Twitch Upon a Star: The Bewitched Life and Career of Elizabeth Montgomery

Twitch Upon a Star: The Bewitched Life and Career of Elizabeth Montgomery

3.0 10
by Herbie J Pilato
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Based on exclusive interviews, this book includes never-before published material from those associated with Elizabeth Montgomery's remarkable life before, during, and after Bewitched. It also explores her political activism: her advocacy for AIDS research, the peace movement, and her controversial participation as narrator of the feature film documentary, Cover… See more details below

Overview

Based on exclusive interviews, this book includes never-before published material from those associated with Elizabeth Montgomery's remarkable life before, during, and after Bewitched. It also explores her political activism: her advocacy for AIDS research, the peace movement, and her controversial participation as narrator of the feature film documentary, Cover Up (Iran/Contra scandal).

Editorial Reviews

Midwest Book Review
Twitch Upon a Star: The Bewitched Life and Career of Elizabeth Montgomery is based on the author's exclusive interviews with Montgomery before her death in 1995, and includes new, never-before-published material and commentary from many associated with her life and career before, during and after Bewitched. Any with an interest in the show or Montgomery will find this a definitive exploration that ranges from insights on her career to revelations about her personal life and relationships. The result is a lively read indeed, recommended for film and biography holdings in general and especially for any reader with prior affection for Bewitched.
Village Voice
. . . [T]ells you all about Bewitched, the magical 1960s-and-'70s sitcom, and other triumphs enjoyed by the talented and beautiful Montgomery.
Jack Myers
Not only has Bewitched’s Samantha Stephens influenced hundreds of female TV characters and the actresses who portrayed them, but Elizabeth Montgomery’s lasting influence on Hollywood and society has been far greater than the TV series that made her a legend. Herbie J Pilato, one of the great students of classic TV, spins a compelling narrative that brings to life a magical TV series and its even more magical star. It’s a true Hollywood story, and more than any book I’ve read Twitch Upon a Star goes behind-the-scenes to capture a fascinating period in history when television was coming of age.
Long Beach Press-Telegram
Twitch Upon a Star is based on Pilato's exclusive interviews prior to Montgomery's 1995 death. . . . The book follows her career before, during, and after Bewitched, and goes behind the scenes chronicling her political activism [and] reveals behind-the-scenes anecdotes about the show and Montgomery's life.
Ventura County Star
. . . [A] love letter . . . No matter how big your twitch itch, this book will scratch it.
American Profile
For anyone who only recalls Elizabeth Montgomery from her most memorable role, on the 1960s sitcom Bewitched, this thoroughly researched, extensively detailed, and wholly fascinating biography will load you up with everything you’ve been missing. It’s a delicious, detailed look at her life and remarkable career before, during and after that magical, life-changing show; her crusading and often controversial activism for the causes close to her heart; her often turbulent relationship with her father, actor Robert Montgomery; her rocky marital history; and the many other facets of the woman who played Samantha Stephens, TV’s ‘witch with the twitch’ at the end of her nose.
Daytona News-Journal
Pilato expertly captures the life of [this] wonderful actress.
FrontiersLA
Elizabeth Montgomery's life is beautifully portrayed by author Herbie Pilato in [this] loving new biography.
Journeys in Classic Film
[A] comprehensive and touching biography of Montgomery's life. . . . Fans of classic television or of well-written biographies should seek this out . . . an insightful read about an amazing woman!
Classic Film and TV Cafe
. . . Twitch Upon a Star is an engrossing look at a strong-willed actress whose career spanned five decades. It will satisfy Elizabeth Montgomery's fans, as well as Bewitched buffs interested in learning more about that series' leading lady—and even how the famous twitch was ‘invented.’
Kathy Garver
