Ultimate Russian Classics: The Essential Masterpieces

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 40%)$18.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $13.06   
  • New (4) from $13.06   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 8/25/2009
  • Label: Decca
  • UPC: 028947817284
  • Catalog Number: 001313502
  • Sales rank: 81,278


Disc 1
  1. 1 1812 -- Festival Overture, for orchestra in E flat major, Op. 49 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Charles Dutoit (16:04)
  2. 2 Capriccio Italien, for orchestra (or piano, 4 hands), Op. 45 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Charles Dutoit (15:23)
  3. 3–10 Nutcracker, suite from the ballet, Op. 71a - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Charles Dutoit (22:37)
  4. 4 Slavonic March, for orchestra, Op. 31 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Charles Dutoit (10:46)
Disc 2
  1. 1–4 Scheherazade, symphonic suite for orchestra, Op. 35 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (43:33)
  2. 2 Prince Igor, opera (completed by Rimsky-Korsakov & Glazunov): Polovtsian Dances: Dance of the Maidens - Alexander Konstantinovich Glazunov & Alexander Borodin (2:29)
  3. 3 Prince Igor, opera (completed by Rimsky-Korsakov & Glazunov): Polovtsian Dances: Dances with Chorus - Alexander Konstantinovich Glazunov & Alexander Borodin (11:13)
Disc 3
  1. 1–15 Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s vïstavski), for orchestra, orchestrated by Ravel - Maurice Ravel & Modest Mussorgsky (32:37)
  2. 2 Night on Bald Mountain (Noch' na Lïsoy gore), symphonic poem, edited by Rimsky-Korsakov - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Modest Mussorgsky (10:40)
Disc 4
  1. 1–6 The Love for Three Oranges, suite for orchestra, Op. 33 bis - Sergey Prokofiev & Neville Marriner (15:42)
  2. 7–11 Lieutenant Kijé, film score and suite for orchestra, Op. 60 - Sergey Prokofiev & Neville Marriner (20:47)
  3. 12–15 Symphony No. 1 in D major ("Classical"), Op. 25 - Sergey Prokofiev & Neville Marriner (14:19)
Disc 5
  1. 1–15 L'oiseau de feu (The Firebird), ballet in 2 scenes for orchestra - Antal Doráti & Igor Stravinsky (43:35)
  2. 16–17 Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), ballet in 2 parts for orchestra - Antal Doráti & Igor Stravinsky (33:40)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews