Up from the Blue: A Novel

Up from the Blue: A Novel

3.5 31
by Susan Henderson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

 “Elegant and engrossing….Henderson is a talent to watch.”

—Danielle Trussoni, author of Angelology

 “This is not a book you’ll soon forget.”

—Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants

The gripping debut novel from Litpark.com founder and Pushcart Prize-nominee Susan

See more details below

Overview

 “Elegant and engrossing….Henderson is a talent to watch.”

—Danielle Trussoni, author of Angelology

 “This is not a book you’ll soon forget.”

—Sara Gruen, author of Water for Elephants

The gripping debut novel from Litpark.com founder and Pushcart Prize-nominee Susan Henderson, Up From the Blue is a dazzling tour de force that unfolds against the backdrop of 1970s America—a tumultuous era of desegregation, school busing, and the early rise of modern-day feminism. The story of an imaginative young girl struggling to make sense of her mother’s mysterious disappearance, Up From the Blue is enthralling fiction that delves into complex family relationships, in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Katrina Kittle, and Laura Kasischke.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
This first novel from Henderson (curator, NPR's Dime Stories) opens in 1991 as twentysomething Matilda Harris goes into premature labor in her new Washington, DC, apartment. The only person she can think of to call is her father, with whom she hasn't spoken in three years. The story then turns to eight-year-old Tillie as she and her family relocate to Washington from New Mexico when her father, a weapons system designer, gets a new job at the Pentagon. But Tillie's mother isn't in Washington when she arrives. Tillie's older brother, Phil, isn't much help, and her father just wants her to be a good soldier and avoid the usual chaos that surrounds her. Tillie longs for the bright colors and dancing and joy she associates with her mother. Instead, she basks in the praise from her teacher and feels an affinity for the one black girl in her class, who comes in on the bus. VERDICT Henderson beautifully portrays this family in crisis through its most voluble and consistent member. Rapturous prose reveals young Tillie's heart as she yearns for the mother who will make her world better but who can't seem to mend her own tortured soul. A triumphant debut. [Online reading group guide.]—Bette-Lee Fox, Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062011770
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/21/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
610,018
File size:
3 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >