Vagabond, Volume 1

Vagabond, Volume 1

5.0 6
by Takehiko Inoue
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the first volume of this series set in the netherworld of Paradigm City, citizens become desperate criminals willing to do anything to recover their lost memories. Crime kingpin Beck uses his own giant robots and high technology to thwart the efforts of negotiator Roger Smith and the robot known as the Big O to bring the guilty to justice. But even superhuman

Overview

In the first volume of this series set in the netherworld of Paradigm City, citizens become desperate criminals willing to do anything to recover their lost memories. Crime kingpin Beck uses his own giant robots and high technology to thwart the efforts of negotiator Roger Smith and the robot known as the Big O to bring the guilty to justice. But even superhuman efforts may not be enough to end the reign of terror. A stylish "manga meets film noir," this is the official comic adaptation of Bandai's Cartoon Network hit.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
This remarkable manga series is loosely adapted from Eiji Yoshikawa's Musashi, a novel that recounts the life of famed 17th-century Japanese swordsman Miyamoto Musashi, author of the martial arts treatise The Book of Five Rings. (The novel was also filmed in the series The Samurai Trilogy.) Musashi is a powerful, untutored fighter who with the guidance of the monk Takuan overcomes his nihilistic attitude and decides to test himself against the best fighters in Japan. In this volume, Musashi accepts an orphaned young boy as his companion and meets an old man who unnerves him with insight into his character. Inoue's extraordinarily detailed artwork is a wonder, and his storytelling packs great punch. The opening pages of two chapters are reproduced in full color, a common practice in Japanese serialization not often carried over into American collections. Inoue is also the creator of the manga Slam Dunk, a Japanese best seller now being serialized in America in Raijin Comics. Explicit violence and occasional nudity make this adult material. A masterly achievement, this series is highly recommended, especially for fans of Dark Horse's Lone Wolf and Cub and Blade of the Immortal. Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781591160342
Publisher:
VIZ Media LLC
Publication date:
04/28/2002
Series:
Vagabond Series, #1
Edition description:
Graphic Novel
Pages:
200
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author


Takehiko Inoue was born in Kagoshima prefecture in 1967. His first major success — the hugely popular 31-volume long basketball manga SLAM DUNK — sold over 100 million copies worldwide and catapulted him into the top ranks of Japanese manga artists. Besides manga, Inoue also worked on character design for the Playstation basketball game ONE ON ONE.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Vagabond, Volume 1 (VIZBIG Edition) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like this book. It is a great all around story, the art is amazing, the story is very engaging, the character is being developed beautifully, and the quality of the book itself is excellent. I'm about half way through it right now, and the overall story is just excellent. There are a few chapters here and there that aren't full of much content, almost filler chapters, but still the overall story is moving along at a good pace. The author is extremely talented. He's done a great job of keeping you unsure about how to feel about the main character exactly, which really adds an element of realness to it. You can see various plots developing, and other loose strings which I hope to see tied up later in the series. Just a lot of open doors which I assume we will walk through as the story progresses, and I'm very much looking forward to that. So far, half way through this book, I HIGHLY recommend it.
cescvilla More than 1 year ago
This is the type of manga one should read!
BlackSun More than 1 year ago
might want to get a bunch at once if you can
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The best art I have ever seen and the color pages are honestly worth the price of the book by themselves. Great story, amazing characters, and bloody action make this manga worth getting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was stunning and amazingly beautiful, and the story was excellent. There was much action, and the fights were very sweet.