Twenty Trillion Leagues Under the Sea

Overview

Adam Roberts's Twenty Trillion Leagues Under the Sea revisits Jules Verne's classic novel in a collaboration with the illustrator behind a recent highly acclaimed edition of The Hunting of the Snark

It is 1958 and France's first nuclear submarine, Plongeur, leaves port for the first of its sea trials. On board, gathered together for the first time, are one of the Navy's most experienced captains and a tiny skeleton crew of sailors, engineers, and scientists. The ...

See more details below
Paperback
$13.08
BN.com price
(Save 18%)$15.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (16) from $4.61   
  • New (9) from $7.86   
  • Used (7) from $4.61   
Twenty Trillion Leagues Under the Sea

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

Adam Roberts's Twenty Trillion Leagues Under the Sea revisits Jules Verne's classic novel in a collaboration with the illustrator behind a recent highly acclaimed edition of The Hunting of the Snark

It is 1958 and France's first nuclear submarine, Plongeur, leaves port for the first of its sea trials. On board, gathered together for the first time, are one of the Navy's most experienced captains and a tiny skeleton crew of sailors, engineers, and scientists. The Plongeur makes her first dive and goes down, and down and down. Out of control, the submarine plummets to a depth where the pressure will crush her hull, killing everyone on board, and beyond. The pressure builds, the hull protests, the crew prepare for death, the boat reaches the bottom of the sea and finds nothing. Her final dive continues, the pressure begins to relent, but the depth gauge is useless. They have gone miles down. Hundreds of miles, thousands, and so it goes on. Onboard the crew succumb to madness, betrayal, religious mania, and murder. Has the Plongeur left the limits of our world and gone elsewhere?

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Praise for Adam Roberts: 

"Our most intellectually engaged and literary SF author, crafting sentences the equal of any by Ian McEwan or Kazuo Ishiguro." - The Financial Times

"[Roberts is] an accomplished sculptor of prose and a cunning satirist, all that SF should be, packed with brilliant ideas and clever examinations of the human condition."  - Deathray

"Psychological depth in a picaresque protagonist: most unusual and very welcome...in line with Proustian concerns of memory, Cavala remembers not only himself but much of the central matter of the '50s satirical SF of Sheckley, Bester, Pohl and Kornbluth...very pleasing." - Nick Gevers, Locus

Library Journal
01/01/2015
In 1958, France's new nuclear submarine Plongeur is on a test voyage when it inexplicably plunges into depths far beyond anything previously deemed possible. Onboard the crew share shameful secrets and expose weaknesses when it looks like death is near, but the Plongeur just keeps diving. They pass through waters filled with strange creatures and face dangers without and within the sub as they head for a rendezvous with the unknown. VERDICT Both old-fashioned in its homage to Jules Verne's Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and modern in its sf aspirations, the latest work from Roberts (Jack Glass) is a strange reading experience. He is a talented crafter of words, so in no way is the book ever not a pleasure to read; however, there are real issues with pacing and cohesion in this uneven and unusual undersea tale. This odd little novel, which includes Singh's (The Hunting of the Snark) 20 black-and-white illustrations, will probably best appeal to fans of Tim Powers or Christopher Priest. [Library marketing.]
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250057792
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 1/13/2015
  • Pages: 320
  • Sales rank: 615,869
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.10 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Meet the Author

ADAM ROBERTS is a writer of sci-fi novels and stories, as well as Professor of Nineteenth-century Literature in English at Royal Holloway, University of London. Salt, Gradisil and Yellow Blue Tibia were nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award. By Light Alone has been shortlisted for the 2012 BSFA Award.

MAHENDRA SINGH is a freelance illustrator whose Melville House illustrated edition of The Hunting of the Snark was praised by Library Journal, the New Yorker, Salon.com, and Shelf Awareness.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)