Intricately revealing, well written, and hard to put down, Herbie J Pilato’s Twitch Upon a Star captures the essence and life of Elizabeth Montgomery. He leads readers on an intriguing journey into the loves, politics, and performances of this multi-talented actor—a very magical journey, yet based in the real emotion of love. I heartily recommend this well-rounded read for fans, friends and all who value the life of a gifted, complex and bewitching woman.
SheKnows Book Lounge
This biography covers it all. . . . Fans will love the three sections of photos and Pilato's respectful, yet truthful, portrait of the woman who will forever be remembered for as the beautiful witch Samantha Stephens.
The National Enquirer
[A] blockbuster new book.
BookSteve's Library Blog
. . . [I]t's like meeting [Elizabeth Montgomery] all over again for the very first time. . . . If you've ever enjoyed an episode of Bewitched, come meet her for yourself.
Danny Gold
Heavily researched, expertly executed, and handled with reverence, Twitch Upon A Star is a magical revelation about one of the most popular and endearing performers of all time. It's clear that Herbie J Pilato not only knows what he's talking about, but that he also cares very deeply about his subject, from a personal, yet objective perspective. . . . No two ways about it, this book is a class act about a classic actress.
Lydia Cornell
I encourage everyone to read Pilato's astounding, loving, riveting, eye-opening book.
Larry Brody
The way Herbie J Pilato tells it, Elizabeth Montgomery just didn't have guts, she had balls. She was kind to those she felt deserved it but had no qualms about setting others straight. Who'd'a thunk that sweet little Samantha had such chutzpah?
Thomas Warfield
Much more than just a celebrity biography, Twitch Upon a Star relays a spiritual quest that can speak to anyone. Retelling the story and work of a life can activate an awareness of the beauty and purpose in our own unfoldment. Pilato accomplishes this masterfully and magically, uncovering such depth and absorbing reflection with authenticity and vigorous charm to reveal Elizabeth Montgomery's journey as a true cultural treasure. This book is magnificent!
Rick Lertzman
Twitch Upon a Star is ASTOUNDING. Herbie J Pilato does a wonderful job of mixing hard info with his personal relationship with Elizabeth Montgomery. His approach makes the book very unique. This is one of the best biographies I've read in years. It is a real classic . . . a brilliant work!
Shannon Devereaux Sanford
Wonderful book and terrific author . . .
Classic Film and TV Café
Twitch Upon a Star is an engrossing look at a strong-willed actress whose career spanned five decades. It will satisfy Elizabeth Montgomery's fans, as well as Bewitched buffs interested in learning more about that series' leading lady—and even how the famous twitch was ‘invented.’
Salvador SeBasco
Twitch Upon a Star is as perfect a book could be. . . . [It] shines bright at a rating of 5 Stars (out of five). I read it twice. Afterwards I watched re-runs of Bewitched—knowing what I learned from Twitch Upon a Star—and what stirred me most were the questions that came to mind which I feel Twitch Upon a Star answered. Twitch Upon a Star is as no other book. . . . For me, a person who thinks he’s read the best of the best books, [this] put a twinkle in my eyes [from] Herbie J Pilato’s mastery of the craft of writing.
NewNowNext on Logo Online
[Pilato is] the master of all things Bewitched. . . . [Twitch Upon a Star is an] amazing new book.
Living in the Kitchen with Puppies
Fans of Elizabeth Montgomery and Bewitched will love this book.
Soap World Magazine
Herbie J Pilato, a long-time fan and later friend of the actress uses his extensive interviews with the actress, plus meticulous research to get to the bottom of what the real Elizabeth Montgomery was like.
InMaricopa.com
Herbie J Pilato reveals the real Elizabeth Montgomery in Twitch Upon a Star. Her loves, her demons and even her politics are explored in this new biography of one of television’s favorite stars.
Reviews by Amos Lasser
The research that went into this book is amazing. . . . We get the essence and life of Elizabeth Montgomery by embarking on a journey ‘into the loves, politics, and performances of this multi-talented actor—a very magical journey, yet based in the real emotion of love.'

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781589797505
Publisher:
Taylor Trade Publishing
Publication date:
11/05/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
472
Sales rank:
274,314
File size:
4 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >