×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Voice of the Fire
     

Voice of the Fire

4.6 5
by Alan Moore, Cliff Harper (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a story full of lust, madness, and ecstasy, we meet twelve distinctive characters that lived in the same region of central England in the span of six thousand years. Their narratives are woven together in patterns of recurring events, strange traditions, and uncanny visions. First, a cave-boy loses his mother, falls in love, and learns a deadly lesson. He is

Overview

In a story full of lust, madness, and ecstasy, we meet twelve distinctive characters that lived in the same region of central England in the span of six thousand years. Their narratives are woven together in patterns of recurring events, strange traditions, and uncanny visions. First, a cave-boy loses his mother, falls in love, and learns a deadly lesson. He is followed by an extraordinary cast of characters: a murderess who impersonates her victim; a fisherman who believes he has become a different species; a Roman emissary who realizes the bitter truth about the Empire; a crippled nun who is healed miraculously by a disturbing apparition; an old crusader whose faith is destroyed by witnessing the ultimate relic; two witches, lovers, who burn at the stake... Each interconnected tale traces a path in a journey of discovery of the secrets of the land. In its last chapter, Moore himself describes the novel: "It's about the vital message that the stiff lips of decapitated men still shape; the testament of black and spectral dogs written in piss across our bad dreams. It's about raising the dead to tell us what they know. It is a bridge, a crossing-point, a worn spot in the curtain between our world and the underworld, between the mortar and the myth, fact and fiction, a threadbare gauze no thicker than a page. It's about the powerful glossolalia of witches and their magical revision of the texts we live in. None of this is speakable." In the tradition of Kipling's Puck of Pook's Hill, Schwob's Imaginary Lives and Borges' A Universal History of Infamy, Moore travels through history blending truth and conjecture, in a novel that is dazzling, moving, sometimes tragic, but always mesmerizing. Voice of the Fire is Moore's debut novel and takes place in Northampton, England, where he has lived since he was born. This edition presents Voice of the Fire for the first time in hardcover format, accompanied by thirteen full-color illustrations by Jose Villarrubia, who has pr

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780575400559
Publisher:
Cassell P L C
Publication date:
02/01/1999
Pages:
320
Product dimensions:
5.08(w) x 7.76(h) x 0.83(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Voice of the Fire 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very very good, with an intriguing framework and thematic ideas. However, the BN version of this eBook on Nook HD is a wreck, with formatting that goes off the page and cannot be changed. Read this, but get it elsewhere!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago