywhere, and Trixie Ten. She lives in the United Kingdom.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >