Two Mysteries: The Other Side of Dark and The Name of the Game Was Murder

Two Mysteries: The Other Side of Dark and The Name of the Game Was Murder

by Joan Lowery Nixon
     
 

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes two Edgar Award winning novels in Two Mysteries: The Other Side of Dark & The Name of the Game Was Murder from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
The Other Side of Dark
 
EDGAR AWARD WINNER

…  See more details below

Overview

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes two Edgar Award winning novels in Two Mysteries: The Other Side of Dark & The Name of the Game Was Murder from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
The Other Side of Dark
 
EDGAR AWARD WINNER
 
        Stacy wakes up in a room that’s not hers, in a body she doesn’t recognize, to discover she’s been in a coma for four years. Her mother is dead—murdered—and Stacy, recovering from a gunshot wound, is the only eyewitness. But the killer is not about to let her reveal his identity….
 
“The compelling premise…and Nixon’s mastery of suspense are gripping.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Tense and dramatic…[The Other Side of Dark has a] quick pace, and the determined protagonist should attract and hold readers.” –School Library Journal
 
The Name of the Game Was Murder
 
EDGAR AWARD WINNER
 
        Samantha is shocked when she meets her great-uncle, the famous novelist Augustus Trevor. He’s a mean-spirited man who has just invited—blackmailed—a group of celebrities to come to his island mansion and participate in a “game.” But when Augustus is found murdered, it’s up to Samantha to join the game—and win.
 
“Another successful page-turner.” –School Library Journal

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This is a newly-formatted reissue of a pair of the late author's Edgar-award winning mysteries for young adults. The fact that these stories were written very early in the age of computers makes them seem faintly archaic, but there are other, less superficial signs that these tales have not aged well. In the first story, the protagonist awakens from four years—from age thirteen to seventeen—in a coma. It is an interesting idea, but the improbability of a coma in which someone dresses and feeds herself, exercises regularly, and consequently needs no therapy upon awakening, stretches the reader's ability to suspend disbelief. Suspense mounts as the heroine struggles to remember who she saw murder her mother four years earlier, but the final solution is a letdown. The second story is undeniably derived from Agatha Christie, a tale of murder and blackmail among a group of adults stranded on an island in a storm. The teen-aged heroine's solution to the mystery comes rather abruptly and unconvincingly. As an introduction to the intricacies and conventions of the mystery genre, these stories serve a purpose, but they seem rather dated and tame for today's media-savvy teens. 2005, Random House, Ages 12 up.
—Michele Tremaine

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780553494532
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
05/10/2005
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
4.29(w) x 6.84(h) x 1.06(d)
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >