Vaughan Williams: Symphonies Nos. 7 "Sinfonia antartica" & 8

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (7) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $5.91   
  • Used (3) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 8/25/1998
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 730099573726
  • Catalog Number: 8550737
  • Sales rank: 136,953


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 7 for soprano, small female chorus & orchestra with narrator ad lib ("Sinfonia Antartica") - Ralph Vaughan Williams & Kees Bakels (40:45)
  2. 2 Symphony No. 8 in D minor - Ralph Vaughan Williams & Kees Bakels (28:48)
  3. 3 Prometheus Unbound: To suffer woes which Hope thinks infinite - Percy Bysshe Shelley & Kees Bakels (0:37)
  4. 4 Work(s): There go the ships (Book of Common Prayer, Psalm 1 - Anonymous, English & Kees Bakels (0:12)
  5. 5 Hymn before Sunrise, in the Vale of Chamouni: Ye Ice falls! (poem) - Samuel Taylor Coleridge & Kees Bakels (0:25)
  6. 6 The Sunne Rising (spoken) - John Donne & Kees Bakels (0:16)
  7. 7 I do not regret this journey (Message to the Public) (poem) - Robert Falcon Scott & Kees Bakels (0:15)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Kees Bakels Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The most remarkable aspect of this recording is the sound quality. The recording was made using a 20-bit process and the resulting data was carefully dithered to 16 bits. This approach has resulted in a recording that captures, in the Sinfonia Antartica, both the high percussion sounds and the incredibly deep bass of the organ [in this case, an electronic organ, not a pipe organ]. The performance is a fine one, with slightly faster tempos than most other recordings, but this only helps to keep the sense of forward momentum. The movement superscriptions are placed at the end of the disc and can be programmed in if desired. I found the reader, David Timson, not to my liking - someone with a voice that projected more would have been a better choice. I haven't listened to Symphony No. 8 yet, so no review or rating of that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews