Unlikely Progeny

Overview

Hans Magnus Enzensberger has mastered poetry, novels, and the intricate balance between history and fiction, but he’s never done anything quite like this before. For the writing of Unlikely Progeny, Enzensberger developed a persona—Linda Quilt—complete with an imaginary biography. According to him, retired school teacher Linda Quilt was born in a small village near Stratford-upon-Avon, which has since vanished mysteriously from the maps of Great Britain and upon writing this collection of fables, Quilt sent them ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$19.59
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$21.95 List Price
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (11) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $12.97   
  • Used (7) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Hans Magnus Enzensberger has mastered poetry, novels, and the intricate balance between history and fiction, but he’s never done anything quite like this before. For the writing of Unlikely Progeny, Enzensberger developed a persona—Linda Quilt—complete with an imaginary biography. According to him, retired school teacher Linda Quilt was born in a small village near Stratford-upon-Avon, which has since vanished mysteriously from the maps of Great Britain and upon writing this collection of fables, Quilt sent them to Enzensberger, who was so impressed that he found a famous illustrator for her book and shepherded it to publication. And thus, here they are—from the imagination of Linda Quilt and the capable hands of Hans Magnus Enzensberger.

      In the tradition of Edward Lear, Hilaire Belloc, and G. K. Chesterton, Linda Quilt’s imaginative tales recount the adventures of six bizarrely gifted child prodigies who wreak havoc on their baffled families. Sweet Melinda, for example, has a toad that hops out of her mouth each time she tells a lie; consequently, she’s fiercely committed to telling the truth even in the face of fat aunts who eat too much cream cake or pimpled boys who declare their love to her. In another, shy Howab realizes that he can make people disappear simply by saying his own name out loud—which just might doom some hated teachers to a grim fate. And then there’s dear Norm—the poor fellow is so utterly normal that nobody can remember him, not even his own parents, who wonder every day at the strange little boy who comes home from school.

       The fantastic and creative stories, with equally marvelous illustrations by Michael Sowa, will capture the excitement of readers of all ages and have them debating whether these extraordinary children are sly monsters or innocent victims of their astonishing talents.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

Meet the Author

It is rumored that Linda Quilt was born in a small village near Stratford-upon-Avon, which has since vanished mysteriously from the maps of Great Britain. German poet and editor Hans Magnus Enzensberger was so impressed when he received Quilt’s unpublished manuscript in the mail, that he found a famous illustrator for her book and shepherded it to publication. Michael Sowa paints pictures and illustrates books; his collection of animal portraits, Arche Sowa, was published by Sanssouci.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Out of the Mouths of Babes Memorandum Beyond the Norm Sly Baby Thin Air Nature's Soft Nurse Light Fantastic

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)