Turtle Island

Overview

From the award-winning creator of I'M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN comes an inspiring tale of friendship and belonging that's perfect for fans of THE SNAIL AND THE WHALE, OWEN AND MZEE, and Oliver Jeffers's LOST AND FOUND.

Turtle is big. But the ocean is bigger. And Turtle is all alone. Until four shipwrecked folks—a bear, an owl, a frog, and a cat—climb to safety on his shell. Before long, they're fast friends, and the sea doesn't seem so vast anymore. But when Frog confides ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$12.67
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (20) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $9.78   
  • Used (10) from $1.99   

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

From the award-winning creator of I'M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN comes an inspiring tale of friendship and belonging that's perfect for fans of THE SNAIL AND THE WHALE, OWEN AND MZEE, and Oliver Jeffers's LOST AND FOUND.

Turtle is big. But the ocean is bigger. And Turtle is all alone. Until four shipwrecked folks—a bear, an owl, a frog, and a cat—climb to safety on his shell. Before long, they're fast friends, and the sea doesn't seem so vast anymore. But when Frog confides that he misses his family, Turtle doesn't understand. Isn't he their family? And when the group decides to sail for home, will Turtle be left behind? Never fear—a surprise on the horizon promises friends, family, and a home at last. Uplifting and heartfelt, this is a book about the power of friendship and making a home of one's own.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 03/10/2014
Sherry’s turtle hero is proud to be “as BIG as an island,” but he’s also lonely, because the ocean is “even BIGGER.” Then a group of shipwrecked animals take up residence on his massive shell, and “Suddenly,” Turtle excitedly (and touchingly) tells readers, “things were happening.” Or, to put it another way, he becomes the foundation—literally—of a tight-knit, industrious community, where everyone has a unique and appreciated talent. Sherry (I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean) has always worked in broad strokes, both as artist and storyteller, but he finds a new level of visual subtlety and emotional acuity in this book. He lets his pictures tell the story and doesn’t shy from expressing the genuine loss that Turtle feels when the animals announce they miss their families and want to sail for home (“But wasn’t I their home?” he wonders, with plainspoken eloquence). The story resolves happily for all concerned, but what makes it especially so is the selflessness and resilience that Turtle shows when things look darkest. Ages 3–5. Agent: Teresa Kietlinski, Prospect Agency. (May)
School Library Journal
06/01/2014
PreS-K—Sherry, no stranger to picture books featuring assertive and extra-large sea creatures (I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean, Penguin, 2007), introduces a giant turtle who is as big as an island. But even giant turtles get lonely in the vastness of the sea. Turtle is surprised and excited when a storm shipwrecks an odd assortment of animals (an owl, a bear, a frog, and a cat) on his back. Each animal has a special skill, and they work together to create a makeshift community atop his shell. Things take a poignant turn when the wee animals confess that they miss their families. Turtle wonders, "Wasn't I their family?" and is visibly distraught when his new friends set sail to return home. Sherry's bright colors and simple shapes fill the pages, emphasizing Turtle's massive dimensions in comic juxtaposition to his tiny friends. Preschoolers will be soothed to find that all ends well in a joyful reunion; Turtle's friends and their families return to build a permanent community on his shell. A fun addition for larger picture-book collections.—Kiera Parrott, School Library Journal
Kirkus Reviews
2014-05-28
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell.Seeming a bit like a riff on creation stories (though failing to acknowledge any Native American or other sources), Sherry’s story relies on readers’ willingness to suspend disbelief. Echoing the bravado of the protagonist of his debut, I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2008), it opens, “I’m a giant turtle, and I’m as BIG as an island.” Cheery, accompanying art, rendered in pencil and then inked and painted with watercolors and salts, depicts the giant turtle looming over a deserted island. The poor turtle is lonely until shipwrecked creatures take refuge on his shell. They end up feasting together and building homes; all is well on Turtle Island. But then the settlers become lonely for their friends and family, and they decide to depart to find them. Bereft and once again alone, the giant turtle cannot stop thinking about his new friends. Happily, they soon return with their loved ones and re-establish the Turtle Island settlement—which grows as another giant turtle arrives with a castle atop her shell and three other littler giant turtles nearby.It’s a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it’s just too bad that it doesn’t acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780803733916
  • Publisher: Dial
  • Publication date: 5/1/2014
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 192,155
  • Age range: 3 - 5 Years
  • Product dimensions: 10.30 (w) x 10.20 (h) x 0.40 (d)

Meet the Author

Kevin Sherry is not only the talented author/illustrator of many books for kids, he's also a chef, a puppeteer, and a cyclist. You can find him in his awesome fort in Baltimore, Maryland, working, playing, and always creating.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)