Unravel Me (Shatter Me Series #2)

Unravel Me (Shatter Me Series #2)

4.6 233
by Tahereh Mafi
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Our lips touch and I know I'm going to split at the seams. He kisses me softly then strongly like he's lost me and he's found me and I'm slipping away and he's never going to let me go.

Juliette has escaped from The Reestablishment. Now she's free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from

See more details below

Overview

Our lips touch and I know I'm going to split at the seams. He kisses me softly then strongly like he's lost me and he's found me and I'm slipping away and he's never going to let me go.

Juliette has escaped from The Reestablishment. Now she's free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch. Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible. Haunted by her past and terrified of her future, Juliette knows that she will have to make some life-changing choices. Choices that may involve choosing between her heart—and Adam's life.

Editorial Reviews

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
“Fans of Cashore's Fire, Oliver's Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.”
The Bulletin for the Center for Children's Books

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.”

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.”
Kirkus Reviews
Juliette, the girl with the deadly touch, struggles to fit in with the resistance movement that saved her at the end of Shatter Me (2011). In training to participate in an inevitable war against the Reestablishment, Juliette Ferrars should feel at home at Omega Point. In addition to no longer being a prisoner, she is surrounded by other people with supernatural gifts. Compassionate Castle tries to help her master her abilities, and Kenji tries to help her fit in, but the devastating nature of Juliette's power hampers her efforts. Additionally, Adam is acting strangely--in large part because of his work with Castle to determine why he is able to touch Juliette safely--which causes difficulties in their relationship. Soon some of her new comrades are abducted while on patrol by soldiers led by Warner's father, who demands a meeting with Juliette. The resistance is able to come away from the meeting with a hostage, Warner, who resumes his part in the established love triangle. Too much of the plot relies on Juliette's withholding of important information and revelations, even against her own judgment. The bloated relationship drama takes priority over the captive resistance members in the buildup to the climax, which finally brings action before setting up the next novel. Some quality worldbuilding, but the story only inches along. (Science fiction. 13 & up)
Booklist
“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.”
Shelf Awareness
“It’s time for war in the edge-of-your seat sequel to Tahereh Mafi’s dystopian Shatter Me. Mafi creates characters that readers feel invested in. The lyricism of the first book carries over in this installment.”
NY Journal of Books
“The story and character arcs are glorious and well thought out. Tahereh Mafi has proved herself a masterful plotter and storyteller.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.”
Kami Garcia
“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.”
Lauren Kate
PRAISE FOR SHATTER ME:“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.”
Ransom Riggs
PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“The world of Unravel Me is terrifying and unique; its characters steam with passion, and Tahereh Mafi’s bold, inventive prose crackles with raw emotion.”
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up—This sequel to Shatter Me (HarperCollins, 2011) continues the story of Juliette as she struggles to come to terms with her gift as well as her status as "freedom fighter" against the despotic government. She has no experience with group dynamics, having been in various prisons and mental institutions since she was a young child, so she is having issues with living in a group environment like the rebel headquarters. She is also not comfortable with calling her abilities a gift and is reluctant to train. Juliette has to do a lot of growing up in this story, figuring out how to harness her abilities, how to stand on her own, and how to deal with the consequences of her actions. Added to the mix is the love triangle with the two men who are the only ones who can touch her… the one she wants and the one she doesn't… or does she? Prior knowledge of the first book is mandatory for an understanding of this one. However, its fans will enjoy following Juliette's life and watching her mature. Her experiences will keep readers on the edge of their seats, and the romantic tug-of-war will entrance them. Especially exciting is the conflict within each of the male characters between his public and private personas as well as the conflict between what Juliette thinks she wants and the reality of what she can have. Her adventures will appeal to readers who like a bit of romance in their dystopian fiction.—Saleena L. Davidson, South Brunswick Public Library, Monmouth Junction, NJ

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062085535
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/05/2013
Series:
Shatter Me Series, #2
Pages:
461
Sales rank:
99,918
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.32(h) x 1.51(d)
Lexile:
HL790L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

What People are saying about this

Kami Garcia

“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.”

Ransom Riggs

PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“The world of Unravel Me is terrifying and unique; its characters steam with passion, and Tahereh Mafi’s bold, inventive prose crackles with raw emotion.”

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >