Vincent d'Indy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 4

( 1 )
$18.04 price
(Save 5%)$18.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (3) from $9.87   
  • New (3) from $9.87   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/29/2011
  • Label: Chandos
  • UPC: 095115166024
  • Catalog Number: 10660
  • Sales rank: 139,262


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Poème des Rivages, symphonic suite for orchestra, Op 77 - Vincent d'Indy & Iceland Symphony Orchestra (39:46)
  2. 5–8 Symphony in A minor ("Italian") - Vincent d'Indy & Iceland Symphony Orchestra (37:01)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Rumon Gamba Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    More music you should from a neglected French master

    If the music of Vincent d'Indy (1851-1931) is receiving a bit of a revival, as it seems to be in Europe, then the excellent series of recordings by Rumon Gamba and his Iceland Symphony Orchestra is helping this cause a great deal. For many years, the music of d'Indy was, indeed, neglected and nearly forgotten about and very unjustly. d'Indy had a couple of major disadvantages in the career promotion department. One was - although he clearly admired and learned from Debussy a great deal - he was a composer living in France at the same time as the much more widely known master. The other was, as a young man, d'Indy joined the French military to help his country just before World War I and right at a time when many of his contemporaries were just going off to academies and universities to ply their trade and hone their skills. It must also be said that - by and large - d'Indy's music is pretty unique, carrying a distinct sound that is neither the very definable whole tone based Impressionism of Debussy but neither a familiar neo-Romanticism, such as another countryman, Cesar Franck. So that leaves - for most people - a handful of works that are somewhat familiar; most probably his "Symphony on French Mountain Airs" (really as piano concerto) Listening to this new Chandos release, the d'Indy edition #4 by Gamba and the excellently prepared Iceland musicians should absolutely make you want to go get the first three discs in the series. This disc is but two large and fascinating works, the "Poeme des rivages" and the "Symphonie italianne". Both are very fine pieces and wonderfully performed. The "Poem des rivages" (seashores) is divided into four movements intended to reflect the composer's reactions and impressions to seascapes and locales with which he was very fond of: Agay on the Mediterranean, Miramar de Mallorca on the Mediterranean, Falconara on the Adriatic Sea and the "Great Coast" on the Gulf of Gascoyne. Three of these movements are mostly "picturesque" in their sound and orchestration; very "sea pictures" like in a manner we used to hearing as in Britten or Debussy. In fact, both the Agay and the Great Coast do owe something stylistically to Debussy (as is also described in the very fine booklet notes by Andrew Thomson) However, the "Horizons" movement (depicting the Adriatic Falconara) depicts a bit of anticipation on a train ride into the town. Both some very "locomotive like" sounds are heard (think "Pacific 231" by Honegger) as well a swelling orchestral sweep that might be the sense - or the actual glorious view - as our passengers get closer. As for the "Symphonie italienne" this is another overtly programmatic work that divides its four movements into famous Italian locations and a musical glimpse into the culture and regional feel one experiences in Rome, Florence and Venice. The one departure from the approach is actually the finale which, rather than pick another location that seems emblematic of Italy, uses an idiomatic folk dance - the saltarello - to wrap up the work in an exciting way. In classical works inspired by the beauty and culture of Italy, the most recognize are probably the Mendelssohn "Italian" Symphony and the Tchaikovsky "Capriccio italien". d'Indy's contribution - even with that saltarello finale - is not as "cliched" as those other more famous masterworks. Like m

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews