BN.com Gift Guide

Visible Saints, West Haven, Connecticut, 1648 - 1798

( 3 )

Overview

Visible Saints is the story of colonial America in miniature. Through seven generations, the village of West Haven struggled to win its freedom from New Haven. What it earned instead was a reputation as the problem child of the Puritan Order. In a sharply divided community of Puritan saints and Anglican dissenters, West Haven's curious blend of religion and politics proved to be an explosive mix that paved the road to Revolution. As a shoreline community with a front-row seat to the war, West Haven suffered a ...
See more details below
Paperback
$17.97
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$19.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (6) from $15.95   
  • New (4) from $15.95   
  • Used (2) from $22.90   
Sending request ...

More About This Book

Overview

Visible Saints is the story of colonial America in miniature. Through seven generations, the village of West Haven struggled to win its freedom from New Haven. What it earned instead was a reputation as the problem child of the Puritan Order. In a sharply divided community of Puritan saints and Anglican dissenters, West Haven's curious blend of religion and politics proved to be an explosive mix that paved the road to Revolution. As a shoreline community with a front-row seat to the war, West Haven suffered a series of enemy assaults that changed the village forever and forged a unique American community. Visible Saints is a fascinating study that will be valued by students and general readers alike for its scholarship and as history well told. (274 pp. 68 illustrations, annotated, genealogical appendix, bibliography, and index).

Visible Saints recently won the 2010 Literary Prize as best new genealogical resource by the Connecticut Society of Genealogists.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780982546802
  • Publisher: Connecticut Press
  • Publication date: 9/21/2009
  • Pages: 274
  • Sales rank: 1,394,278
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    Visible Saints is an historical gem that speaks to everyone about the real people who built our country. It reads like a novel and has been researched and indexed to impeccable standards. This book truly captures the heart of colonial Connecticut.

    Who would have thought that an historical glimpse of a small colonial village could be so compelling?! In the tradition of James McPherson and Bruce Catton, Peter J. Malia brings history to life in colonial West Haven, Connecticut, through the eyes of ordinary people. Visible Saints is the story of a struggle within a struggle -- hard-headed free thinkers who fought to loosen the Puritanical reins of theocratic restraint.

    Malia weaves a charming narrative that is at once gripping, at times humorous and ultimately enlightening. The result is a revelation that unwraps the real story about life on Long Island Sound in the century and a half leading up to the American Revolution and the founding of our modern government. This book clearly and methodically puts to rest the idea that democracy was the result of a single-minded vision. By giving voice to the maverick personalities who challenged prevailing thought, the author delightfully chronicles the growing pains and triumph of the "problem child of Puritan Connecticut."

    Visible Saints is a beautifully researched, scholarly look at a vital and vibrant people determined to underscore the importance of this time with their own definition of liberty. An extensive bibliography, notes and index are the capstone of this volume. Whether you are a serious student of colonial America or a casual observer of what came before, Visible Saints will both educate and captivate. It is a joy to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    While it is the youngest town in Connecticut, only incorporated in 1921, West Haven was a village unto itself from the time of its settlement as part of New Haven. Thus much of this small history is also the history of New Haven. This volume is also a unique sort of history. While the author presents many facets of the town's story, the title itself reveals a focus on religious aspects.... One theme running through the book is the challenge to the Congregational Church by the Anglicans. A chapter describes the effect of the "New Lights" on the old church; the theme of church authority recurs throughout. But there is plenty of other political and cultural detail, in particular the blow-by-blow account of the British attack on 5 July 1779. In an appendix on "Officeholders, 1640-1798," the author analyzes the social status of those who ran the town and includes his list of 603 men who held office, a nice lode for genealogists to mine. Clearly the author, a life-long West Haven resident, has a great love of his subject. It is a book well worth reading from cover to cover for anyone interested in New England history. Helen Schatvet Ullmann New England Genealogical and Historical Society

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Visible Saints

    I too grew up in West Haven and was interested to learn some of our local history. It was fun to see the origin of street names. I knew the story of Wm Campbell but it was explained more fully in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)